We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food to suit all, it isn't a veggie restaurant as the name might suggest to some.”
Review of Olive and Bean

Olive and Bean
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food to suit all, it isn't a veggie restaurant as the name might suggest to some.”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch here and the tasting platters are really good with lots of choice and plenty to eat. Found the wine to be pricey, though, which made it quite expensive for a lunchtime. Well worth a visit and great to find somewhere a bit different in a town centre! Such a pleasant change from the usual choices!!

Helpful?
Thank Value_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    120
    23
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Visited Olive and Bean for the first time with my family and was very impressed. Good menu choice, love the way the sandwiches are split up into types of filling, once made our choice and ordered, sandwiches were with us within 10 mins. Will be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank idr1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great cake”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I went with two friends to try this little place out and we were not dissapointed. Lots of lunch choices and was truly delicious. I had a beef sandwich with caramelised onion a banana milkshake and a mars bar crispy. Was all lovely and for a great price of only £8.07.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tabby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best afternoon tea in Newcastle”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We generally go here for coffee and cake when we are in town and love it. They serve lovely coffee and there is plenty of choices for other drinks. We recently went for afternoon tea as a birthday treat and it was excellent. Far too much to eat in one sitting so we had to take some home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank parrmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
171 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A nice rather commercialised institution but with a homely feel. I had a fab porridge here with fresh berries and teapigs earl grey. A little pricey perhaps compared to nearby options - porridge was £3.45 and tea £1.99. Breakfast options are also somewhat limited (mainly variants of eggs and bread) but this is a pleasant cafe to come to. Friendly staff and quiet (in the morning) - good for working in. Right next to Entu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ldnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive and Bean also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Olive and Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing