We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely brilliant setup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Conwy, Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“absolutely brilliant setup”
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We had a great welcome from Caterina and Steph, who physicaly showed us around.
Our suite consided of mini kitchen, microwave, dishwasher, cooker & fridge together with all pots,crockery etc too. beautiful room and ensuite. Bed was comfortable too. And theres more! Laundry room, gym, Den/library with books to read and/or swop. Breakfast areas we were able to use if we had a takeaway rather than our room, so we could meet people as well. Lounge areas trendy but comfortable. They even have a pantry where you can buy what you need as well as ready meals to cook yourself. we stayed two nights but would have loved to stay longer. Paul and Natilee were also very helpful. In all a very friendly place. We had planned to go out for a meal on our first night but loved the place so much, reception staff ordered a chinese meal for us to eat in. 10 stars!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poodleward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    233
    34
    6
    6
See reviews for
171
620
74
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

This is so relaxed and welcoming, the staff are very very helpful and friendly without being intrusive. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The whole service is well thought through and works. This is one of my favourite hotels in the world! Seems too much of a claim? - well I'm not that well travelled! We have stayed in beautiful hotels in Hong Kong, Shanghai and Xiamen and some luxurious ones here in the UK and I would put this up with the best of them

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScalliwagToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I am not sure I would say this is the best hotel in the city or rave quite as much as others have, but it was certainly good. The room was really nice, especially the bed. The location was pretty good too.

The main negative point was the breakfast: really disappointing and very unorganized and chaotic!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

loved everything about the staybridge everything was perfect carnt praise the hotel enough friendly staff, great breakfast and very clean modern room great views simply perfect.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starfruitmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

The clock on the flat screen TV in the bedroom was seven minutes fast. That's the only thing I can say to criticise Staybridge. Everything else was almost too good for words.

We wanted accommodation to suit me, the wife and our teenage son when we visited our middle son at University.

The suite comprised a roomy sitting room/kitchenette, seperate double bedroom and bathroom. To say there is everything you could possibly need during the stay would be an understatement.

Clean, modern, excellent quality, free and fast WiFi with helpful and friendly staff.

It's a long slog from Lincolnshire to Newcastle but now we know about the Staybridge I'll be happy to visit our student son. I've thought of another criticism: there are only two Staybridge Suites in the UK (Newcastle and Liverpool) there should be more - I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyamaropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

I stayed here with my wife as we were visiting her hometown on her birthday.
The guy at check in noticed it was her birthday and upgraded us to a room with a great view towards the Tyne bridge etc which she really enjoyed waking up to and made the visit a bit special.
The area the hotel is in is a tad distant from the city (20 minute walk) and not overly picturesque. It does cater towards longer stay business clients I would say but it was very well appointed. The plumbing in our room (603), was quirky and after each flush of the wc the cistern "banged". The shower had one of those "slow draining" features which left you standing in a puddle of water and the refillable shampoo/soap dispensers had nowhere to be placed in the cubicle leaving no option but to put on the shower floor! Breakfast was ok if not a little hectic. The toaster did not work and staff apologised for this .On check out I was met with an "extra £8.00 charge" for parking which was not evident or indicated on my booking process and I don't think that kind of thing should be a surprise! (maybe you have to search to find it?) There is a graded charge (gets cheaper for longer stays) sign which is shown on exiting the car park but not entering!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basalt2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

An excellent place to stay - great location, and a very relaxing way of doing things. Really enjoyed having space, and the facilities to suit ourselves. Drinks reception after work is a great idea, as is being able to take your breakfast back to bed with you. They have a little shop behind reception that sells food and drink, and there's a supermarket just up the road. It's very handy for the Quayside restaurants and bars, and not too far into the town centre itself. Staff were helpful and friendly, and quick to sort things out when needed (our electricity tripped a couple of times). Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criticalhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Property: Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing