We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all for a group wanting a night out”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at the carlton hotel on the 14th of December 2013. There was a group of 5 lads. We had a family room and a twin room which both were, admittedly a bit tired looking and in need of an update but, very clean, comfortable and practical.
Surprisingly there was no group deposit for damages as so many other hotels ask for.
The breakfast was ok, nothing flash but what do you expect for £25 each bed and breakfast?! (a total of £125 between 5 of us).
I must mention 'Bob' who looked after us from start to finish. Couldn't do enough for us, and was a really good crack behind the bar before we went into the town.
A good 15 minute walk into Newcastle centre but very easy to find and if we choose to stay in Newcastle again, we would re book!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

I booked for myself and 9 others (5 rooms) to stay in February 2014. I thought the price was reasonable and not far from city centre. Reviews scared me a bit. Then I received the email below... I find it absolutely ridiculous that they charge £30pp breakage deposit. We are a group of 30-40 year olds. Not hooligans. It's also ridiculous that they think you can take the full amount from my bank card on the day before we arrive. Due to the ridiculousness I have cancelled my booking through booking.com and they have lost my custom. If I'm honest I find the whole email from them insulting and rude. Judge for yourself.

"This form needs to be signed and returned to the hotel by:​ 17/01/14
As you have made a booking of 2 or more rooms with us, your group will be required to pay a £30.00 per person damage deposit. This form contains details and information that your group will need to know, prior to your stay. As Group Organiser it is your responsibility to ensure that all of the contents of this form are brought to the attention of other members of the group prior to your arrival at the hotel.
1. We will require on arrival a £30.00 Per Person Cash Damage Deposit. This money must be collected by the Group Organiser prior to your arrival at the hotel. The Group Organiser must make themselves known to reception on arrival. Provided there has been no damage caused to any part of the Hotel including your rooms or to Spy Bar, and no member of the group has caused a disturbance that results in complaints from other guest’s, we will refund the damage deposit in full on check-out. If damage is found to have been caused by any member of the group, we will retain money from the group total paid on check-in to make right any damage caused. Where other guests have received either full or partial refunds as a result of noise from your group, we will withhold from your group the amount we have had to refund them.

2. Please consider the health and safety of other guests and staff while you are staying in the Hotel. Please do not under any circumstances tamper with any Fire Extinguishers or Fire Alarms. Unless there is a genuine need to use them, as you will place yourselves, other guests and members of staff in danger. Setting off or maliciously tampering with Fire Extinguishers or Fire Alarms will result in £100.00 being withheld from your damage deposit for each incident.

3. We would ask that you have consideration for other guests and keep noise to an acceptable level within the hotel during your stay. When returning late in the evening guests are required to go to their own rooms on returning to the hotel. Guests are not allowed to gather in one room as this increases noise levels and is likely to lead to complaints from other guests who may be sleeping.

4. Please be aware that if any member of the group needs to be spoken to more than twice for failing to adhere to the above basic points by any hotel staff or door staff then they will be told to leave the hotel, and all monies paid in relation to that individuals stay will be withheld including their damage deposit.

5. Spy Bar is open from 12pm until 11pm Mondays-Saturday, and from 12pm until 10.30pm on Sundays. Food is served between 12pm and 9pm each day. There is no food or drink served during the night. Guests are permitted to bring their own drink into the hotel, provided it is only consumed in your rooms and not in public areas or in Spy Bar."

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanxrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Rob Jubber
just stayed there this weekend - Good for stag parties but nothing else . Rooms looked tired and there is no proper traditional full english breakfast . There is a nice little cafe in Jesmond called the Hungry Hippo which was excellent ( i would recommend the eggs poached on the easy side ) . The main complaint was the noise from other rooms the walls were so thin you could dip your bread in next doors gravy . I stayed in room 508 so thanks to the chavs in 504 that argued well into the early hours both nights ( proper geordie shore wannabies ). All in all it catered for our needs but if your expecting a pool or massage treatments you will be disappointed. I have to say all staff were friendly and fresh towels were provided both days.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night away with a group off work friends. First impressions were ok but then we got to our room. The smell in our room (513) was horrid! The smell seemed to come from the bathroom. Smelt like stagnent water. Found a couple of stray hairs in the bed and the quilt was too smalll for the cover it was in. Bath also had a large chip in it. Apart from that if you want a room that is cheap and ok for large stag and hen dos then book it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here last night.. Room was small and really hot, bed linen had dirty stains on them and the runner on the end of the bed clearly doesn't get changed or washed at all, carpet was filthy, hadn't been hoovered in a while, bathroom floor had dirt and fluff everywhere and the toilet hadn't been cleaned from previous user or ever. Even the tea and coffee facilities... one big cup and one small, with dirt in the cups, and tea/coffee stains on the piece of paper that it was all set out on. Ive stayed in some pretty bad, cheap hotels for nights out but they have always been clean and tidy. This hotel needs updated badly. Paid £99 for the room for one night and will never stay again or recommend that anyone does. Told a member of staff at reception this morning how filthy the room was.. Although he was polite and apologised, he's not really bothered as long as he's getting paid at the end of the day and nothing was done about it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great location, but needs some investment and quickly. The rooms are an average size and are clean enough, but everything is so old! Sky TV which is great, but possibly the smallest television set ever. Wifi was ok when you were able to connect, but the whole place is in need of decoration and bringing up to standard. The pub below is fine but the smell from the Kitchen fills the hotel with an unpleasant cooking smell.
Staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Plenty of other hotels in the same road. try one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Noisy, cold and poor customer service.
Stay here if you are on a stag or hen night or the like. Do not stay here if you want a good nights before a busy days work like me.
The room was okay, dated and in need of a couple of modcons like a new television. The shower was so weak it was a waste of time. The towels were like sand paper. The mattress was old and lumpy.
A warm welcome at reception was not even forthcoming. They do not have problems it is all the guests fault never the hotels that sort of attitude,

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the back of the hotel and away from the stairwell. Note that there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#50 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#47 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#45 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#48 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 82-86 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £42 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing