We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Just to say thank you to all at the Staybridge for looking after me. I have had many stays at the Staybridge, and always received a warm welcome. Great rooms, good location and fantastic staff. A true home from home. If you are going to Newcastle, stay at the Staybridge!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichP739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thanks Rich, a great when we see a regular guest take the time to leave us a nice review - it means the world to the team. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were in Newcastle for a party and stayed here for one night. Close enough to the city and quayside to be convenient, but far enough away that we weren't disturbed by Saturday night revelers.
The ‘suite’ was immaculately clean and well presented and had a really comfortable bed. We didn't use the kitchen facility, but it was amazingly well equipped, with a 2 ring hob, microwave, dishwasher and all the crockery and utensils you could need for a short stay.
It’s not a luxurious hotel, it’s very ‘corporate’ and somewhat soulless to look at, but for a short stay, or for business travel it seems ideal. Good buffet breakfast, friendly, welcoming staff, and onsite parking as a bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellion2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Hi and thank you for your lovely review, we were ever so pleased you found our suites well equipped and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have always shied away from the more DIY serviced apartment type accommodation when staying only one night, but the Staybridge really worked for me on a recently flying visit to Newcastle. The location is good, only a short walk away from the Quayside and 10 minutes up into town, but still quiet enough no to be disturbed by traffic and late night revelers. The car park is safe and handy being right behind the hotel, with gated access and security cameras. our rooms was fantastic, well designed making good use of the space, with a separate sitting room and kitchenette. Comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and quite a relaxed air for a city centre hotel. 24/7 there is coffee and light refreshments available to help yourself in reception and a small shop if you feel the desperate need for a pot noodle or have forgotten your toothbrush. Breakfast was a better than expected help yourself buffet. Worthy of note has to be the housekeeping and the reception staff both of which where exemplary and often sadly lacking in busy city centre hotels. The only downside is that the Staybridge does not have any family rooms so next week when I return to Newcastle with my sister and 12 year old nephew we were faced with the option of either two rooms or staying in another property. We chose the latter and will be trying out the Ramada.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for your kind review Julie. It's hugely appreciated, and thank you for kind comments about our team - I will ensure these are passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is the first Hotel I try to book when i know i have to Travel to Newcastle for work or pleasure, from my first visit to the most recent i can't find anything wrong with the hotel (Serviced apartments), from the friendly staff who can't do enough to make you feel welcome, to the comfortable beds, choice of TV channels, managers reception (Tuesday-Thursday 18:30-19:30) or the fact the Hotel is of a very high standard but yet there are still planned improvements to freshen up the place, this is the first hotel that strives to improve at every opportunity rather than resting on its laurels!!!

I would highly recommend this Hotel to everyone (I do to any colleagues or friends who are coming to Newcastle and even those that aren't!!), and would like to thank the staff for their welcome time and time again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

I am very touched by this review and feel very proud of my team. I am so glad that you enjoy staying with us. It is great to receive such good feedback from our regular guests, we really do appreciate your kind words - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Had a lovely time at Staybridge. I have agonised on giving only three stars, the reasons are....

Cons:
This is not a hotel, but serviced apartments. There is no bar area to sit and have a wee drink. I really missed this. You can, however, buy drinks at reasonable cost from "the pantry", which is a self-serve shop in reception. For me, this didn't have the same appeal.

You need to request your room to be made up at weekends.

Breakfast was a bit basic, nice, but basic nevertheless. The only hot items were sausage, scrambled eggs, beans and hash browns. No bacon, tomatoes or mushrooms....??? There was tinned fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast and bagels if you fancied continental. No cold meats or cheeses....?? It's all self-serve in a small coffee area. Breakfast finished bang-on 10.30am, and all the muffins etc were whipped away.

The surrounding area was OK - right in the middle of "student land". It was really quiet tho, so that was a bonus.

Pros:
Lovely spacious rooms. Very nicely appointed with a mini kitchen.

The staff were nice.

All in all, we had a nice time, but would probably go for a proper 4* or 5* hotel next time. We didn't really need (or use) the kitchen facilities, and prefer a wider choice of breakfast items whilst treating ourselves to a weekend away. We could have stayed at the Indigo Hotel for slightly less money, which I believe is also in the Intercontinental chain, but was swayed by the Tripadvisor status of Staybridge Suites. I think this would have suited our needs better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mytrav3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to post one. We alternate our breakfast options between bacon and sausage and tomatoes or mushrooms daily however we will investigate the ham and cheese option. I am sorry that Staybridge Suites isn't the brand for you but I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again - we really do appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the mordern hotel & were greeted by very friendly staff. We had requested a high floor room facing the river. The view of the Tyne and the millennium bridge was fantastic. The room had many unexpected extras, like a dishwasher & a recliner sofa. The suite was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful and hot.
We were a short pleasant walk along the river to the city centre and some of the best restaurants in the Newcastle.
There was a good choice for breakfast and the little twenty four hour shop was very handy for forgotten items. A really enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your review, we really do appreciate your kind feedback! Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is a recentish addition to the Newcastle scene so everything is still new and shiny. I had only stayed in this style of hotel in the USA previously so it was delight as I really hate sitting on beds to watch the TV and you get sick of eating out with other people all the time.

The basic concept is that you have an upmarket mini-appartment complete with all the basic items you need in a kitchen.

The room was not one of the higher ones so no view to speak of but as the room itself was a delight this was no problem. For those who like windows to open these ones don't but even I could use the heating and ventilation system and it did what it was supposed to do quietly.

At first glance the area doesn't appear that fantastic as it's student accommodation land just up from the quayside but if you study a map you are within walking distance of the city centre, Jesmond and many of the delights of Newcastle thus allowing you to leave the car in the secure car park (£8/day) and relax. I was out and about pretty late at night and didn't feel at all on my guard.

Youngish staff were all pleasant and helpful. I can't comment on the sitting room or breakfast as I didn't partake.

I would recommend particularly if you were in a group and trying to keep people together.

Room Tip: If you want a view you need to be on the 6th floor, odd numbers but it really doesn't matter as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColumbusDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review for fellow travellers. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the team will also be delighted!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £73 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing