We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First anniversary treat :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is stunning! The room was spotless and well thought out, the bed was a huge 9 foot and the mezzanine roll top baths were a great quirk :) The food was gorgeous really flavorful and was served in a warm and timely manner. A little pricey but definately worth it for a special occasion !!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVRobTait, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your lovely comments following your stay, great to hear!

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Rob Tait

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Deluxe room @ £130 is potentially the best bang for your buck room I've ever experienced in a hotel.
Roll top bath, huge shower, decent tv, great bed (actually a double not two singes put together), and clean all round.

Staff are very helpful, outdoor area is great to chill out in.

Impressed to say the least.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank SaintGilesTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Heard great things about the food at this hotel- so decided to stay. Have to confirm the food is AMAZING. I've eaten at some beautiful restaurants but honestly the food here- brilliant. I know it sounds silly but even the bread is wonderful.

The room was lovely. Large, cool, and basically all you would ever want or need.

The outdoor area was classy, pretty and well thought out- we could've spent hours there!

The check in staff were very friendly and helpful (particularly the lady who checked us in- so accommodating).

Special mention has to go to Kerry however, who I believe is the assistant restaurant manager.

All of the bar and restaurant staff were lovely, but Kerry really was special. She had the best mix of professionalism, chat and attentiveness. Truly a brilliant member of staff who in our opinion deserves massive praise. She made our stay so much more enjoyable.

In short, beautiful hotel, room and food; and some wonderful staff, in particular the lovely Kerry.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieLMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Staying here at the moment for one night. Booked a king room with sleigh bed. Simply gorgeous. Claw foot bath with shaving mirror in bedroom, shower is about ten feet long with two enormous rain water shower heads with great pressure. Bed linen beautiful. View overlooking the Tyne (and it's sunny). Dinner in lovely candlelit restaurant was really good and staff all very friendly. Lovely outside seating area where we are off to have breakfast! Would def stay again, bit of a long walk to city but that means you get a good nights sleep so can't have it all. Oh and free car parking and good wifi which you don't even have to fiddle around connecting to. Enjoy it!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Coogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As I live in the North East I still like to stay in hotels now and then as I get bored of being at home! It is located near the Quayside and City Centre without the hustle and bustle of the city itself. This hotel has some amazing suites and the standard rooms are also lovely with everything you need in them. The restaurant is one of my favourite places to eat with a good variety of dishes. The staff are always lovely and friendly and chat to you which is very welcoming. The bar serve some fab cocktails and the staff even make you ones up which are not on the menu if you ask. Nick who is always behind the bar is a very lovely guy always chatty and is a credit to this place. Overall fab food, great rooms, lovely staff, good location and great atmosphere!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kimberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Every part of our experience at this hotel was excellent, from the greeting when we arrived to the gracious giving of the bill! The staff were so friendly, thoughtful and helpful, nothing is too much bother. The room was clean, tasteful, smart and a bit quaint with the bathroom on a mezzanine deck. The restaurant is French shabby chic and the food is fresh and tasty. We had 2 breakfasts there and I really appreciate when I get light, creamy scrambled eggs but was jealous of my husbands smoked haddock at our 2nd breakfast - looked and apparently tasted gorgeous! We didn't have a chance to have dinner here but had a bar meal which was a notch above the usual. We'd definitely go there again and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: The superior double room we stayed in was lovely, with a mezzanine deck where the slipper bath and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel located not too far from the Quayside and city centre. The rooms and public areas are tastefully done and comfortable, with a nice sheltered outdoor lounge area which catches the sun. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.
The only downside is the food. While breakfast is good with an adequate buffet selection the quality at dinner could have been better. Some items were correct but others were just below our expected standard. With just a little kitchen management the food could be great, and the Bistro could move up a notch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMES P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,352 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,556 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £82 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing