We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dark Hole Of Calcutta!”
Review of Rooms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rooms Inn
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Dark Hole Of Calcutta!”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

If you want a nightmare experience then go to Rooms Inn. If you're lucky you'll get some free surprises as well such as woodlice crawling on the bed (something I was greeted with the moment I entered the room!), unclean linen, dirty floors and bathroom. To add to your nightmare experience you'll find the atmosphere of the place and the overall conditions depressing and staff that equals both! Needless to say, I refused to stay and after spending almost one hour trying to get a refund, was denied this and also a receipt by a very arrogant and uncompromising manager. Had to book another hotel and eventually got to bed after 2.00 am. I don't know how they can call this a hotel - IT'S MORE LIKE A HOVEL! THE PLACE SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN ON HEALTH AND SAFETY GROUNDS ALONE!!

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SMTucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    147
    86
    35
    47
See reviews for
25
141
44
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Dirty, worse than a third world hotel, staff hopeless manager compared to a chief of police of a third world country, no refund and no receipt this would be a thing for health and safety department as well inland revenue and tourism office of UK to care about this gives a very bad picture how UK is. To finish all the bad coments i could be keep making wouldn't demonstrate how bad this place is

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACPires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Dirty linen, dirty bathrooms, beds used with hair and pillows smelling of hair grease. Also, a woodlice crawling on one of the pillows upon arrival. No receipt upon request after paying and when asked for refund was told gthey only issue frefunds in the mornings. Next morning was refused refund. Manager was rude and arrogant! This hotel is absolutley the worse experience of my life. Eventually booked another hotel and got to bed at 2.00 am in the morning. For the price there are far better quality hotels as we found when we stayed in the second one we booked.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiago_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

nfortunatelly pillowcase was missing from my bedroom (room 139)second bed was twin and not set up , so dirty linen and cover left there for me to see it.
tv did not work, shower not checked from previous usage.
window handle broken,
not much interest by owner reading all this bad reviews , I do work in same business and I
can see how this hotel is managed.not recommended unfortunatelly.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FIANSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The worst hotel i've ever seen ok 4 what i wanted a bed after a night out that didnt cost the earth but for anything other than a drunken kip avoid at all costs the place is a s***hole

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goosey1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Rooms inn is by far the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The bedding and bathroom were clean, the floor in the room was absolutely filthy, Decor and furnishing were totally outdated and totally gross. The whole place stinks of mould and at one area in the main corridor a sky light is broken and cover over with a bit of plastic. The walls are paper thin and we were kept awake all night by someone chatting next door. We ended up giving up and checking out at 4 a.m. This only has one star as I can't submit the review without any at all. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bron1pick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

This is the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in.
I am a 19 year old student and was returning from a holiday in Corfu to Newcastle airport, as I needed to stay somewhere the night before travelling back down South to home, I stayed here as it was cheap, as I said before I'm only a student.
The outside of the building at first alarmed me as it was firstly in a rough area and looked like some sort of shabby flat block.
When entering the room itself the decor looked good in the bedroom part, but the carpet, curtains, mirrors were dirty and there was also chewing gum in the kettle, which is revolting.
Furthermore, there were hairs all over the sink in the bathroom and more dried chewing gum on the bathroom floor!
I also had to go down to reception myself to ask for towels which were missing on my arrival, it felt like someone had literally been in the room a few hours before me and they had only bothered to change just the bed linen (which also was not done well).
I eventually received my towels after a few hours, but everything went down hill further.
Next door I could hear a group of men shouting to each other, which was not great as I was tired from travelling that day and also screaming outside from surrounding areas.
I felt very unsafe and remained on the phone to family and friends most of the time, as one of the windows did not shut properly and I am only a 19 year old girl!
The nightmare was in the morning after leaving the hotel, when on the train back home I realised little itchy marks appearing on my legs. These have come right up since I have been at home for the last few days and after going to my doctor, I have been told they are flea bites, as they are all on my legs under the knee and nowhere else. I can confirm that I had absolutely no bites whatsoever when I left Corfu, so I know that these came from Rooms Inn as it was the day after that these itchy bites appeared.
I am so disgusted that I have ended up with around 50 bites on my legs (no exaggeration) when I'm meant to be showing off my nice tan from hoilday.
Thanks very much Rooms Inn for ruining the end of my holiday and please noone stay at this hotel, unless you want poor service, dirt and many, many flea bites!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myamrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.9 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,003 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Inn

Property: Rooms Inn
Address: 40 West Parade | off Westmorland Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 7LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rooms Inn Hotel has 53 bedrooms and is located only 10 minutes walking distance from Newcastle Upon Tyne's busy city centre. Extremely popular with business and leisure guests you'll find us set slightly back off Westmorland road in the residential area just a stone's throw from Newcastle College's brand new futuristic buildings. If you are looking for FREE parking and a peaceful night's sleep but still want quick access to Newcastle's world famous night life then there are few budget hotels to rival the location of The Rooms Inn Hotel. We're minutes away from everything you'll need from the Metro Radio Arena, Eldon Square, Central Station, Centre of Life and of course all of Newcastle's infamous bars, clubs & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rooms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing