We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grim” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rooms Inn
U.K.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grim”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

From the photos on the website this hotel looks very nice and modern. When you arrive though it's a different story. They only show the modern reception area on the website and not the old building where the majority of the rooms are situated. Our room was very poor, shabby, phone socket not attached to the wall. The beds were awful, very small for a double and the mattress was so old and soft. It felt like sleeping on a bag of broken springs. Only one pillow each and flat as a pancake. They obviously don't show you pictures of the bathrooms for a reason. They seriously need updating, so old and badly fitted. On the plus side the shower had lots of pressure. Towels look like rags and are falling apart. Batteries in the TV remote didn't work. Windows don't open more than a crack. Walls are paper thin so you can hear guests easily in next rooms. We were woken most nights by drunk people shouting or arguing in the hallways. Staff seemed friendly though, I'm sure they do their best with what they have. The owners need to invest some money back into this place though. Just because it's cheap it shouldn't be this bad quality. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0ZHIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chgmarketing, General Manager at Rooms Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We wanted to say thank you for leaving this review. The hotel and the company that owns it had a meeting after August and reviewed all the comments guests were leaving good and obviously bad.

As a budget hotel room rates are often very competitive this means that improvements have to be well considered. However, this should never be an excuse to provide poor amenities or poor accommodation. We have improved our daily cleaning procedures and hired extra staff to ensure the highest levels of cleanliness are adhered to.

In response to these comments the owners committed to an extensive refurbishment programme including replacing beds, carpets and re-tiling bathrooms etc. Our superior rooms are situated in the newly built section of the hotel which obviously benefits from the fact they were purpose built. We are striving therefore to make our standard rooms much more comfortable with the same amenities that are available in the superior ones.

Again, we are a budget hotel offering an inexpensive and well located option for business and social travellers. Finally we were really happy to have been awarded "Most Improved Hotel 2012* *LateRooms.com" so we'd like to think our reaction to poor reviews has been well recieved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    142
    85
    33
    46
See reviews for
24
137
43
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

okay .. so me and my friend stayed here for a girlie weekend. We got a taxi from the bus station to this hotel and the taxi driver questioned why we were staying here as it was a very rough area and warned us not to walk about especially at night always get a taxi. After hearing this me & my friend were a bit worried. We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by a not so friendly lady who gave us our keys and told us where our room was, we were on the top floor & this hotel does not have a lift after struggling with our cases we entered our room which was actually okay clean in some areas although our bottled water was not fresh and was actually half full. Our room looked over on to a council estate and a park which could only be described as in the middle of a "ghetto". all we could hear was arguing, children screaming and constant police cars.

after settling in we got ready for a night out, please take your own iron as the iron provided is terrible, we got taxis to and from the hotel. The night porter was lovely and very friendly.

i do not reccomend this hotel for anyone i wouldnt even let me dog stay here, if your looking for a cheap place to stay and willing to risk your safety then this is the place to go! otherwise i would not reccomend. the hotel is spilt into 2 areas although we choose the superior rooms they werent exactly "superior"

Room Tip: no tips except do not go !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoloo1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I was shocked when my friend was refused entry to the hotel even though I paid for dual occupancy. I would avoid this hotel at any cost!!!! The concierge was extremely harsh towards my friend as he had just returned from Afghanistan on a six month tour and didn't expect inhospitable behaviour.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slucas1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were staying in Newcastle for the weekend and chose this inn because of its proximity to the city centre. Check-in was quick and the room looked nice enough. The room featured a modern bathroom and furnishings and a flat screen TV. Unfortunately, the lack of air conditioning combined with hot weather made the room temperature uncomfortable. There was no mini-bar available either, and drinks sold at reception are unrefridgerated.

Our room was situated right above the Inn's entrance, facing the parking lot. We got a lot of noise from partygoers coming and going during the night, loitering about the entrance and smoking beneath our window. Also, our neighbouring guests took a particular liking to making loud phone calls in the middle of the night. I did not get a good night's sleep.

Considering the average quality of this Inn, I think the price we paid for a Friday & Saturday night (£ 125 for one room, booked directly via their website) is a bit steep. I would not recommend going here unless you are indeed planning to go out until the early hours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building (not facing the parking lot/entrance) are probably more quiet than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was a very adequate hotel, that offered little in luxury but was by no means poor quality. It was a steal of a price (£35 per night) and was on the doorstep of Newcastle College where I was visiting. The room was comfortable with a new flat screen TV, and a tidy bathroom, and a reasonably comfortable bed. Nothing bad to be said considering the value of the hotel. It really was good value.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor in July 2013 when we were in the midst of a heatwave, I would recommend a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWHomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chgmarketing, General Manager at Rooms Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks for leaving us a review, we're happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that as a budget hotel we aim to provide the best service possible at extremely affordable rates. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Me and three friends stayed at the rooms inn because of it's location. We thought it was a fantastic deal until we arrived. Our room had mold, damp, dust, stains and rubbish.
For asthmatic and hayfever sufferers the cleanliness of the twin rooms were completely unacceptable. After looking at our room we returned to reception to complain and asked a member of staff to come to the room so we could show them all the issues but apparently there was only one member of staff in the whole hotel and she couldn't leave the desk. We had no apologies for the inconvenience and no thank you's for the feedback we gave. We were given two room keys to see if either would suit our needs, as it was getting late we chose the cleanest room however the standards was still poor!
I grudge paying the amount i did and would not recommend that anyone pays more than a max of £40 for this hotel, it is NOT worth your money, health and there are far better budget hotels nearer to the center.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ISE93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chgmarketing, General Manager at Rooms Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We just wanted to retrospectively respond to this review and inform guests that we always strive to provide the best possible cleanliness throughout the entire hotel.

This issue was dealt with at the time and resolved quickly. We immediately took action to improve our cleaning duties and employed an extra member of cleaning staff. More recent comments reflect these improvements and we again apologies for this guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penistone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Recently visited the "Toon" for a concert and booked this place. Only a 10 minute walk from the city centre so away from all the racket but not miles away. The place is basic but clean and functional and is ideal for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert_Chateframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Inn

Property: Rooms Inn
Address: 40 West Parade | off Westmorland Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 7LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rooms Inn Hotel has 53 bedrooms and is located only 10 minutes walking distance from Newcastle Upon Tyne's busy city centre. Extremely popular with business and leisure guests you'll find us set slightly back off Westmorland road in the residential area just a stone's throw from Newcastle College's brand new futuristic buildings. If you are looking for FREE parking and a peaceful night's sleep but still want quick access to Newcastle's world famous night life then there are few budget hotels to rival the location of The Rooms Inn Hotel. We're minutes away from everything you'll need from the Metro Radio Arena, Eldon Square, Central Station, Centre of Life and of course all of Newcastle's infamous bars, clubs & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rooms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing