We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hedgefield House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Euro Hostel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jesmond Dene House(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$124
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The New Northumbria Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$251
US$126
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Newcastle Central(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
150
64
13
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
64
13
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdressing roomfour postercontinental breakfastshared bathroomb bthe main housemetro centrefloor boardsyogurttwin roomrelaxing staytea coffee making facilitiesclean roomsflat screen tvstayed one nighthotel is situatedlovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed for one night in March 2012 with my lovely partner. It is a grand building with many interesting features and a large garden to explore. I can see why it is popular. I liked the room, with a big comfy bed, a great big bath and even a dressing room, there was plenty to keep us entertained on our flying visit. Service was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was perhaps the weakest part, with a continental style breakfast and toast. It didn't suit me, and Celia wasn't chuffed with her coffee, its a small point really but it could have easily have been better. Location wonderful, such a view over the Tyne Valley, and easy to get into the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My wife and I were attending a Christmas party in the area and chose Hedgefield as it was close to the party venue. We found it to be an excellent choice as the standard of this hotel was marvelous. Nothing was a problem for the staff, even booking us a taxi to our party. The only downside for us was that the breakfast was continental and we didn't realise this at time of booking but there was plenty of everything and it was more than satisfying.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfking50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Have just enjoyed a lovely stay at this hotel. Owners were lovely and friendly. Staff were very attentiveand not intrusive. Hotel was beautiful and room was fantastic - very spacious, clean and cosy. Breakfast was a continental breakfast which offered plenty of choice and were left feeling full.
Despite the hotel being full whilst we were there, we were not bothered by any noise from any of the guests as the walls are very thick. Had a lovely sleep as bed was very comfortable.
Disappointed to read review by easter_bunni as Hedgefield House is a period property and had been restored to keep the authenticity and the shutters were lovely and kept the daylight out. Think some people are just never happy unless they have something to complain about!
We had a lovely stay and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves there.Would definitely recommend this hotel and will use it again as was not far from Newcastle City Centre and taxi was less than ten pounds to get there.
Shame some people are intent on highlighting the negative aspects instead of sharing the positives.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an en-suite
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The building and grounds were magnificent. The building is beautiful and tastefully altered for purpose.
I was a bit disappointed at the lack of info in the room regarding the hotel and surrounding area. It took me a day and a half to find out what the wireless key was and then the Hotel router didn't seem to be connected to the internet - so I didn't manage to do the work I had intended
The showers were also a bit hit and miss, never staying the same temperature for long.
Breakfast was a bit sparse, but pleasant.
The rooms were reasonably quiet, even though our room overlooked the car park and we had three good night's sleep.
The hotel is amazingly situated, it feels as though you are in the countryide, and yet is minutes from the Metro Centre and easy to get to the City centre

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Normally stay in hotel closer to city centre for convenience but decided to have a change.This hotel is really Grand. I'd love to see the grounds in their full glory in summer.Huge bed and so cumfy,lovely nights sleep.Breakfast continental,but that's all we needed after the meal we had the night before.I did notice there was'nt a power point for anyone using an electric shaver in the bathroom so that may not go down well with some visitors. Otherwise I could'nt see anything wrong.Great bit of history there regarding the 1st use of the telephone.If your going to Newcastle anyone try there 1st.Just turn off past Metro Centre.We shall return that is for certain, providing it is'nt full.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews