We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of Cafe Royal

Cafe Royal
Ranked #232 of 1,269 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Three of us had lunch upstairs last week. My goats cheese with walnuts was one of the most beautiful plates of food I have ever had - worthy of a Masterchef final! It tasted gorgeous too. My friends had more traditional food, an open Caesar salad sandwich and soup: they both enjoyed it. Good range of drinks and smoothies and good coffee. Great service too. Smashing place to pop into when shopping in town. Class act.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    112
    56
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

we stumbled on this restaurant by chance. it is clean and airy but there is a buzz aout the place.y busy. the staff were very friendly and helpful. we had lunch-there was a great choice on the menu for a very relaxed meal. one of the waitresses was exceptionally good. we enjoyed it so much that we went there both days we spent in newcastle and i have no difficulty recommending it as a great place for lunch. the bread and olive oil with balsamic reduction was especially good

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Business Break”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Cafe Royal is in the heart if the wonderful city if Newcastle upon Tyne, just opposite the ancient but renovated Granger Market. The staff are exceptionally helpful. Very Professional and Extremely polite. From an early morning full English breakfast to an evening meal, with everything in between, Cafe Royal is always excellent value for money and a must from the hungry shopper to stranger in town. From the frequent visitor to the first time buyer. Go on spoil your self and indulge a little.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A really nice Saturday morning buzz when we visited. Excellent friendly service, faultless Eggs Benedict and a proper pot of tea.

Highly recommended for visitors who want breakfast somewhere other than the sterile, expensive atmosphere offered by most hotels.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peakschap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh food at its best.”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

This is a top spot for elevensies,before it really fills up at lunch time. Fresh juices to order are so good and make you feel slightly less guilty about devouring their delicious quiche.
Great value,delicious produce and excellent service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janynespeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Royal also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing