We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning room - real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning room - real treat”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in Hotel du Vin for two nights for a family wedding and were really impressed. The hotel is a little out of town but easily walkable to the Quayside and Baltic. There is a buildign site going on next door and parking is difficult but the hotel itself makes up for these minor faults.
We got an upgraded room which was huge - with a roll top bath in one corner and a massive walk in shower at the other. Enjoyed a drink in the bar and liked the outdoor space - with its own cigar shack! The staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming.

We had breakfast in our room on the first morning which was a smaller selection than in the restaurant but a treat to be able to have breakfast in bed. Next morning's scrambled eggs and smoked salmon were delicious.

We also ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night - service was a bit slow to be honest but food when it came was top notch with fresh fish and (of course) an extensive wine list - most of which was out of our price range but scour the pages and you'll find some cheaper ones lurking in there!

Overall this was a real treat - more than we would normally pay for a hotel room but you could tell the difference in the service and the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    254
    81
    31
    15
See reviews for
89
592
18
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We have just returned from an overnight stay here (Sunday 14th August) and I cannot fault this place at all. I booked the Double Deluxe room with breakfast as a birthday treat for my B/friend. Yes it is pricey, £ 149! But totally worth every penny. The room had such a charming feel to it and it is luxury! The room was huge and the roll top tub in your room adds to the luxury feel! If you do decide to stay here I would recommend that you get full use of the room ie have a bath, enjoy some vino whilst watching a film! Yes you can watch TV whilst in the bath or from the monsoon shower area! It has a dvd player so take your own dvds. From reading peoples reviews here I was worried about the distance to the city centre. Not a problem at all. You are a 5min walk from the Quay side where there are a few restaurants and bars. We walked into the city to get dinner and it took us 20/25 mins. Sounds far but it’s really not. You just stay on the main road. Going by the amazing cooked breakfast had we eaten in the evening here Im sure it would have been worth every penny. The staff were very helpful and the check in/out was very quick and the young man who looked after us, Davey was an absolute gent. Overall we had a lovely stay and it’s very romantic. Perfect for a treat. If you are looking to book. Ring Hotel du Vin reservations direct coz they will tell you what offers they have on across all locations. Remember opt for the breakfast 100% worth it. Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalbir_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

we booked this for our anniversary for convenience as nearby to parents for babysitting. we stayed in a lovely room (cant remember the name) - it had a mezannine bathroom with roll top bath and wet room.

good points - room really comfortable. bad points - could barely sleep due to some mad rave on down the road. the music was really bad (as in type of music as well as noise levels).

we arrived at around 2pm, checked in and decided to pop downstairs to have a bar snack / sandwich and a coffee before going for a wander. we ordered our sandwiches and waited almost 90 minutes. they'd forgotten to put the ticket through then it was held up because by the time they'd put the ticket on, a massive hen party had ordered about 30 afternoon teas. asked for a very weak coffee and when it came it was like tar - had to send it back. very apologetic and didnt charge us for the coffee (charged us for the 90 minute sandwich though!!)

the evening meal was both lovely and ok. i ordered moules - the taste wasn't so great - very creamy and not much depth. one of the waiters suggested the cote which we had and it was delicious - very good recommendation and quite romantic to share. the bar staff were good to talk to - we had a nice evening sitting at the bar before / after the meal.

the staff were lovely, the room was clean and beautifully put together, paying for parking or parking on some side street, not so great.

i'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2011

These are Our own Personal opinions of our recent stay at the Hotel Du Vin

Good Points:-

Friendly Staff
Good range of beverages in the bar and lovely bar / seating area's
Good breakfast bar
Comfortable bed
Plenty of HOT water with good bath and shower nicely designed too
Good TV in room with DVD

Bad Points

Very overpriced as regards Bar/ Mini Bar/ Breakfast/ Restaurant.
Room VERY dusty in area's verging on Dirty (wardrobe had'nt seen Mr Sheen in months).
STRONG smell of sewerage in certain areas of hotel at certain times of day.
Charges for use of Car Park and also for Valet parking ( unexplained )
Nice view of a building site from our window accompanied by industrial noise early in the morning.

Overall i'd give it a 5 out of 10 and won't be back,,, shame really but there's no need when there's so many other places out there that in my opinion are better than this.. The thing that annoyed me the most was having to pay for the use of a car park, but not only that having to pay for the valet parking,, it would have been cheaper to drive the car to the car park myself and get a Taxi Back considering it was Our diesel in Our Car too...

Some good points also though, as mentioned above so its not all bad,,, Just wont be back nor recommending to a friend

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I think this hotel is more for a romantic weekend rather than a business trip. The rooms are stunning and well worth a vist. It's comfortable bar and welcoming bar staff made it a very pleasant stay. However the reception staff are not quite up to speed. The office manager/ senior receptionist was a bit of a hilter. The cigar/ smoking hut was very impressive. Breakfast menu was trying to be a bit too up market for what it is. Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kainic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I have stayed here almost every week for over a year. As I am now working in a different area and am currently enjoying my final stay I thought I should write a review.

This is absolutely my favourite hotel in the country. I love it. The staff are fantastic, the rooms are amazing, the breakfast is superb. After a long day at work this is just the perfect way to relax.

The only downside of staying here is that it has raised my expectations of every other hotel - nothing else can compete with this place. I will miss it dearly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed for the night when we went to see ray le montagne at the city hall.

It isn't local to the nightlife so a taxi is required, but the hotel has a great cozy bar and very nice restaurant so as a romantic break you don't have to leave.

We had an upgraded room, with massive walk in shower and standalone roll top bath in the open plan room. It really is one of the nicest hotel rooms I've stayed in for overall ambience and feel. All the staff were attentive and polite, dinner was delicious and breakfast great. We paid about £160 for the night including dinner, I think it was a Sunday deal.

All in all a better stay than the malmaison with free parking out front. Malmaison give easier walking access to the city, but I prefer hotel du vin.

Room Tip: Only stayed the once so haven't seen the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markfromcleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,147 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing