We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not great”
Review of Bentley's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bentley's Hotel
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap but not great”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my bf, we booked 2 months in advance but on arriving they had changed our room from a double to a twin so we pushed the beds together. No towels or shampoo given to us. The room was clean, tv worked well. The cafe was reasonable and did nice food.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kama G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    18
    8
    13
See reviews for
15
15
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were here just a night. It was clean. The room was small but I liked it a lot, It is like bedroom from an old house. The toilets were in another flood but considering we were only here for a night, we did not have time to use it a lot anyway. Toilets were clean.

Location is not that bad. 20 minute walk to city centre. The surrounding does not look safe for me but we did not have any problem. Good bus connection.

Breakfast was good. I liked it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed 1night was clean breakfast was spot on and service very helpfull only £4.50 taxi in to city center as well. It also has a car park would defo go bk again .it not the ritz but for the price you can't winge really

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiemull85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a few friends just the one night for a weekend in Newcastle,
Did the job nicely! Bed for the night. Clean rooms and comfy bed actually.

Needs updating, but for the money you can't complain too much.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night. 1 x person, 1 x night, £24.60 with breakfast.

Great value for money.

My room was very clean, and although basic had everything I needed. Breakfast in the morning was generous. I had a slight change on my breakfast and this was no problem for the staff.

Fast Wi-Fi, parking available and a lounge with tea/coffee facilities and a microwave.

Area a little run down, but this hotel presents its self well - looking very clean, tidy and modern from the outside and in. It is a great location for getting into the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveIIerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed for a couple of days at Bentley's. Breakfast was good and plentiful. staff were friendly. Room was a double sized en-suite and there was a separate lounge for making hot drinks, toast and watching TV. I would stay there again if I had to stay in that area of Newcastle. I was working in Gateshead and even though there was not a great distance to travel, the roads were under roadworks and it took about 45 minutes to travel 4 miles across the Tyne. Not the fault of Bentleys though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Check nice and smooth area smells like a greasy spoon that comes from the cafe, theres nothing to do in the area didnt bother with the breakfast that you got with the room could not comment on the food in the cafe, only used as a 1 night stay over for a concert, didnt like not having toilet in the room and it was 2 flight of stairs away and was the shower

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markmarshall1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
#41 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley's Hotel

Property: Bentley's Hotel
Address: 427 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 8RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bentley's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bentley's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing