We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than a standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Much better than a standard hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is a recentish addition to the Newcastle scene so everything is still new and shiny. I had only stayed in this style of hotel in the USA previously so it was delight as I really hate sitting on beds to watch the TV and you get sick of eating out with other people all the time.

The basic concept is that you have an upmarket mini-appartment complete with all the basic items you need in a kitchen.

The room was not one of the higher ones so no view to speak of but as the room itself was a delight this was no problem. For those who like windows to open these ones don't but even I could use the heating and ventilation system and it did what it was supposed to do quietly.

At first glance the area doesn't appear that fantastic as it's student accommodation land just up from the quayside but if you study a map you are within walking distance of the city centre, Jesmond and many of the delights of Newcastle thus allowing you to leave the car in the secure car park (£8/day) and relax. I was out and about pretty late at night and didn't feel at all on my guard.

Youngish staff were all pleasant and helpful. I can't comment on the sitting room or breakfast as I didn't partake.

I would recommend particularly if you were in a group and trying to keep people together.

Room Tip: If you want a view you need to be on the 6th floor, odd numbers but it really doesn't matter as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbusDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review for fellow travellers. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the team will also be delighted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,108
    236
    35
    6
    6
See reviews for
181
637
74
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Just enjoyed a lovely weekend stay at this hotel and I have to say it is one of the best hotels I've stayed in...The room I had was almost like an apartment, full kitchen facilities with a seperate bedroom - amazing!! Some friends stayed in studio rooms and these were just as good!!

Great views and good location altho would say definately need to get a taxi into Newcastle City Centre or Quay Side

Breakfast was buffet style and excellent in taste and presentation and the staff were very helpfull throughout....

This definately feels like a high end market hotel - and I would have no hesitation in reccommending this hotel to anyone. They even have a little 24hour shop..!!

Great Room, Great Breakfast, Great Service!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoofoowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am so glad that you were impressed with the hotel and the service - hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The staff were the best thing about this hotel. The location is also great- and the 24hour shop is a real bonus.

We returned to our room after a long day to find it hadn't been made up- we are use to serviced apartments, perhaps these are non-serviced suites? We booked last minute so didnt look into it too much.

One gripe our phone kept ringing in and when we answered it we could hear conversation between reception and another room for taxi bookings etc. It happened three times so we just unplugged the phone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wally88Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry about the issue with the phones we must have had a crossed line - I will investigate this. Staybridge Suites rooms are serviced Monday to Friday with weekend servicing on request, I am sorry that this caused you inconvenience and do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it is the best hotel we have stayed in, in Newcastle. We stayed in a studio and it was amazing. We got a room on the top floor and the view was amazing. It was in great location which meant it was easy to get to the quay side and city centre. The breakfast was always excellent each morning and the staff were also great. I fully reccommend this hotel to anyone it was excellent and we have already booked to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenhoyland2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Hello Lauren. Thank you ever so much for your excellent and kind review, it means the world to us when our guests take the time and effort to leave us reviews. Thank you once again, and we hope to see again at Staybridge Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Great room, great breakfast, excellent service.

Stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom suite with living room. I believe some rooms are a studio.
Rooms was stylish, modern and spacious with a good bathroom and a kitchen with full size fridge freezer! There was a tv in the living room and in the bedroom.

Breakfast is advertised as continental but there was a cooked English breakfast, though I didn't try it. There are lots of Kelloggs cereal in proper boxes, not the mini ones that you have to open about 3 of to fill your bowl. There's also toast, croissants and bagels, all of which looked nice.

There is a small 24hr shop where you pay at the front desk, I really good touch. A colleague of mine went to the gym and said it has cardio machines and weights machines.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you Nick, we really appreciate when our guests take the time to leave us reviews. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Read the reviews here on Trip Advisor and chose Staybridge Suites in Newcastle for a weekend visit. And all the reviews were right! From the friendly welcome at the front desk to the very good breakfast choices to the short walk down to the Quayside for the Sunday Market alongside the river...it was all just as other reviewers had said! We asked for an upper level room on the river side of the hotel and got the best room in hotel! It was very clean, comfortable, and had all the conveniences of a suite instead of a room--comfortable sofa, refrigerator, two TVs(!), and free high speed wi-fi. Throw in the free parking, and no problem at all when we asked if we could leave the car there for a two or three hours after checkout to go into the city center for lunch, and there is literally nothing to write a negative comment about! And did we mention the friendly staff? Nothing was too much trouble! Would definitely stay there again...in fact, wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: 6th floor, odd-numbered rooms give a great view of the bridges and The Sage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for very kind review, we love feedback at Staybridge Suites and we're delighted when our guests take the time to leave us reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We arrived for a short trip away and plumped for the already well rated StayBridge Suites, located very near the quayside and not too far from the town either come to think of it. As per the last time the greeting from the staff on reception was very friendly; it felt a bit like welcoming old long lost friends! It certainly reassured the soul after a long journey!

Our suite was well furnished and extremely clean..much respect to the cleaning staff here...I playfully did a 'four in a bed' contestant sweep of the pictures and...nothing! not so much as a fleck! superb! Especially for my OCD other half! The kitchenette is very well equipped but we didn't really use it...save for the fridge to store the beer and wine in...

My husband remarked that he felt 'at home' in the room and not 'just another guest' and I have to say that I agree...it is home from home...

...however...one little gripe...but this is personal to us...is that we would like a bath in our suite as that is the kind of thing one would like to relax in after a bitterly cold but exhilarating walk along the quayside...like I said..a little gripe...but nothing bad!

Breakfast is plentiful but it is not spectacular as perhaps one might find in a small B&B but the hotel does well for the numbers it caters for..and there is plenty of choice for the 'continental' breakfast lovers.

...and I still resent the £8 per day parking charge! I will whinge about this on every review until it stops being added!!

...but it won't stop us returning...hopefully later this year, when the weather is better! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillibetisqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review, I am glad the team greeted you like a long lost friend... as you are one!
We hope to see you later in the year when the weather is better - fingers crossed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Property: Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing