We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and rare find, loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were in town for the weekend as I had hospitality at Newcastle United on last Saturday and also we were meeting friends for a meal on the Friday.

I saw it was number one rated on trip advisor and we were not disappointed.

We booked a king suite which comprised of a separate living room with a sofa and a leather recliner. A fully fitted kitchen, separate spacious bedroom with the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept on. Lovely bathroom also.

I am from The North East but we now live in Scotland so it was great to have a view of the Tyne and Millennium bridge out of your window.

I am really bad with names but the young man that I spoke to on the phone earlier who was on reception could not have been more welcoming and friendly, he made our check in quick and easy. The young girl also on duty during our check in was very nice.

This is the first time I have booked a place like this which is all suites and not a hotel and I have to say it was so much better.

The Welcome Home sign on the entrance is a nice touch and I can see what the designer of the place had in mind. The shop which was nicely called the pantry was open 24 hours of the day, which had everything you need. There was also a quiet den, as well as a living room to sit and eat or have a coffee.

As we enjoyed out time in Newcastle to the max, we never managed to get to breakfast which was a shame as we had a glimpse of it the morning we left and it looked fantastic, but as we run a pub and restaurant ourselves we had to get back on Sunday for our carvery.

We met the manager in the morning who was a nice guy and also the girl who checked us out was very friendly.

Special mention to the night reception guy Peter. As we came in late from being out I recognised him right away as he used to work with me on a holiday park way back in the 90's He was just as friendly and a good guy as I remembered.

As well as having the pub I also work in the UK holiday park industry so I am acutely aware of good service and bad service. If you are the manager reading this then please congratulate your self and most of all your team as everyone I met from reception to the cleaners said hello, smiled and were great.

Love the place, i will recommended to anyone I know staying in Newcastle and we have found our new home in Newcastle whenever we return.

Room 409 great

Room Tip: 409 We had, a King Suite and really nice with good view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddyC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
There are newer reviews for Staybridge Suites Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Staybridge for the weekend with 4 other friends, we had 3 rooms between us. On arrival at 11.30am, we had expected to leave our bags and check in later but we actually got access to our rooms then and it was very straightforward. The building is very modern and the rooms, classed as suites, are spacious and finished to a high standard. The little kitchen would be useful for longer stays. The staff could not have done more for us, in fact I was overheard talking about a little noise I had heard with doors banging in the early hours and a member of staff nearby asked if everything had been ok and could they do anything/resolve. Apart from 20 mins of doors banging at the rooms were absolutely peaceful and provide a great nights sleep. Breakfast is quite casual but delicious and definitely worth the full price paid. Taxis are not required here as the centre of town is a max 10 minute walk away. I will most definitely stay here again when I am next in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahM0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

2nd time i have stayed at a Staybridge Suite, and really like the concept-it is in reality a self catering studio flat. What really impressed me was the room and bathroom are designed so that they can be used by infirm and/or disabled guests. The hotel itself is 5 minutes walk from the Quayside area and about 15 minutes walk from the city centre. Car parking is available on site. The breakfast is the same as those served at a Holiday Inn Express, and I found it was fine for my needs. My girlfriend loved it, and wants to return for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Visited the Staybridge Suites Newcastle for family gathering in March 2014; really pleasantly surprised by the quality and service offered - never tried this hotel brand before but would do so again without question.

Although we stayed for leisure purposes, the room would also be perfect for business / longer trips as the kitchen area really helps make the room feel more like an apartment. They just need to open more hotels like this in the UK!

Staff very attentive and helpful - not that we had any issues at all. Perfectly located for Quayside and Newcastle city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenjcarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I really can't recommend this place highly enough. The rooms are great, the price is fantastic and the care and trouble that the staff go to to make you feel welcome is outstanding. Each room is a small apartment and the whole place has a very homely feel. I loved the breakfast arrangement, which is a buffet but like being at home and everyone helps out and gets stuck in. Great experience can't wait to go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We states here for our wedding night as we had out reception a short walk away. One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in.

Staff are lovely and very helpful. We arrived in the early hours of the morning and received homemade cookies on arrival. 24hr coffee machine was great for a late night got chocolate.

We we given a room on the 6th floor. The room was great and had perfect views of the quayside and bridges. Room was very clean and modern.

We couldn't fault the breakfast at all. For all the hot items are on a buffet basis we thought the breakfast was better than most hotels we have stayed in and thoroughly enjoyed it! Lots of items to choose from - sausages, scrambled eggs, hash browns, beans, toast, tea, coffee, juices, Yoghurts, pastries, muffins, hams, cheeses etc.

We had a lovely stay and would definitely stay in this hotel again!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank claireyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Saw the good reviews on Trip Advisor and thought it was worth a look. We were not disappointed. Friendly staff, clean room and a pleasant environment. The only small criticism would be that maybe the lounge area could do with a freshen up. However, I would gladly recommend it to anyone looking for a good central location in Newcastle.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Alialfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £72 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing