We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you would expect from HDV”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Just what you would expect from HDV”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I booked this hotel via booking.com and got what I thought was a really good deal, then HDV sent me an e mail asking if I would like a standby upgrade to a suite for an extra £46. They could not guarantee I would get an upgrade, but if I chose to apply for one and one was available I was then contracted to take it. I was lucky and one was available, so I stayed in La Grand Dame suite, and perfect does not even begin to describe it. The bed was 9 feet wide, there was a large comfortable sofa, massive LCD TV with bose surround sound speakers, and on a mezzanine level were 2 roll top baths and a large walk in monsoon shower.

Now on to the thing that makes a Hotel Du Vin stand out from the crowd, the staff, from checking in to checking out they were brilliant, they go out of there way to make you feel special, nothing is too much trouble, and they attend to your every need. First class!

The food and wine list are also outstanding and I loved breakfast which is cooked to order not buffet style, all in all a fantastic overnight stay, and the best value I have ever had for a suite.

I have read reviews were people are complaining about where the hotel is, its on the Quayside so therefore is going to be next to the river, not bang in the center of town, so if it is vital you are slap bang in the center of town, don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigjimBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    262
    82
    31
    16
See reviews for
98
608
19
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I would just like to say thank you to the staff especially Danielle
My daughter and son in law stayed there for there 1st anniversary I wanted to leave them some drinks in there room for when they arrived
I live miles away so there was phone call to and throw
The staff was fantastic and very helpful to make my daughters anniversary a very special one x

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank caps111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVRobTait, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your kind words about Danielle, i've passed this onto her & she is thrilled to hear.

Warm regards,

Rob Tait

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is stunning! The room was spotless and well thought out, the bed was a huge 9 foot and the mezzanine roll top baths were a great quirk :) The food was gorgeous really flavorful and was served in a warm and timely manner. A little pricey but definately worth it for a special occasion !!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVRobTait, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your lovely comments following your stay, great to hear!

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Rob Tait

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Deluxe room @ £130 is potentially the best bang for your buck room I've ever experienced in a hotel.
Roll top bath, huge shower, decent tv, great bed (actually a double not two singes put together), and clean all round.

Staff are very helpful, outdoor area is great to chill out in.

Impressed to say the least.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaintGilesTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Heard great things about the food at this hotel- so decided to stay. Have to confirm the food is AMAZING. I've eaten at some beautiful restaurants but honestly the food here- brilliant. I know it sounds silly but even the bread is wonderful.

The room was lovely. Large, cool, and basically all you would ever want or need.

The outdoor area was classy, pretty and well thought out- we could've spent hours there!

The check in staff were very friendly and helpful (particularly the lady who checked us in- so accommodating).

Special mention has to go to Kerry however, who I believe is the assistant restaurant manager.

All of the bar and restaurant staff were lovely, but Kerry really was special. She had the best mix of professionalism, chat and attentiveness. Truly a brilliant member of staff who in our opinion deserves massive praise. She made our stay so much more enjoyable.

In short, beautiful hotel, room and food; and some wonderful staff, in particular the lovely Kerry.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieLMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Staying here at the moment for one night. Booked a king room with sleigh bed. Simply gorgeous. Claw foot bath with shaving mirror in bedroom, shower is about ten feet long with two enormous rain water shower heads with great pressure. Bed linen beautiful. View overlooking the Tyne (and it's sunny). Dinner in lovely candlelit restaurant was really good and staff all very friendly. Lovely outside seating area where we are off to have breakfast! Would def stay again, bit of a long walk to city but that means you get a good nights sleep so can't have it all. Oh and free car parking and good wifi which you don't even have to fiddle around connecting to. Enjoy it!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As I live in the North East I still like to stay in hotels now and then as I get bored of being at home! It is located near the Quayside and City Centre without the hustle and bustle of the city itself. This hotel has some amazing suites and the standard rooms are also lovely with everything you need in them. The restaurant is one of my favourite places to eat with a good variety of dishes. The staff are always lovely and friendly and chat to you which is very welcoming. The bar serve some fab cocktails and the staff even make you ones up which are not on the menu if you ask. Nick who is always behind the bar is a very lovely guy always chatty and is a credit to this place. Overall fab food, great rooms, lovely staff, good location and great atmosphere!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,217 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing