We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspiring, but Efficient and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Think Holiday Inn Express with small self catering suites and you will have the idea.

Modern, comfortable, but nothing special.

There is no restaurant and the breakfasts are very average, with dry croissants and what appeared to be scrambled egg made from dried egg powder. Also on Sunday morning the breakfast staff could not cope. It was difficult to find a table and people were eating toast out of bowls and spreading jam with spoons, because lack of clean utensils.

Well located for the Quayside and only a short walk to the city centre.

All the hotels in Newcastle seem expensive for what they are and this is no exception.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

The hotel is a little way out of town in a residential area. Unfortunately Newcastle is not car friendly, full of parking restrictions, complex road systems and bus lanes that crop up everywhere. This makes driving for the visitor dangerous as your concentration is taken up trying to make sure you are not fined. As regards the hotel this presents a problem. There are lots of wide, little used roads surrounding it that have yellow lines. So the hotel makes money by charging for parking. Go by public transport? The roads that lead into the town centre have no parking, so there's only one shop in the neighborhood. All the new housing in the area is gated with their own underground parking. So nobody walks these roads, not even to step outside to their car. It was fine for us in June as we returned to our room in daylight but I would recommend this hotel in the darker months.

The room was spacious with an excellent shower and comfortable beds, good quality comfortable beds. The only downside to the room was that the windows do not open, no ventilation at all. The corridor had a new carpet smell, the carpets are a year or two old but there's no ventilation even in the corridor. The rooms have a small kitchen area, the fridge can be handy. Thankfully nobody had actually used the kitchen, with no ventilation the room would stink like hell, best to only stay here when it has low occupancy so that you can get a room change if necessary.

Breakfast was basically what you now get at a Holiday Inn Express but with real orange juice which was nice. We got a two for one offer and paid £58 per night which was about right.

If you are planning on visiting Newcastle I recommend staying more central and perhaps just for one night rather than two nights further out.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Stayed one night for a family birthday celebration in Newcastle. Booked a studio room and found it to be roomy and comfortable with a sofa, small kitchen and a nice bathroom with power shower. Parking was charged at £8 for a night.

The only negative point was that the hotel was extremely busy and the self service breakfast on Sunday morning was a bit manic. After we had helped ourselves to hot food, we found there were no free tables and no cutlery available.

However, overall we were pleased with the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophiecat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I stayed on a Saturday night with a mate as we were visitng a friend in newcastle for our first time. I was simply expecting a standard style apartment however when we entered our room I was shocked by the size, decor and quality. The Kitchen area was fab with lots of space & storage. Fridge, Microwavable oven and even a dishwasher!! Our bathroom was spacious and the bed was so comfortable I was late checking out. Everything about the room was great. The hotel is a little out of the centre but only takes about 5mins in a taxi. There is also a mini supermarket down the road so you can grab some essentials although the hotel does have it's own shop. I have nothing negative to say about the hotel and I will definately be returning.
P.S Staff at the hotel were great, always happy to help

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dupeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed here for 1 nite. Great business hotel. Good value. Very clean and comfortable. Staff service was very good and very friendly. Good selection for the breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgraced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

stayed for two nights while visiting family, had a great time and will stay here again, however one snag is that the hotel charged £16 to park for two nights.
anyway everything else was perfect

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoddcouple69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Great place to stay. Very comfortable, good location and clean. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £75 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing