We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday & Saturday evening, room was a good size and at the back so no road noise. In fact we didn't even hear noise from other guests. Great nights sleep. One bonus is it has a large free car park.
The hotel is close to the bridge and it's about a 20 minute walk to the centre of the city.
We enjoyed our stay but one thing I must add is it probably due for some decoration in areas, not the best premier inn I've stayed in. But a million miles better than the local Travelodge..........

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenuim Bridge.

I am pleased that you had a Greats night sleep and generally enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    262
    94
    28
    23
See reviews for
159
286
24
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed at the Premier Inn Millennium Bridge on Sunday 9 March to attend the Cluny to see Leo and Anto (excellent gig). As usual for a Premier Inn we were warmly greeted and welcomed to the hotel. Hotel within about 6-7 minutes walk (the receptionist was only to happy to show us the route) which was ideal. When originally looking for availability could have got hotel plus meal deal for approx £76 but by the time I booked all the 'offer' rooms had gone so cost £106 instead, still good value as we had a 3 course meal plus drink each, all dishes were very good indeed, plus all you can eat breakfast which was also very good. Only one issue I had with the restaurant was that we sat near to the fireplace (fire was not lit) and there was a draught from the flue for the gas fire which made the room seem chilly.

Room itself is the usual Premier Inn standard and we had an excellent nights sleep. Hotel is very handy for walking down and along the quayside and up into the city or going across to the Sage Gateshead. Given that it was a Sunday evening the other guests seemed to be couples and families and gentlemen who were probably there for work purposes so it was very quiet. We did ask on leaving how busy they got with 'party crowds', the receptionist did say that they do get large groups but they do try to separate them from other guests to try to make sure no one is disturbed, that would be the only worry I would have in staying Friday or Saturday evenings as it is very accessible to the quayside nightlife.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrpc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge.

I was pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be well located and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Typical Premier Inn, clean and comfortable but I though £70 for 1 night is a bit expensive. That was also without breakfast. I think you could get better deals on Late Rooms etc. I would stay here again but will certainly be looking for a better deal elsewhere first.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bobby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Premier Inn.

I am glad that everything met your needs apart from the price. We do have saver deals on the Internet and of course £29 rooms so hopefully you will manage to get one of these if you chose to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stay at this hotel for a friends birthday, it was clean, comfortable and the staff had a very good knowledge of the area. We went to eat at Piccolino Restuarant which was recommended by a member of staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy638995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge and I hope that your friend enjoyed their birthday.

I was pleased to hear that the hotel met your needs and that the team were able to share with you their great local knowledge.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Premier Inn website shows photographs of the hotel in 'new condition'. By the time we arrived last weekend the overall condition can be described as 'tired' and 'dated'. Common passageways and carpets had seen better days. Parking is provided free of charge to all guests - but is limited, Going out in the evening in the car leaves you with a slight doubt on your mind that by the time you return, there won't be a space. Access to the main reception from the lower car park is by a small lift to the first floor. The lower car park access lobby smelled of Jeyes Fluid [?] or similar combined with the now standard rancid smell of cig smoke from the smokers who are exiled outside. The small lift smells strongly of cig smoke too. We stopped in a room to the rear of the hotel - looking over some industrial properties. Once again the room lacked the up to date feel, but was clean, tidy and quiet.

On the 'plus side' - the staff were friendly and helpful. Especially in the restaurant where they were very attentive. The food was fair-to-middling. Full English buffet breakfast was good - though the sausages were markedly burnt.

Stopped at quite a number of Premier Inns - it was the staff that made it for us. The overall décor and rooms just need bringing up to date to the current P/Inn standards. Having said that.... what should I expect for £85 including breakfast for four...? Not a place to go if you want to impress your other half.... Things may change if they update the place. [7/10]

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruffenready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for you taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge.

All comments are taken on board and actioned where necessary.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn again.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

i felt the hotel was grand and the staff were helpful but one thing i didn't like was the pillows were to hard!! and they didn't give me a mussle for my drunk brother so wasn't happy with the bar opening to 4am

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Premier Inn.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and apologise that you found the pillows to be too hard. For future reference and I am sorry you were not made aware of this during your stay, the spare pillows in the bedroom were soft pillows and if you do chose to stay with Premier Inn again all hotels have soft pillows in the room as spares and more are available at the reception if you require.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

great value for a city break. staff were very friendly and the bar was open till 3am so had a nite cap when we arrived back.spent just one nite but had no problem leaving the car in the car park while we went shopping after checking out!! would recommend a stay here look forward to a return vist..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelasyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were looked after well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Address: City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of Newcastle's city centre Premier Inn Millennium Bridge boasts comfortable rooms, an on-site bar and restaurant with friendly staff on duty 24 hours a day.Each room is well equipped with a Kingsize bed, a desk for work, Freeview TV and radio channels as well as tea and coffee facilities. Everything you need for a clean and comfortable stay in Newcastle. Our newly refurbished bar and restaurant offers a wide variety of drinks including Costa coffee, a range of seasonal drinks promotions and our great value evening menu. Why not try our all you can eat Premier Breakfast? Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast for just £8.25 Each. Plus for every adult that buys a Premier Breakfast 2 children 15 and under eat for free! The hotel is situated a 10 minute walk to the city centre and a 5 minute walk to the Quayside. It also sits within easy reach of the A1 and is close to many of the city's public transport hubs. Parking can be purchased at our hotel for just £4 for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Millennium Bridge Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing