We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel du Vin delivers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel du Vin delivers”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have stayed at different Hotel du Vin around the country and used the excuse of exploring Newcastle to try another one. Overall we were very impressed, as with most of the hotels in the chain they have used an existing building an with interesting history, this one being the old offices for the Tyne Tees Shipping Company. We are arrived late morning & were please to be shown to our room without the fuss of booking in too early as the room was avaliable. The room on the top floor was a good size & fitted out to the usual high standards we have come to expect, the view down the River Tyne towards the centre was great. Location was spot on, a 10 min walk to town. Breakfast was also very good with great service. As point of interest the nearby pub, The Tyne is worth a visit if you want to meet some of the friendly locals, the real ale was good & the food looked delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older part of the hotel if you want an architectually interesting room, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    262
    82
    31
    16
See reviews for
98
608
19
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffs. UK.
Level 6 Contributor
680 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed in Newcastle for two nights, one at the Malmaison and one at the Hotel Du Vin.
Very little to choose between them, rooms at the Hotel Du Vin are very contemporary, breakfast was very good, only one person on reception made checkout a bit slow, apart from that really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinurgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Newcastle branch by the Quey side, lovely building and a short distance from the city centre.
Staff were nice and friendly on arrival and good with giving advice on places, our room was lovely, big roll top bath and seperate wet room, nice decor as always, the bed was a good size, and the room was overall spotless on arrival.
After our first night we went down for breakfast and were quickly seated and told that there was a selection of pastries and juices etc, also that there was a hot food menu which the waitress forgot to give us both mornings, once we had been given the menu it took her 15mins to come back to see if we wanted anything. The hot breakfast was tasty but not worth the extra £12.50 each (should you be paying for it seperate from your room which we didn't)
When we got back to our room that night the maid had been and done the bed but not taken any dirty glasses away/replaced them (blatantly been used), or emptied the main bin or the bathroom bin which were full to the top, also they took the towels away and did not replace the them or the empty toilet roll from the holder, i had to ask the maid for towels when i bumped into him in the corridor.
This i feel is pretty poor considering its not a cheap establishment and is actually a really nice hotel, but!! the staff in the breakfast area were just not doing anything and the maid done a poor job of keeping the room in a good clean standard. Only othe rthing is we were at the front of the building on the 1st floor and the road is right outside the front very noisy in the morning.
I personally wouldnt go back to this branch but will go back to other ones that have stayed in before.
All in all we had a great weekend, just a few in house issues that need to be sorted out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbroomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked a special deal for my partners milestone birthday and were not disappointed. They do various deals for superior rooms, dinner bed & breakfast and this did not disappoint. The room was fabulous and good value for money, the meal was excellent and from their a la carte, again breakfast also very good. Service was very good and friendly.
The only downside was that I had phoned ahead and agreed for banners and balloons to be in the room for my partner (which I posted out to them) and that did not happen. Also there was no mention of an additional parking fee of £10. The latter being a picky comment. Ideal location for a visit to Newcastle and to stay in wonderful surroundings, we will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

only stayed one night, wish it could have been more. excellent staff on reception and in the bistro, nothing too much trouble. clean comfortable rooms with great views. best hotel i have stayed in ! THANKYOU HOTEL DU VIN, GREAT JOB !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

After amassing some cash from our quiz wins 8 members headed for the weekend to HDV Newcastle what a treat in store a variety of rooms all excellent Bistro meal excellent Breakfast (not that we were hungry) brilliant. Could not fault the staff venue or good

Room Tip: Any room will do they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y50alh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed at the Hotel du Vin for four days, part business part pleasure. For a small additional charge, they upgraded me to a really beautiful room, with an integral bath, private terrace and huge wet area.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. I ate twice in the hotel, and the food was excellent and not too expensive.

The hotel is on the quayside, about a 20 minute walk into the centre of Newcastle. Don't be put off by the location - it is a lovely walk along the river, with spectacular views of the bridges. If you time it right, you may get to see the Millennium Bridge doing its daily tilt!

I enjoyed my stay so much, I didn't want to leave, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,217 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing