We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to this hotel, the first time was perfect so wanted to come back and boy god they did not disappoint!
From the moment we arrived I was blown away, AGAIN! even more so from the 1st time, the young lady on reception (Natalie) the supervisor was stood there with a beaming smile to greet us, she spent the time going through all the details of the hotel, the local area and restaurants, we ended up eating at the local Chinese restaurant the Orchid on the quayside it was superb, thanks for the recommendation Natalie! We went up to our room, had a stunning view, nice little touch in the room this visit also with wine, slippers cookies.....
Breakfast was super the following morning the foreign lady on breakfast, can't recall her name but think she was Polish was absolutely lovely, she spent time talking to the guests even when she looked like she was rushed off her feet, true asset to the hotel to have someone like that!
Check out was faultless, it was nice to see the same girl on check out as check in (Natalie) she asked us how our night was, (she new what we had done so it was nice that she could ask 'did you enjoy the meal') she asked if everything had been ok with out stay, could we recommend any improvements, what we were up to for the rest of the day, I see that as being a lovely touch, customer service all the way through to the end.
This hotel really has got it right, with staff providing customer service like these 2 ladies no wonder you are number 1 on Tripadvisor. Keep it up Staybridge, we will be back.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticklepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    228
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
160
590
74
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

So i booked this hotel on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and it lived up to expectations.
I stayed from Thursday through to Sunday in late November as a quick getaway for the weekend, When we arrived, the Manager's Reception had just started and we literally dropped our bags off and came straight back to the lobby. If you stay in the week, this one occasion is a lovely end to the working day. Had lots of drinks and cheese and crackers! Great staff on hand too!
The room was good, well furnished and nicely put together. Only downside was the lack of being able to open a window.
On a special note, big thanks to Craig the Manager. On the second night, our toilet decided to refill itself with sewage and was a bit of a state. One phone call and a few hours later, all was sorted and a bottle of wine chucked in as well to apologise! Nice touch pal!

Long story short, great place to stay, convenient for the town and everything is walking distance.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Baltic on the 6th floor are the ones to go for apparently, but we couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drmike85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to Craig, he will be delighted that he delivered great service. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Our 5th visit to Staybridge in Newcastle and would not look anywhere else.15 minute walk from station, or ample on site parking. Clean, well fitted rooms and good breakfast. Staff are friendly, professional and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for choosing Staybridge Suites as your hotel of choice when visiting Newcastle - we really appreciate it! Thank you for your kind review too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Just spent two day here and it was fantastic. It's modern and very clean. Rooms bright big and very comfortable, with all cooking facilities available.
If I had one criticism it would be the air conditioning only went as low as 19 which was still very hot at night and no window which opens! I would definitely use this hotel group again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cc_barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that the air conditioning was not cool enough for you during your stay. We will look at our procedure for arrival guests and potentially put the air conditioning on earlier in the day to enable the system more time to cool down the room. Thank you for your feedback, without it we would not be able to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at the Staybridge Suites in Newcastle. Everything about it was perfect but what made it extremely special for us was the wonderful hospitality of the staff in particular Craig. We would definitely recommend the Staybridge. It was by far the best place we have stayed and we are big travellers!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and my Operations Manager Craig, he really is an asset to the company and he will be delighted that you felt he delivered a great customer experience. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This really is a great place to stay. It's in a great location, close to nice bars & restaurants and walking distance to the city centre. Room was lovely, very clean, nice complimentary toiletries. They have a drinks reception two or three nights a week where you can meet the manager and have one or two complimentary drinks and nibbles. Very welcoming. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Didn't have to pay for parking which was a bonus. Overall a faultless stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodgal1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Assessed as a total package, Staybridge Suites in Newcastle-upon-Tyne is the best serviced apartment property I have seen anywhere except Shanghai (where the luxurious Peninsula Shanghai Residences are in an incomparable class of their own). This is a big statement, considering that I am comparing Staybridge Suites Newcastle against highly rated serviced apartment properties of which I have had pleasant experience in Berlin, Vienna, Hamburg, London, Edinburgh, Seville, and other places that are far better-known as tourist destinations than Newcastle.
Staybridge Suites Newcastle is so good it could be the clincher as to whether many recreational and business travelers through the north of England stay in Newcastle at all.
The attractive features of this property include:
* Excellent apartment fitout. Good kitchenettes with late model, high quality appliances, including dishwasher and microwave/convection oven, and good cookware and tableware. Well laid-out bathrooms with bath, hand-held shower, and plenty of shelf and his-and-hers vanity space. Quality lighting throughout. Large flat screen TVs in both the sitting room and the bedroom.
* Reliable high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary to guests.
* A central guest laundry with banks of well-maintained late model washer-driers, available to guests 24/7 without additional user charges. This laundry arrangement can make short work of weeks of accumulated clothes washing.
* A central guest “pantry” available to guests 24/7 for purchase at reasonable prices of a large range of supermarket consumables, such as detergent, toiletries, frozen meals, and drinks.
* A well-equipped guest gym.
* Complimentary English and Continental breakfast buffet served in a spacious ground floor dining room.
* Secure undercover off-street car parking at the rear of the property, with easy ground-level access to reception.
* A quiet yet central location for most places of importance in Newcastle, whether driving or walking. Trendy restaurants and bars on the Tyne Quayside, and the Millenium Bridge, are just five minutes walk away. The Sage, Newcastle’s £70million new cultural venue, on the Tyne south bank, is only about 20 minutes walk away via the Millenium Bridge. In the other direction. Northumbria University is about 10 minutes walk, and the main downtown shopping area around Northumberland and Pilgrim Streets is about 15 minutes walk. Nearby, a local supermarket is just two minutes walk away, west in Buxton Street. Several restaurants are within a block or two.
* Very effective management and staff reflect the highest standards of the global InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG) of which Staybridge Suites is a brand. I have never met a more energetic or affable manager of a serviced apartment property than Craig, Operations Manager of Staybridge Suites Newcastle. Only top hotel managers put as much effort as he does into keeping an eye on detail of running and condition of the property at every hour of the day, getting to know guests and making them welcome, as he does by hosting receptions for guests three times a week.
Staybridge Suites Newcastle is a rare thing, accommodation with no significant faults I can find. It gets a full five stars from me, and recommendations alike to tourists, business travelers, and academic visitors needing to be anywhere within half a day drive of Newcastle-upon-Tyne. It is the first Staybridge Suites property I have stayed at. I will be looking for this brand again as a result of my very pleasant stay in Newcastle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gato188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review regarding Staybridge Suites. I am so very proud to be General Manager of this hotel especially when I read such kind feedback about my team and my hotel. Thank you very much, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Property: Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing