We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth a visit or 2 !”

Fujiyama Restaurant
Ranked #170 of 1,267 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$51
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fujiyama Teppanyaki Restaurant is the first and original teppanyaki restaurant established in Newcastle Upon Tyne. It first opened it's doors to the public in 1997. ​ It is the perfect venue for entertaining clients you need to impress or to celebrate special occasions such as a birthday or a hen/stag night. ​ All customers have their own highly trained personal chef for the duration of the meal. Once you are taken to your table, the raw ingredients of your meal will shortly arrive and the chef will prepare and cook your meal on the hotplate surface, right in front of you. The food is delivered to you sizzling fresh. ​ Our menu is extensive, accommodating both carnivores and herbivores. Many customers opt for one of our set banquets which are perfectly compiled to leave a pleasant feeling of satisfaction, not too much and not too little. Alternatively you may wish to customise and create you own meal by selecting starters from the appetisers menu and main courses from the ala carte menu, and some may even brave it to our sushi page.
East Boldon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit or 2 !”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Food always fresh, staff always lovely and helpful, kids love it so what more could you want !

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ashley67EastBoldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    71
    21
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very entertaining and delicious food.”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Had a great time at my sisters birthday meal, catching eggs in hats and playing with our food (usually frowned upon), but the chef was entertaining and funny, and cooked up a great meal. Thoroughly enjoyed by all. A great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“good atmosphere shame about the food”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

a very entertaining night but the food was frankly garbage, If I am paying this kind of money I expect fantastic food but in truth it was not very good, I had steak which was tough and tastless. I tried the Lobster nwhich was also tough. The restaurant was shabby the toilets in need of TLC. All in all the price was way over the top for such a poor delivery. Our local takeaway serves better

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graeme k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service! Excellent food!”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I went to this restaurant for my 21st birthday with my family, and it was brilliant! When we were seated at the table my camera ran out of batteries, on the off chance I asked the waitress if they had any spare batteries and 5 minutes later I was given some! I didn't expect to be given any, and I especially didn't expect there to be no charge! We all had banquet meals, and the food was prepared in front of you. All fresh ingredients (the lobster was still moving when it was laid out waiting for the chef to come). The chef was hilarious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!!!! Although I would go in a group, we had the table to ourselves and I think that was what made it so much fun!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungry_r123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateshead
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Visited this place few times now always have great time.service food and energy lifts you.From young children to the very old everyone special and treated like royalty.if you havnt been go on and give it a try. Came away stuffed.even my husband struggled with the amount of food.praise indeed

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fujiyama Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Fujiyama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing