We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We read some of the reviews before booking for a single night stay.
Never having been to Newcastle before, but knowing the HdV's reputation, we got a good deal on line for a single night stay.

The Location: Near the quayside, but not in Town. Great for some, but not near enough to the night-life for others!

Parking: Street parking on a side street or Valet parking for £8 per night. Not ideal, but no issues when we went back to the car in the morning.

Staff: Very friendly, knowledgeable and didn't have that superior attitude as we have found in some of the high end chains we have sampled on our travels!
Offered a free upgrade on arrival (and very much appreciated). George from the night desk was engaging and very helpful, as were all other staff we came into contact with.

The rooms: Room was comfortable and with the Rolls Royce of mattresses (V Spring) providing a good nights sleep. Tastefully decorated in a boutique hotel style and with a nice double ended bathroom and drench shower, wet area.
Excellent touches, such as the Cafetiere coffee and specialist Teas.

The restaurant: An excellent place to dine. Don was very knowledgeable on the Cheese Board (which is a must). Wines range from House Red's (in the room) which was £16.50 and a very smooth Merlot, to bottles in the £100+ bracket; and let's not forget the range of beers and spirits.
We had an Long Island Iced Tea and a Mojito (or two) which were also very good.

Overall: A very positive experience and we will certainly be back next time we are in or around Newcastle.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSouthwickGrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    250
    80
    31
    15
See reviews for
87
587
18
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

stayed for 2 nights 1st and 2nd of july 2011 this was our second stay at this hotel and it never fails to impress us, the staff are very welcoming and helpful from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. Our room was spotless with a great view of the tyne and all the usual toiletries you get with the du in hotels(full size), a large bed (Very comfortable) a monsoon large walk in shower, a slipper bath under the window with a view of the tyne, and a separate room with a toilet and sink in, there is a well stocked mini bar, full size iron and ironing board and hairdryer.this hotel is pure luxury and very worth a visit the rooms are just superb. the only way i can fault it and it is a minor fault is the plugs are not near the mirror therefore a bit of a problem when using a hairdryer but as i said only a minor fault, cant wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERTFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This was my first trip to a Hotel Du Vin and I was very impressed. The receptionist, Brian I think his name is, was very friendly and efficient, making you feel instantly welcome. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable with large wet rooms and a bath in the bedroom, very quirky!
We had a snack in the bar before going which was very good. The service is very relaxed and efficient and the staff we found were friendly and smiley, something that is rare in most hotels.
We returned late and had a drink in the bar. My only complaint was that although they operate a 24hr room service menu, we could not get food in the bar, and were advised to go to our rooms to order food. I find this a little strange, why not run the menu in the bar as well?
Breakfast was excellent and if in Newcastle again I would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOMMO14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I have never written a review, but wanted to say a few words about this amazing hotel. From the moment we arrived we were completely taken care of by the very friendly reception staff, we had just finished a charity hike and were exhaused/had lots of luggage and were immediately assisted/ checked in to our room and made to feel very comfortable. The room exceeded expectations, it was immaculate, the bed was incredible and the bath is not to be believed, it had a view out over the Tyne River from the bathtub! We then went down to the restaurant for dinner, where we had a delicious meal and great advice about wines from the restaurant's very friendly wine expert. Breakfast the next morning was equally delicious and we were even granted a late checkout so we could have a bit more time to rest before heading back to London. With Friendly staff throughout the hotel it was truly a 5 star experience for great value, just wanted to share- please try this hotel! You will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgreen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I visited with my husband for a birthday celebration. We stayed in Bodega on the third floor. Freestanding bath, walk-in shower, and views along the tyne from the bath. The bed was extremely comfortable. Dinner was marvellous, but £12 a glass for champagne was rather excessive, and there were a couple of extras added to our bill which was a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Despite the wet weather we had a great stay. My only complaint would be that the shower would have been better inside the bathroom, so I could have slept while my hubby was in the shower. Also need some hooks for towels and bathrobes in the bedroom for the bath and shower.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

For lovers of the Hotel du Vin concept you won't be disappionted here. Developed in a former shipbuilder's office overlooking the Tyne, it is stylish and intimate with very knowledgable and helpful staff.

We had an excellent dinner and the chef was very helpful in providing gluten free dishes for one of our guests (marking on the menu which dishes could be provided). The kitchen is open to the restaurant and we were fascinated and reassured to see the thorough clean-up which went on after service. The bar is intimate and provides a great selection of local bottled beers (as well as the usual wines).

The only potential downside is the location which is well away from the city centre in an area currently being re-developed. Some people might find the slightly quieter location just right but it will encourage us to stay somewhere else next time, probably at the fabulaously located Malmaison Hotel further down the river (owned by the same group).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This really is one of those places that you will recount to your friends again and again. The food is exceptional to the point of inappropriate groans of delight at the dinner table. The staff are superb- nothing is too much effort, but more than that each of them is passionate about their job and lovely too.

We can honestly say we've have never had such amazing cocktails. Put the bar list away and ask 'The Maestro' John to make you something divine. He'll design you a drink so mind-blowing you'll never want to leave the bar let alone the Hotel. Ever. He's like a child in a sweet shop, buzzing with excitement and passion, and makes drinks so unique you'll spend the whole evening sampling the most delicious cocktails around.

Following a late night at the bar, drag your hungover body to breakfast and eat freshly-baked banana bread, pastries, fresh orange juice and of course, tasty cooked options (I recommend the eggs benedict with bacon).

The hotel is 10 minutes from town, along the quayside, and once you've been suitably cultural at the Baltic, come back for dinner. The fish was beautifully cooked, the samphire was super-fresh, and Luke the sommelier was a fantastic terrible influence, who together with John the barman, lead to the downfall of my girlfriend and I.

Overall- impeccable service, friendly staff, a warming fire in the bar, late-night bacon sandwiches to your door, comfy beds, and absolute silence at night. I whole-heartedly recommend this hotel. Just make sure you take paracetamol for the hangover.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing