We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First-class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

As you'd expect from a Hotel Du Vin, we received first-rate hospitality for our one-night stay. The location is pretty central - £4 in a cab from the station - and the hotel is a well-designed conversion of an old industrial building. The staff were helpful in meeting our requests, and we had a fabulous dinner and breakfast as part of our package. Next time we're in Newcastle, this is where we'll stay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MattStevensUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    241
    76
    31
    14
See reviews for
85
571
17
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Although I say very good, this will be a mixed review. On the positive side, they have a really fun cigar shack for smoking cigars. It is out in the courtyard and is like a little round beach shelter with leather seating, a fire and a humidor. If you are cigar smoking it is very comfortable, peaceful and a great place to chat to fellow enthusiasts. On the down side, the bar didn't have the wine we ordered so gave us a bottle that was a lot more expensive (not good for a 4*) and we had to give them the glasses back as they were filthy. The more expensive wine was very nice and we enjoyed the night but please sort the bar out

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joleenlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here for a Saturday night getaway from London. Overall, Hotel Du Vin was an attractive, comfortable and relaxing place to stay. They've done a fantastic job of using the old steamship company headquarters - brick walls throughout. The service at the hotel was superb - the staff are friendly and helpful. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready, so they upgraded us to give us a room immediately. A few problems in the room - a light bulb missing and no remote control for the TV. But the staff were very helpful and fixed it immediately. The rooms are clean, comfortable and stylish - loved the freestanding bath tub! Some areas are starting to look a bit worn but not to where it detracts from the rest of the room.

The restaurant is very nice - great breakfast.

One thing to keep in mind is that the restaurant is a bit out of town. We knew this and were fine with the walk, but be prepared for not having places on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are on the main road, so if you're a light sleeper, ask for a different locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eljefe707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here early June 2012 for a two night break, had a nice room with a roll top bath in the bedroom and a monsoon shower in the bathroom, spotlessly clean room and real quality fixtures and fittings, lovely sheets. Pillows were too soft but our request for firm ones on the second night was met with a "no problem" from the receptionist. The breakfasts are amazing and cooked to order by the chef, I am a great fan of another major chain hotel's breakfast but the breakfast at this hotel far exceeded anything I have tasted elsewhere. Staff are knowledgeable and helpful. The location is ok, maybe a 15 minute walk into town where may restuarants can be found. Might also be worth trying the malmaison which is a sister hotel and perhaps 7 minutes closer to town. Make use of the valet parking if you have a car. Only slight issue was that we were on the second floor and there was a little noise from others moving about the hotel late at night, I personally think that this is due to the conversion of the old building into a hotel, however this did not cause us any major problems.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room with a separate bath in the room and a monsoon shower in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benlexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here on the night of our wedding and were really pleased with the choice. We arrived late but the hotel were expecting us and upgraded us to a suite with lovely river views, and offered us a complimentary glass of bubbly on arrival. Exactly the kind of welcome required for such a special occasion. The room was furnished to a very high standard and a particular highlight were the dual rain showers! Takes hotel showers to an entirely different level!
We loved the unique, boutique style of the property. Little features like the aforementioned showers, the funky looking bar and the interesting 'cigar shack' located in the central courtyard all added up to a memorable stay.
The location is interesting as it sits right on the entrance to the Ouzeburn river and valley, which is a real up-and-coming area of Newcastle, with great views of the river itself. It also gives very good access to the Quayside (5mins walk) & the city centre proper (10-15mins walk).
Would definitely recommend this hotel, but probably not for a first stay in the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewLambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Love this hotel, stayed here on business. First thing you notice is that the staff do actually care, they are first rate, nothing is too much trouble and all done with a smile on their face. The hotel is clean, very stylish furnishings, rooms lovely, bed comfy, I could go on but you really do need to sample it yourself.

The restaurant is amazing the food top rate, well presented and tasty.

Short walk to the City Centre along the Quayside and you are not trouble by any real noise (did visit during the week).

Well done Hotel du Vin you get a gold star from me!!!

Room Tip: Try the porridge at breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgt180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed for a mid week break. The hotel was quirky and interesting without being silly. Lovely big room with massive windows. Breakfast was great and the staff friendly & efficient.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing