We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel but horrendous Hen Party Guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Southport
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel but horrendous Hen Party Guests”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked the Staybridge Suites because of they excellent rating, because they were a short walk to the City Centre and a short distance to the City Hall where Yes were performing in concert.
The rooms are spectacular in their size and practicalness.
They have a kitchen equipped with everything you might need for your stay.
Our downfall was the other guests on our floor.
They returned from the City around 2am and then till 6am were banging doors, knocking on door, shouting, laughing, arguing and generally being as antisocial and selfish as possible.

Room Tip: Any room that avoids a floor of Hen Party Guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    233
    34
    6
    6
See reviews for
171
617
74
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my first stay at any Staybridge Suites and I was impressed. The quality of accommodation was high, very quiet rooms with plenty of equipment. If you are staying all week, these suites are just the ticket! My only two gripes were that it wasn't clear when i booked that VAT was not included in the price shown ( a big shock!) and the foam pillows provided just let the whole feeling of comfort down a notch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner on the Sunday of the Bank Holiday Weekend. The staff were lovely and welcoming the apartment was spotless! Great lay out in the suite and everything you could possible need in the kitchen if you wanted to cook yourself a meal. The views were fantastic overlooking the Bridges on the Tyne. Bed was more than comfortable and the shower amazing! Only a 10-minute walk into the city centre, or two minutes from Newcastle Quayside. They also have a great little pantry if you forgot anything or want a snack when you get back from a night out. The complimentary breakfast was delicious with everything from bagels to a cooked breakfast, all the juices you could think of and great coffee!! A fantastic place to stay either for a weekend break or for business will definitely be back soon !

Room Tip: Ask for a River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed on a Sunday night. The accommodation is 5 minutes walk from the Quayside waterfront. Nice quiet location. Reception extremely helpful and friendly. The studio suite was superb. It had a two seater settee, good sized kitchenette with full size frigde/freezer and dishwasher. Spotlessly clean and extremely comfy bed. Bathroom had a good size walk in shower and plenty of shampoo/soaps etc. A great place to saty at a very reasonable price. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

In Newcastle as a solo I needed a place near the quays to visit the Baltic and the Sage. Staybridge has fitted the bill perfectly. Beautiful view of both from my suite. Easy walk to Newcastle station and Gateshead. I like the catering facilities and other home comforts as being on my own I tend to be in in the evening; just missed having a bath although the en suite is very nice. I really like the breakfast as not really a cooked breakfast person. The fresh orange juice and fruit salad and yogurt suit me fine. I also found the staff really friendly....can't wait for my next visit :)

Room Tip: I was early, just after 12 but checked into my room straight away. What a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have stayed here several times when taking our son back to a University, an oversight that I haven't reviewed before. We like two guest houses further out of the city and tend to stay there generally, but if we want to be close to the city centre for an evening out then this is our favoured hotel.

Plenty of parking at rear of hotel and a short walk to the lobby area. Best aspects of this hotel are the reception staff and the rooms. We cannot fault the staff who have greeted us and checked us out on each occasion. One gentleman, I believe his name is Jason is particularly pleasant and appears to really enjoy his job.

Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. We like the access to a kitchen area and facilities although we have never stayed long enough to use them fully, but a fridge, clean glasses and a bottle opener and cutlery and crockery for a light meal are much appreciated. Seating and a coffee table by the TV are useful if you want to get some work done, or just relax, there is a breakfast bar surface with plenty of plugs if you want to sit at it to use a laptop.

Only tiny niggle was at breakfast this time, scrambled egg, sausage, hash brown and a few mushrooms as hot items, which as a vegetarian was a bit dry, some beans or tomato would be nice and I think I recall them being there in the past? There are plenty of cereals, pastries, bread and fruit options so that helps. Toasters are slow so I would recommend getting your toast or bagel in first and then keeping an eye on the toaster while you assemble the other food and drink items. There are big fridges with lots of juice, water and different types of milk. Nice to see these items being kept chilled throughout the breakfast buffet time, rather than left to warm over several hours as I have seen elsewhere.

We have walked back to this hotel after visiting Brewdog in town with our son but the taxis in Newcastle are very reasonably priced and our usual option. Do be aware they get very busy in an evening so it may be best to book a return or be prepared for a long wait at peak times.

The Staybridge has a little shop area for late night munchies if you are inclined, wines and beers too. We use this occasionally, but with some forethought you have plenty of fridge and kitchen space in your room to stock up at a supermarket and that would certainly be an option if we were staying more than one night. If you were working in town temporarily and needed a base to live and work from I think this would be perfect.

In summary, a great location near the city centre, it doesn't have the amazing cooked breakfast of Hedley Hall where we have stayed on a dozen or more occasions, but if you want a welcoming and comfortable stay near Newcastle centre this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Avoid room next to the doors close to the lift on each floor, the rooms are generally nice and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FozzyCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
275 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

New, clean, roomy, good sleep and bath. Quick and nice staff on comfortable rooms with small kitchen appliances. Plenty breakfast for many tastes and ‘happy hour’ gathering with snacks, beer and wine. Only two small downsides for morning sleepers: curtains don’t block sunlight coming from top and reflex on the closet mirror (get the front-rooms to minimize that). Also in a busy day 12 room doors slanting in a corridor may be a problem. There is a mid-way door to minimize that but that was always open. Management could do something.

Room Tip: If you are a late bird use ear plugs, the neighbors doors start slanting early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwideleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Property: Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing