We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good again”
Review of Caffe Vivo

Caffe Vivo
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Vivo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 1,279 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$26 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Manors
Description: Italian at heart, the mood at the Quayside Caffe Vivo is lively, the style relaxed. Cafe by day, simple supper place at night, it's food is honest, joyful and full of sunshine.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good again”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Another restaurant week visit. Same quality and service as last review in March. Vegetable Lasagne and salt Cod main courses followed by Apricot and Almond Tart. Very enjoyable with professional, efficient and friendly service.

Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    141
    60
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmmmm”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Visited cafe vino again tonight on the special week 2 courses for £10 and was yet again amazed by the food. The service was good, attentive but not overbearing. The food delicious I had the paparadelle with duck and my partner had the belly pork then I had the pannacotta with rasps and he had the donuts with lemon curd and cream which he said were heavenly. All in all a fantastic evening. Well worth the money. Will def visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“caffe vivo, caffe fantastic”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went to Newcastle Quayside, in the hope of getting lunch somewhere. Parked the car in the nearby multi, my wife and I walked down Broadchare. My wife is 5 weeks down on a knee replacement and is using 2 sticks. It was Restaurant Week in Newcastle this week. So we tapped onto the website on the iphone, getintonewcastle.co.uk. We had passed Caffe Vivo by this time, we have been there before 2 years ago, it was great then. So we booked on line, a table for two at 13.30, got there at 13.25, shown to a very nice table, ordered drinks, checked out the menu. We had booked the any two courses for £10 per head, we both had zucchini and parmasan soup, fantastic, served hot and tasty with extra parmasan. Main course I hade devilled chicken and my wife had salty cod and chickpea stew. Both meals served hot, efficiently and well presented. Really enjoyed the meal and the ambience. Will go there again, we have been there twice before, still great. The a la carte menu is very good and not too pricey for the quality and portion size. Looking for something special, go there!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terencex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Quayside Skewers”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I visited this caffe which I would call a restaurant alone as I was in town working. Its tucked away up a side street not too far from the millenium bridge.

Service is good and the surroundings are very Italian and interesting. The cafe was clean and tidy during my visit.

I ordered a bean salad for starters and it was refreshing and very tasty. Ideal for a summer evening. For main course I ordered lamb on skewers which was served with roast potatoes and vegetables.

Be warned - if its quantity you are looking for then maybe this restaurant is not for you. The portions are not huge but the food is delicious.

Would I return? Yes anytime.

Please note they have lunchtime and evening set menus which are ideal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Was really disappointed with our meal here as had been told good things.the menu I found was quite limited if you didn't like seafood so really struggled to find a starter.main course was lasagna verde and that's exactly what I got ,layers of green pasta with mince in between , no tomato sauce or cheese to be seen so as you can imagine it was very dry and tasteless, my husband had pasta in tomato sauce with seafood which he thought was just ok.
This was not a cheap place to eat and think I'm being very generous to give it average, will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Vivo also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Caffe Vivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing