We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend escape”
Review of Headley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Headley Hall
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Weekend escape”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked this as a weekend escape with the kids to Beamish and the Forbidden Corner at Leyburn. On arrival Brenda was warm and welcoming with us and they children. We were booked into room 3, ones of the family rooms, with large dual aspect windows over the gardens and surrounding scenery. The decor was tastefully quaint and the little touches including the bird spotting binoculars were fun. The beds were comfortable and the perfect haven after a busy day. The bathroom was a good high spec and the only criticism was the water pressure although that is not the fault of the hotel!

The room itself was a little warm for me but everyone was fine and an open window soon remedied the issue.

Breakfast the next day was well presented and clearly the ingredients were local and high quality.

We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 3 is spacious and has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
80
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, NZ.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed 5 nights in one of the cottages at Hedley Hall and 1 night in the house for bed and breakfast, and it was all fantastic. The cottage has really lovely decor, furnishings, excellent lay out, comfy beds, great kitchen, doors to outdoor seating and gorgeous views. Stayed with our 2 teenage sons, plenty of room for all. Everything was spotlessly clean. The location is excellent for all we wanted to see and do. The price represented incredibly good value, almost unbelievable for us with the exchange rate in our favour this trip. Thank you Brenda, you deserve your recognition from Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: The cottages are wonderful for families or 2 couples holidaying together. The B and B is great for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeeChChNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I made a mistake in my booking and was a day out. Luckily the lady of the house called us and changed our date without any worries. Then after mistakingly paying twice she called again to tell us she had returned the money to me.
Aside from that the house is fantsatic, clean, comfy and set in a pretty garden. The house is also very handy for Beamish museum. They have a few menus from local restaurants as well so you can eat out. We were given very useful advice on the best route to our next destination and that was spot on, it probably saved us an hour in traffic queues on the A1.
Overall it was a great experience and we will go back to this if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: We only saw one and it was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeCuthbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH COAST
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We spent one night at Hedley Hall at the beginning of our trip around the UK and Ireland. If only the beds were as good as the one we slept in here during the rest of our trip! A lovely spaceous room with lovely rural views, proper king size bed and clean ensuite bathroom.
Brenda recommended an Italian restaurant which i sadly cannot remember the name of, it was fantastic and not too far away - we were thankful for the good advise as we were badly in need of a decent feed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVJ805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Nights #6-9 of Our “Up North” Holiday

Very close car journey to the Metro Centre and to civilisation, but far enough out to truly feel that you are in a very rural setting – Hedley Hall is just that.

Wonderful views to the back of the Hall – you can see for miles! The bedroom and more so the bathroom (shower) was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good, perfectly cooked and enough to keep me going until early afternoon.

Very close to Beamish Open Air Museum, Angel of the North & Durham – a good base from which to enjoy the area.

Hopefully we will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M1BDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed one night at the end of May and had a lovely stay. Our hosts were very helpful and welcoming. Room had en-suite and was very comfortable with beautiful rural view. Breakfast was lovely with very good selection. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_NG_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Spotlessly clean, beautiful accommodation and friendly, professional hospitality. I am genuinely lost for words except to say that I will definitely return and heartily recommend this establishment. Breakfast was cooked exactly as requested. Very, very quiet so had an excellent nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebashstreetkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
0.4 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hedgefield House Hotel
Hedgefield House Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle upon Tyne
219 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Byermoor Guest House
East Byermoor Guest House
#4 of 23 in Newcastle upon Tyne
143 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riding Farm
Riding Farm
#3 of 10 in Gateshead
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headley Hall

Property: Headley Hall
Address: Headley Lane | Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Headley Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Headley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing