We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel is number one for a reason, it is excellent - we have stayed in Staybridge Suites in the USA and always enjoyed our stays, and this hotel is a credit to the brand - run by friendly, helpful staff - in a great area, mins from Quayside - clean, modern and spacious - complimentry cheese and wine for an hour each evening is a great touch - breakfast good and sets you up for the day.

Two down points - paying for car park - and no opening windows to the rooms for fresh air!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MossCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I just celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at the Staybridge Suites and we had a fantastic few days. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Newcastle.

We were welcomed on arrival with several free drinks, plus a generous pasta supper which the hotel was laying on to all guests in support of the Great North Run the next morning. I had ordered flowers to the room for my wife at the last minute, and they had all been set up as requested (as well as giving us another complimentary bottle of wine up in the room!). In fact all the email communications ahead of our arrival were very helpful and professional.

The room itself was very comfortable and well-furnished with fridge, kitchen facilities, flatscreen TV, and Internet access. My only complaint was a problem with the bed as it had a raised panel at the foot, which meant I couldn't stretch out fully as I am quite tall.

The ensuite bathroom was excellent.

The staff were super-friendly and couldn't do enough for us, whether it was giving us directions, or sorting out problems (one night we needed a minor first aid intervention). Also they were very relaxed after we owned up to spilling some soup on the carpet!

The breakfasts were fine and at night the 'Pantry' (an honour system where you pay for groceries by filling out a form) came in useful, and was not overpriced.

The location is good too - just a few minutes from the Quayside (once the staff have told you the best way to get there!) and car parking was not a problem.

Thanks to everyone at Staybridge Suites for a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank favonian_oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Excellent sleep.
Excellent Room
Excellent Connectivity.

Local convenience stores seem to close at 10pm (a bit early)
Student halls of residence surrounding building ( I stayed during freshers week - no noise disruption that is how quiet the hotel was)

Brief because it was simple, very nice rooms.

The sign is very difficult to see if arriving at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just had a wonderful stay on the sixth floor of staybridge suites. The staff were very friendly, helpful and obliging. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice. The rooms are modern, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and fully equipped with good quality items. We will definitely return. Fantastic location for shops, nightlife and culture.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here for a weekend of 21st September and I must say what a hotel, the service this hotel offers is second to non.
We checked in and couldn't believe the quality of the rooms the beds were amazing lovely space rooms, ideal for a weekend away in Newcastle, only pitfall is the rooms were slightly dusty and seemed very rushed when they had been cleaned as few little things had been missed. Reception desk were the best I have ever encountered there was a slight issue with the water when we were there but the staff handled it impeccably well. I had a few encounters with supervisor on the desk, never seen someone with a constant smile on there face and seem generally happy in there job, truely an assess to the hotel to remain calm and still smile while the hotel had no water and the amount of complaints they must have had she done the hotel very proud! I would recommend this hotel to everyone and will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ticklepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

first class service, lovely clean rooms, fab comfortable bed. the surprise pasta buffet with wine and beer was great and the staff created a very congenial atmosphere, particularly liked the newly painted wall in the den!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Greeted by a polite member of staff us always a good way to start a stay in a hotel.
We had a one bed suite that faced the back of the hotel, a bit of a difference facing student accommodation rather than the Tyne & the Sage but it didn't impact our stay, but I would request a front facing room next time.
The kitchen was small but well equipped with a dishwasher, crockery, fridge, glassware, kettle and microwave oven which was perfect for our weekend stay.
The 'bedroom' was nice with a sofa & tv to relax after a long day walking around Newcastle.
When we arrived the bathroom wasn't clean and there was a fair bit of dust around the living area but we didn't make a fuss, maybe a little more attention to detail by housekeeping?
We only saw 3 staff while we were there and they were all lovely, polite but friendly and helpful.
Considering the location of the hotel and the types of guests that use hotels in city centres such as Newcastle we didn't get disturbed by any noise.
The complimentary breakfast was good, a wide range of options available and the way it's laid out makes you feel at home.
Overall a good hotel and I would certainly stay here again when back in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InspiredSoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
559 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,528 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £71 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing