We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Lovely hotel - we loved it (and we are very hard to please !!!) and consequently we want to try all the Hotel Du Vins !! Gorgeous room overlooking the Millennium Bridge. Lovely restaurant. The staff were very professional and helpful particularly the young man (I wish I knew his name) who helped me with a parking space, and was later very nice indeed in the lounge and bar. Cannot say anything at all negative about this gorgeous and very well run hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyStartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    240
    75
    30
    14
See reviews for
84
570
17
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

Fabulous. Its a hotel you want to spend time in - not just sleep in. The lounge area is really cozy and comfortable - leather sofas, fires, magazines, funky little bar and snug not to mention the cigar shack outside. The room was fabulous - high ceilings, scrumptious linen and robes, private terrace, filter coffee, huge shower - heaven! Really friendly staff - booked taxis and recommended great restaurant for us. I'd say some of them are still finding their feet a bit (and for some reason the staff in the restaurant were a bit sullen) but would highly recommend it - a highlight of our weekend. I think they should also consider including a continental breakfast in the price - not cheap.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The staff in the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raquel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

This hotel is outstanding. The rooms are beautiful and fun. Great care has been taken to make it incredibly inviting, so much so you want to spend time in your room. The views are amazing over the river. The bathrooms are a work of art and the showers are heaven. The staff are friendly and helpful. Nothing is ever too much trouble. There is a great bar with all sorts of fun places to have a drink.
The restaurant is excellent. Breakfast is a real treat with pots of marmalade and yummy yoghurt plus homemade breads and mueslies. Dinner was superb with an excellent wine list. We had three wonderful nights and I was so sad to leave.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

Having now visited 6 HDV properties I'm loving the chance to experience each new one that opens.

Staying over in Newcastle last night gave my husband and I the chance to check the newest addition to the North East's hotel offering. As others have mentioned old building, beautifully restored and updated.

We'd booked a balcony room but were upgraded to a delux which was just stunning. As you'd expect in a place only 6 months old everything was pristine - but then I've always found room comfort and housekeeping standards to be very high at HDV.

Check in was friendly and swift. Drinks in the bar relaxed - perhaps the bar staff a little too relaxed as I had to go looking for him to order my drinks!. We ate in the restaurant and the food and wine were the usual high standards. Service wasn't as good as I'd have liked - we had to ask twice to have the wine we'd ordered delivered to the table!

All in all, a very good property - not quite as good as the new Edinburgh one or the longer standing Birmingham branch (which are currently my joint HDV favourites) but a great addition to the 'black and white' toon!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

Stayed at the Hotel Du Vin in Newcastle in March for a 2 night city break. The hotel is located on the edge of the city centre - we took a taxi from the station, but walked back to the station at the end of our stay (about 15-20 mins?).

Located in an old shipping building, it's been beautifully converted. Reception staff welcomed us and were efficient in checking us in - we got a superior room for £119 a night which was very good value. The staff member showed us to our room, bringing with him a half pint of milk for the fridge which was a nice touch. Room was gorgeous (the Springfield room), in muted greys with a statement wallpapered wall behind the bed. Roll-top bath by the window, huge comfy bed, large bathroom with wet-room style shower, nice toiletries which you were encouraged to nick. All very clean and fresh.

Ate in the hotel bistro both for breakfast one morning and for dinner. Breakfast was good (if a little expensive) - the waiter got our order wrong slightly but was very apologetic and kept us informed about it's progress. Dinner was exceptional and amazing value (£29 for two people including wine!!!), the food was superb, the dining area cosy and romantic at night, the waiters friendly and attentive. The last morning we had room service breakfast - continental for one, £9.95 , which was plenty for two - pastries, cereal, coffee and juice.

Overall a beautiful small hotel with great staff, impressive accommodation, and superb food - perfect for a romantic break in this great city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brandybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

Stayed using the Lazy Sunday deal in order to see a show at the Metro Radio Arena as part of a birthday celebration. Couldn't fault the hotel. Easily accessible for Quayside or Town Centre. We arrived early for check in and were able to park free in a side street. The hotel is housed in a period building previously the Tyne Tees Steam Shipping Co and has been transformed into a modern and classy environment. The public areas are comfortable and attractive and the exterior courtyard area likewise, with a Cigar Shack for the smokers. The bedroom was outstanding and large, with views of the Tyne Bridge from the window. The bed was comfortable, the roll top bath was in the room, behind which was a huge monson shower. Our evening meal was delicious, I couldn't fault any of the 3 courses and the service was quick, attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast was huge, with a choice from the continental buffet and cooked breakfast - enough to set you up for the day. The staff were young and keen and couldn't be faulted. Nothing was too much trouble and they really helped to make the stay very special. Thank you Hotel Du Vin - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladylinda42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing