We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time special.”
Review of Red Mezze

Red Mezze
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: MODERN TURKISH RESTAURANT SERVING HALAL COLD AND HOT MEZZES, BBQ DISHES, MEAT, FISH AND VEGETARIAN DISHES, TURKISH DESSERTS, TEA AND COFFEES.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lunch time special.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Visited today 24.03.14 for lunch and was not disappointed. Sertac and waitress were attentive but not over powering. Food quality was excellent with a good fusion of flavours. Portion sizes were good and very reasonably priced. I am not easy to please but I think this is one of the best restaurants in Newcastle for lunch. I will be back very soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    224
    47
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Turkish Food”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Visited today for lunch and it was good value for 2 little starters and a main course for £7.45. It was busy for a lunch time but the service was good and the food turned up quickly. It is very tasty and well cooked.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely night ”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night, very busy so make sure you book (but dont let this put you off). We shared 2 starters broad beans and falafel served with warm pitta bread. Then lamb for main which was delicious. Definitely worth a visit and doesn't cost alot for the amount of food that you get. Our 2nd visit and will be back again.

Helpful?
Thank snowdropzuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Went for a friend's birthday, there was 12 of us so it was a little cramped. Nevertheless the food was superb, we all cleared our plates and drank copious amounts of lager before moving onto nearby Madisons bar. Recommend trying close-by Bar Loco, excellent little independant bar.

Would definitely go back to Red Mezze. Thanks to everyone for putting up with us

Helpful?
Thank bloodninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Choppington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice to try something different”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I went here recently with my partner and friends. Overall it was very tasty, we had the mixed starters to start and I thought these were average. The main was very nice with lots of flavour only downside was the lamb was a bit tough, had much nicer in other restaurants. Also a little disappointed the wine we ordered they didn't have so we had to get the more expensive bottle! All in all it was a nice meal for a very reasonable price but not the nicest I have had. Saying that we will probably back to try something else off the very tasty sounding menu as its nice to have something different!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossctoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Mezze also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Red Mezze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing