We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Godfather!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Godfather - CLOSED

The Godfather
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Godfather!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

This was always a favourite tea time restaurant after late night shopping however I was disappointed that it appears to have been stuck in a time warp and rested upon its laurels.

The choice of the Happy Hour menu was limited yet reasonably priced.

The bruschetta starter was average but the lengthy wait between starter and main course was totally unacceptable. The staff failed to acknowledge the service and infact seemed totally blase.

The cost of a glass of house rose was £5.80 ...would have been more economical to order a bottle perhaps???

The dining experience was a huge disappointment with bland food and dreadful service.

There are other Italian restaurants in Newcastle that deserve our custom more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    41
    37
    59
    158
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Needs new staff and chef”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

My friend and I went here for a meal after a shopping trip.Its always had great recommendations in the past..but thats where they stay.We ordered (had to ask for it) from the £7.95 happy hour special menu for 2 courses.Potato skins to start and some chicken dish with veg for mains.The starter came quite quickly and was average but we waited over an hour for the main course.We did ask where our food was only to be told `Its busy`.Staff were very slow and liked standing around with hands behind backs.Maybe one or 2 should have gone into the kitchen to help the chef! The mains were disappointing.The veg was tinned sweetcorn! Because of the delay in food we had a 2nd glass of house wine each (nearly £6 a glass) which bumped our bill up enormously.Nearly £24 for wine alone! Next time I dine out I will ask the price of wine per glass! We did not tip and left disappointed.Will not go back (like alot of others that were complaining about the time the food took)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharronw357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton le Spring
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As bad as expected.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Went on a Sunday evening with a large party (14) through Groupon and the service was good, but that is about all unfortunately.
I have eaten at many Italian restaurants and this is by far the worst one I have been to it saddens me to say. The quality of the food was a disgrace and if it wasn't for the fact that this was a celebratory meal, we would have walked out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 787Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant I've ever been to!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Ugly place, awful atmosphere, seated at the worst possible table and terrible food. Ostracized because we didn't have a voucher, god forbid we pay full price?! £6 for a 175ml glass of red wine. The least we expected from an Italian restaurant is good pasta and pizza. The garlic bread we had as a starter was vile; the dough was stodgy and inedible, when the same dough arrived for my ham and mushroom pizza, I was devastated, only this time they had topped it with cubes of dog food instead of ham, physically repulsive. The tortellini was nothing more than poorly cooked, supermarket value rubbish. Awkwardly, the waiter stood by our table as we attempted to force down what they had given us. Could not leave any quicker, and will definitely never return. Please, stay away!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Myself and my husband purchased a money off voucher for this restaurant and had looked forward to it. We had a table booked for 6pm and arrived ten minutes early. After been seated we ordered our starters and had a wait of about an hour. The food was awful we had another hour to wait for our main course which was luke warm and worse than a microwave meal. The staff were unfriendly standing around not clearing tables and very unprofessional. To top it off our voucher entitled us to a starter and main course which we had, two drinks each and we were given a bill for £22.95. Would definately NOT recommend this place avoid it like the plague.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Godfather also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing