We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly enjoyable meal”
Review of Red Mezze

Red Mezze
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Turkish Restaurant Serving Halal Cold And Hot Mezzes, Bbq Dishes, Meat, Fish And Vegetarian Dishes, Turkish Desserts, Tea And Coffees.
Newcastle upon Tyne UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A thoroughly enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Three of us had a really good dinner having booked for 7p.m.; one hot and one cold meze between us for starters, 3 mains and one dessert accompanied by a beer each and one bottle of wine. Good value at £20 per head. The food was very tasty and helpings were more than adequate
Service was prompt and the manager was very congenial - we sat outside and he regularly came out to ensure we had everything we wanted, He also spent time talking to us. The waitresses were also very amenable.
Would def. recommend this restaurant and intend to visit again in the near future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    225
    48
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great discovery”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have lived nearby for over a year and only tried this restaurant a couple of days ago. The service is excellent and crucially, the food is delicious. Generous portions, fresh and vibrant flavours all added up to a fantastic meal. We can't wait to return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
450 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Lunch set menu is a great deal!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I paid a visit to Red Mezze last week for lunch with some friends, and we got great Turkish food for a wonderful value. For £7.45 you get two mezze to start, then the main of your choice! Portions are pretty big for lunch time, making this even more of a bargain! I enjoyed creamy hummus and zeytinyagli fasulye (green beans cooked with onions, tomatoes, red peppers, and spices) with the warm pita bread that was brought in a basket for our table to share. The chicken shish was my main, and consisted of 6 big chunks of juicy, marinated chicken served alongside fluffy rice and salad, and a chunky hot sauce to mix in. Everything was very good, I only wished I could finish it!

They have a little outdoor patio area in front, though it was full when we arrived. Service was pretty quick and you get a little piece of Turkish Delight when they bring the bill around. My friends enjoyed their moussaka as well, lunch here was definitely a hit! I'm already eager to return soon and try more things! Really, the lunch special cannot be beat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

After a week in Turkey, came back to sample some more Turkish cuisine. Was very busy on a weekday night.The staff were so friendly and service was good. The food came quickly and was amazing. Shared hot and cold mezze for starters and then had a seafood main (which name escapes me). Will visit again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Returned once again to this fabulous Turkish restaurant. Food amazing, staff friendly, bill very reasonable. If you visit Newcastle this restaurant is a must. We have never yet been disappointed and I am not that easy to Impress. We will definitely be returning there the next time we are in Newcastle.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Mezze also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Red Mezze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing