We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold meals and about 15 chips!”
Review of Slug and Lettuce

Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #367 of 1,267 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“cold meals and about 15 chips!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

ordered half a roast chicken and chips£10-45, the chicken was so small seen a bigger pigeon, the portion of chips was disgusting, about 15 chips and the meals were cold, i complained, the waitress went back to kitchen to report we wer'nt happy, she came back said that was the correct amount of chips but we could purchase more for an extra £1-00. not likely i said i would be writing with a complaint to the head office! my meal of steak in ciabatta bread was cold the bread burn't the chips stone cold and served on a wooden board! ooeeee wooden boards full of bacteria, avoid the meals in this place like the plague! this was friday 27th dec 2013. never again!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    186
    88
    61
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No good for veggies”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Good location - but it's vegetarian options seem like a throw back to the poor choices of 30 years ago!! Fine for carnivores but if you're a veggie, or if you have veggies in your party - go elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Modern but what a location”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Wandering a strange city , happened upon this pub on the quayside ,between two famous bridges. Enjoyed a beer amongst the young clientel , interestingly the local ales were good and one of the staff certainly knew his stuff on this subject.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happychap103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlederg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"MONDAY NIGHT HALF PRICE..HAPPY DAYS"”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We dined (informal) on a Monday night and all was very good,with a few drinks and a good variety of food,ribs,chicken steak etc..we were pleased with our menu.The staff did there duty and overall we really enjoyed ourselves...One major plus was that a Monday night is 50percent off and that only added to our pleasure..We will visit again on our return to Newcastle and would have no problem advising others to do the same.....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCRATCHCABSYEAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect choice!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I'd been looking for somewhere in Newcastle to have an informal get together with my work buddies, prior to my up and coming move away from the area and The Slug was the perfect choice.
Beautiful location on the quayside, stylish decor and excellent value for money early evening menu, in a reserved area of the comfortable restaurant - myself and friends enjoyed the evening very much.
My special thanks to all the staff, especially Kirsty and Jenny who looked after us all so well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junesouthshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slug and Lettuce also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing