We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2010

stayed two nights here. Was impressed with the location...easy to find and within walking distance of the town centre and River Tyne.
Secure car park at the rear....but you have to pay extra.....I wish they wouldn't do that.
Check in a breeze...friendly efficient staff.
Rooms very new, modern and clean. Great for the two night stay, but would also be good for longer. The room had a fully equipped kitchenette..including dishwasher.
We didn't use any of the gear, but ideal if you are staying for a long time or on a budget.
Breakfast was included in the price. Good choice of cereals, toast, and limited hot selection. All food was of a good quality. Kelloggs cereals etc.
Monday to Friday was managers welcome nights with free beer, wine, cheese and biscuits. Again good quality stuff and loads of it.
Hotel has free wifi throughout.
Good stay...no complaints...would we recommend it...Definately.
I give it straight fours...so in my book that is excellant...I seldom give fives...as no matter how good the hotel...I believe you can always find ways to improve

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreakfastkingHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
There are newer reviews for Staybridge Suites Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2010

Our family of two adults and two young children stayed at a one-bedroom suite for one night. The suite was nice, modern and well equipped, though quite cramped and uncomfortable for a party with more than two people. As a previous poster mentioned, the sofa bed sank in the middle and made creaking sounds easily. Also one must access the bathroom through the bedroom which means disdurbing and no privacy for the guests sleeping in the bedroom.

Other negatives are 1. we had requested a suite with views upon booking but were given one looking out to the parking lot; 2. parking charge of £8 even though the hotel wasn't busy and the parking lot was quite empty the entire time; and 3. Staybridge was the only hotel chain out of the 11 accommodations of our 3-week UK trip that quoted room rates exclusive of VAT. Upon checkout the total added up to quite a bit higher and was not the bargain as it seemed.

The complimentary WIFI and laundry facilities were nice to have, and we used the small gym which had a few good quality equipment. The breakfast was okay and the hotel had a pleasantly casual and relaxed atmosphere, Overall we would recommend the place if you can get a good bargain (considering VAT and parking charges) and there are no more than two people staying at the suite.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

superb attention to detail during my six week stay. The whole atmosphere at StayBridge Suites is very friendly, relaxed and customer focussed. I was particularly impressed by the teamwork and camaraderie shown by all staff who assist each other during busy periods e.g. Sunday breakfast when everyone on the front desk was helping in the kitchen/serving area!

The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and well maintained – definitely a ‘home from home’ feel which you don’t get when staying in a normal hotel room. Also the mattress is good and firm (excellent for anyone that suffers with back problems) and the towels were always fresh and soft.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the wonderful city of Newcastle. The location of StayBridge Suites is excellent, with easy access to the Quayside area of the city and all it has to offer. Tthe QuayLink electric bus service (nearest stops on Sandgate/Quayside) is witihin 5 minutes walk and provides travel into and around the city centre or across the Gateshead side of the river – the regular 10 minute service is just so handy, particularly if you are disabled.

Walking to the City Centre is no more than 10 minutes from the hotel.
The hotel has its own car park (charges apply) but on the road to the side of the hotel is free parking all day whilst outside the htoel is a single yelow so free parking out of office hous also applies.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I stayed with my family at this hotel at the beginning of Aug and found their secure car park great value at £5.00 per night staying three nights. Warm, relaxed check-in (and check-out) from Natalie on reception offering complimentary teas and coffees 24 hours of the day, honesty shop offering everyday essentials, complimentary laundry facilities, free use of the gym, hot and cold breakfast in with the price and a manager's reception Tues, Wed and Thurs from 6.30pm until 7.30pm offering wines, beers and nibbles while guests gather together - again complimentary. Absolutely brilliant. There is also a den that guests can use to read quietly, complimentary daily newspapers, flat screen tvs and the guest rooms were fab. Our rooms had a microwave, dishwasher, hob, fridge and excellent bath and shower room. 5 mins from quayside, enjoyed half price menu at The Slug and Lettuce on Mondays and meal and soft drink only £5.00 at The Pitcher and Piano Mon-Fri, both located on thequayside. Would look no where else if wondering where to stay next time you are visiting Newcastle.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yugoslavia1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My family and I spent three nights at the Staybridge suites. I was very impressed with the standard of the rooms, including the fixtures and the cleanliness, and immediately felt comfortable. It is not typical of a hotel as there is no restaurant or bar, but you are welcome to use the seating areas downstairs, enjoying free coffee/tea or bringing down your own drinks. We did this and even ordered in takeaway one evening,eating in this area, and provided our own drinks etc. This suited us perfectly as we had been out all day, the kids didn't want to eat out in yet another restaurant, and we could all relax knowing all we had to do was go upstairs to our room. We found the staff friendly and approachable.

My only criticisms would be that yes the bed settee was uncomfortable but fine for kids (and actually if you're that bothered then you should probably pay more to get additional bedrooms) and breakfast on the Saturday was very busy. However, we still managed to get a table and this was minor, no affecting our overall experience.

The location of the suites was fine - good restaurants on the Quayside and a short walk into town. Unfortunately I was very disappointed in Newcastle - one visit was enough and we did daytrips outside of Newcastle after that - so I am unlikely to stay here again (but wouldn't hesitate if going back on business). I am just disappointed that there are only 2 Staybridges in the UK to my knowledge and am hoping that there are plans to expand.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Hotel ok but not worth the extra when you have premier inns and holiday inns. My son could not sleep on the sofa bed as it sunk in the middle and creaked everytime he moved. I mentioned this to reception.
Location seems to be in resedential area but not a long walk into town.
Managers reception and breakfast were ok.
Should have saved money and booked 2 rooms in a premier inn as more room and comfy beds.
Will not be back

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDREABURNTISLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I read the reviews and did not expect it to live up to expectations, but it superseded them!!! The staff were efficent, friendly and helpful.

The concept of a hotel with your own facilities is great! The beds so comfortable and everywhere clean.

Breakfast was excellent, the choice of food with in such a relaxed style just added to the experience. The permanent coffee machine a great idea.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £72 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing