We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Italian food and pleasant surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scalini's Jesmond

Scalini's Jesmond
Ranked #241 of 1,254 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Scalinis Italian Restaurant, Jesmond offers Mediterranean style cuisine with a predominant Italian influence. One of the busiest and most popular Italian restaurants in Newcastle, Scalini’s Restaurant is frequented by both young and old and is the place to look for celebrity clientele.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,676 reviews
965 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“Good Italian food and pleasant surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I had an excellent meal here and would definitely return. The restaurant is adjancent to the New Northumbria Hotel and very convenient for all of the many hotels in the road. The surroundings are very pleasant and staff very friendly and welcoming,. I ordered a bruschetta topped with olives and feta cheese which was very tasty and this was followed by a delicious 'special of the day' which was mini fillets of turbot with a prawn mousse served on a bed of wok fried greens and a dash of chilli. The whole meal was very well prepared. The restaurant get very busy so I would recommend reservations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Scalini's Jesmond, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal with us and agree that on certain days that it is best to make a reservation. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Scalini's Jesmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    126
    80
    39
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Eight of us arrived without a booking and were sat down pretty quickly. Service was pretty good and staff really pleasant. First time we had been since the makeover which is very nice and modern. Drinks order taken quickly and everything arrived as ordered, drinks are a little pricey but there you go!! Menu is very good and the Sunday special menu was really good value at £10.95 for two courses. Starters of chicken and basil terrine and squid along with huge garlic bread and potato skins for the four kids was well received. Main course sunday staples of pork, turkey and the mixed roast for the adults were nice and tender with huge yorkie and nice veg. Kids meals are excellent value and include a drink and a dessert (rice pudding a big hit). Adult puds were also very good and little left on any plates so all in all a really nice lunch. Big bonus was the face painting lady who did a great job over the couple of hours we were in there (1.00pm till 3.00pm). We never felt rushed or neglected, service was spot on and made for a relaxed atmosphere. It's usually a winner at Scalinis and today certainly did not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackiinthebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Scalini's Jesmond, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent family Sunday Lunch with us. Its great that you enjoyed the food and also the decor of our new look. The face painter joins us every other Sunday from 1pm-3pm and a magician does the alternate Sundays at the same time. We hope that you will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We needed somewhere to eat on Osborne Rd. The pleasant waitress squeezed us in even though we hadn't booked. The decor is nice and modern. The waiter took our wine order soon after we sat down. It came quickly and we ordered our food. We went for starters of mussels and King Prawns. There were four large prawns and the mussels were presented in a nice pot. The mussels were served in a tasty tomato sauce but they weren't as juicy as I've had. The Prawns were slightly over cooked which was a shame. I had the spinach and ricotta cannelloni. The pasta was slightly under cooked and we weren't offered Parmesan until we flagged the waitress down. My friend had the crab ravioli which she said was lovely. Wine was nice and well chilled. All in all an average meal, well priced and a well located restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank EatOutOften21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Scalini's Jesmond, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal at Scalini's Jesmond. We are sorry about the prawns and cannelloni and wish that you had brought this issue up at the time of the meal. However we will take your comments on board for future diners. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your wine and the crab ravioli however. We hope that you would visit us again soon. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Can not fault this restaurant! The staff were more than helpful and friendly. And the food!!! was truly delicious. Great atmosphere in the restaurant too! Was not rushed out even though it took us a while to eat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJV94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Scalini's Jesmond, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

staff helpful but found pizza a bit dry had to ask for extra sauce also chicken was very dry on pizza was not happy

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gloria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Scalini's Jesmond, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your pizza at Scalini's Jesmond and felt that it was too dry. If you would have informed us at the time we would have been more than happy to make you a fresh one or allow you to choose something else. But thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scalini's Jesmond also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Scalini's Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing