We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal for wife”

Freya's Restaurant at Aspers Casino
Ranked #271 of 1,423 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$13 - US$66
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Freya's Restaurant at Aspers Casino is the perfect destination for hungry casino-goers and discerning diners alike. We offer an elegant dining space that boasts a contemporary design. Our selection of menu's offer a wide range of dishes from around the globe, from British fish and chips and American burgers, to delicate Thai curry and Italian-inspired crab linguine, there is truly something for everyone. For great-quality food in a glamorous casino setting, look no further than Freya's Restaurant. Aspers Casino Newcastle also boasts two lovely bars in which you can either relax and watch sports, or look out across the gaming floor, and enjoy a refreshing pint or cocktail. To enter an Aspers Casino, there is no membership requirement and guests must be 18 years or over, with photo identification required for those who look under 25. The rewards program Aspers World requires photo identification upon sign up.
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Been here a few times now and every-time its exactly the same I don't mean the menu is the same but the high level of service the quality of the food everything about this place is well above what you would expect and you dont even need to be a casino member to go for a meal here. Praise to your chefs and all your staff

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank sean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren H, Public Relations Manager at Freya's Restaurant at Aspers Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Hi Sean d,

Thank you for your 5* review!

We strive to make every customers visit an enjoyable experience and we are delighted that you have enjoyed both the quality of our service and food. Your kind comments have been passed on to our Freya's Restaurant staff and chefs.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

We ate here as part of the hen party casino package. Restaurant itself is lovely. Modern and tasteful.
Food was tasty but very very small portions . More made for the astetics .
Staff friendly

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank catglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren H, Public Relations Manager at Freya's Restaurant at Aspers Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Hi catglen,

Thank you for your 4* review. We're glad you found our staff friendly and the restaurant modern and tasteful, but I must say we're a little disappointed that you found the portions too small on this occasion.

I'll certainly pass this feedback on to our Head Chef here and hopefully when you visit again in future you'll find we serve the perfect portions.

Thanks again for reviewing and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Food is always great, staff friendly and dining is relaxed, would highly recommend the warm duck salad!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alig321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren H, Public Relations Manager at Freya's Restaurant at Aspers Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Hi alig321,

Thank you for your 5* review. We're very proud of both our staff and our food and we're delighted you enjoyed your latest visit. The Duck Salad is certainly a personal favourite amongst many of our team members here, great choice!

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Together with wife we visited Frayers with a voucher, won in charity raffle, three course meal for two with wine. I fully expected a specials menu but was presented with the full menu and told to order whatever I wanted. We were given a bottle of house wine, Devine, that was very palatable. We had starters of Crispy Duck and the Garlic Mushrooms, both were very enjoyable. The wife had the fish and chips that was obviously fresh and an amazing portion. I had the rump steak and although was under cooked to my liking was absolutely delicious and would have it cooked exactly the same in the future. In all the portions were so good that we did not bother with dessert. The prices were very reasonable and that surprised me. I should say that although the restaurant was not busy the staff were very attentive and very welcoming. I would highly recommend this place and you do not have to use the casino to dine here, we will definitely be returning. A gem of a place.

Date of visit: April 2016
1  Thank Roniwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren H, Public Relations Manager at Freya's Restaurant at Aspers Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Hi rwdc3514,

We’re delighted with your 5* review, thank you. We all love our fresh Fish & Chips too, but I must say the Rump Steak is one of my favourites and our talented chefs always manage to cook it spot on! You’ll have to save space to sample one of our desserts on your next visit and I would certainly recommend our Sticky Toffee Pud.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

My only criticism of freyas has ever been speed of service!

Try going late at night. Three courses and drinks within the hour!!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank andymac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren H, Public Relations Manager at Freya's Restaurant at Aspers Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Hi andymac_10,

Thanks for the 4* star review. We do hope we can continue to improve and get 5* on your next visit.

If there are any specific times/days that you have found service to be particularly slow please don't hesitate to drop us an email with more details at info@aspers.co.uk.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freya's Restaurant at Aspers Casino also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Freya's Restaurant at Aspers Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing