We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slug and Lettuce

Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #331 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Not much to say really apart from the staff desperately need customer service training. The bar man was friendly but one particular female member of staff who was setting the tables really needs to stop working in the hospitality business. Appalling.

Helpful?
Thank MarieLynn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    180
    85
    54
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Monday special and still not worth the price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were taken to our seat that was right outside of the toilets everytime the door went ppl in and out not relaxing at all. Service was ok. Starters were nice and that's where it ended had an Italian chicken burger for main it was awful bun was brown seeded that all u could taste the Parma ham tasted disgusting the mozzarella cheese wasn't melted at all and all the water had made the bum soft and soggy and to top it off the chicken wasn't even a chicken breast more like reformed chicken very disappointing. Won't be returning!!

Helpful?
Thank Foxyibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallaroo
Level Contributor
252 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A great location particularly if you get a table overlooking the bridge. Lots of special deals to be had and menu choices. However the green Thai curry had little flavour and the pad Thai had little resemblance to any pad Thai that I've eaten anywhere in the world. The desserts were better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KathrynS400SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Can never ever fault this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I love the slug & lettuce. It is right located on the side of the tyne. The food menu choices are amazing theres so so much to choose from! The Service is fast & amazing. The interior inside is luxurious looking & the atmosphere is comfortable & laid back.

There are always deals on which is amazing value for money.

Food is always tasty & has a wide variety of different cultures of food.

On a Monday they have the famous 50% off food & drink bill which I LOVE! its so cheap I love it.

They also do 2-4-1 cocktails but i am not too sure which day this is on but its amazing.

I recommend checking their website to get the deals for certain days but this is great place to eat :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lunch with a friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I visited the bar for food with a friend and found the service very good. The waitress we had was very smiley and friendly. I had the chicken Slovakia which was chicken on skewers with humours and sour cream. This was very, very nice and I ate the whole lot. My friends food was also nice. As the weather was very sunny it was pleasant sitting near the window looking out onto the river.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slug and Lettuce also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing