We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast/lunch cafe in Newcastle!”
Review of Butterfly Cabinet

Butterfly Cabinet
Ranked #116 of 1,262 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best breakfast/lunch cafe in Newcastle!”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Shocked by all the poor reviews on this site. The butterfly cafe is definitely the best place in newcastle for heartly good breakfasts and delicious rich lunches! Amazing breakfast, go for the business a massive fry up with suasages, bacon, eggs, tomatoes, hash browns, mushrooms, fried bread, potato bread, baked beans, black pudding and white pudding for only £7-8! the sandwiches are freshly prepared and packed with filling! Good milkshakes and smoothiies too. Definitely better than any cafes in heaton or jesmond!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank the_travelfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    145
    55
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Its no Belle & Herbs!”
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We used to frequent the old establishment (Belle & Herbs) a lot and really enjoyed going there as we lived locally; when we moved we came back for a nice meal and chill out with a coffee only to realise it had changed hands to become the pretentiously named 'Butterfly Cabinet'!
Not noticing any obvious changes to decor, menu, staff etc we carried on as normal ordering meals we enjoyed etc - all good.

A few months later we decided to revisit but on this occasion our visit was less that enjoyable, menu still appeared the same, but food quality was drastically different and rather basic, even when ordering same dishes. Staff seemed hurried and dazed when taking orders and serving drinks etc. we decided to just put this down to a bad day and try our luck next time.

However returning recently we realised that things seem to be consistently average or worse. previously we would either have to get in early otherwise queue up as plenty of people were keen to get in, now it seems you can just breeze in (which is better than waiting i guess).

Given our menus we notice there was a clear change, but on exploring the details it seems the names of sandwiches, burgers etc have just changed and been given apparently witty alternatives, and in some cases made into a more basic version with less content or description.
Food prices are high for what is served, considering quality has dropped; coffee has also changed over to a different label, nice enough, but feels generic.
Staff were average, supplied menus promptly, took orders, and provided drinks in good time, but seems like they are just waiting to 'clock out' or move on to the next customer - previously the staff seemed to have been interested in serving you and at least had a smile(which sounds stupid, but hey).

I used to always look forward to treating myself to a good slice of homemade cake, which there was always a good selection of (strange for a cafe right?), but again let down when i was directed to the 'desserts' section of the menu, of which they had standard bought in muffins.

The overall atmosphere feels somewhat forced, and the character of butterfly cabinet is unknown since they have just kept Belle & Herbs eclectic mix of furniture, art and music...but somehow not pulling off one bit!

It’s a big shame to see such an iconic cafe go, and in its place a relatively average place to get over priced food/ drinks.

* think it shows the decline as Belle and Herbs used to be placed somewhere in the top 50, and butterfly is #180
Don’t see ourselves returning again.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thecampeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I've been here on a few occasions on my lunch hour however after my last experience I think I will avoid it in future. I've never been particularly endeared by the staff however the food is generally quite nice even if it does take ages to arrive. On our last visit I decided enough was enough and I will be spending my hard earned money else where from now on. Customer service training is required urgently as there are many more cafes in which people can spend there cash!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Newcastle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebutterflycabinet, Owner at Butterfly Cabinet, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
We are all disappointed to learn that you have not enjoyed your experience dining with us (particularly given the impression that you had been a frequent visitor to the establishment) and are sorry that you will not continue to dine at the Butterfly Cabinet.

Could you elaborate a little on whom you were served by, what day you visited etc.?

Whilst at busy times service of food can take a little longer, service delivered by the front-of-house staff should never suffer. Our staff are friendly - all good people and well meaning. Perhaps with a little more detail we can look into exactly what went wrong with your experience and take the necessary measures to ensure that it will not happen again.

Sincerely,

Butterfly Cabinet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I used to come here frequently when it...”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I used to come here frequently when it was Belle and Herb but I've been away for a year and hadn't realised it had changed hands. My friend and I went for breakfast and were suprised to get a table so easily (there used to be queues out of the doors under the old management) but we soon found out why. The breakfast was pathetic looking with thin school dinner-esque sausages and super cheap streaky bacon. It tasted awful, like the £1.50 breakky that you might find at a supermarket cafe. Very disappointing as the price would lead you to believe that something special would be delivered. The staff were also rather off hand. Such a shame. RIP Belle and Herb. We won't be returning to the butterfly cabinet again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterfly Cabinet also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Butterfly Cabinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing