We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel choice if you have to go to Newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel choice if you have to go to Newcastle”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I found this to be a good hotel - Premier Inns are usually fairly reliable. The staff were friendly, flexible and accommodating. It's close to the Millennium Bridge so it's handy for Northumbria Uni, the main shopping area and any activities around the quayside. I'm just not a huge fan of Newcastle!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge.

Your feedback was lovely and I am glad that you were made to feel welcome and enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you are not a fan of Newcastle but if you do have to return I hope that you will chose to stay here again.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    279
    97
    29
    24
See reviews for
174
303
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place is well situated for exploring the sights of Newcastle along the waterfront. There are plenty of eating places within walking distance, and it is not that far to the city centre. We had a room overlooking the river, and didn't find the noise of the traffic that much of a problem. The staff were obliging and friendly, and the only gripe was the temperature of the room was a bit high for our liking. We always look for a Premier Inn before any other accommodation, as we find them good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you enjoyed the sites of Newcastle.

At this hotel we don't have air conditioning but always have extra fans or sheets available at reception to help during the hot weather.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel provided us with an ideal location near the Millenium Bridge. its location was within 200yards of the Quayside and a half mile from Newcastle City Centre. My wife and myself took our grandson for a 2/3 day break exploring Newcastle. Gateshead was a 5 minute walk over the bridge.

We booked via the companies website taking advantage of some very good deals

The service from the staff was excellent, if the receptionist at the desk didn't know the answer then a response would be waiting within 5 minutes.

the rooms were very clean if not a tad warm, the adjustment to the heater controls was confusing hence we didn't sort this one. It was only a problem in the room, breakfast was the only meal we had and this was excellent. our grandson thoroughly enjoyed it.

Its location was close to the quayside and its excellent views of the 5 bridges in the area. Plenty of picture opportunities. A very regular bus service was available, route "Q2", which could be met outside the hotel or from the Quay, took you straight into the City Centre. A further bus trip could be made from the Eldon Centre to the 'Angel of the North'. Travel can also be made via the very regular Metro, to Sunderland, South Shields and others.

A great base for a great weekend / weekday break (stag & Hen parties make the weekend a bit noisier!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge.

I am very pleased that yourselves and your grandson enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you so well.

We will hopefully be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A good location and the expected great service, but this hotel could do with some updating. Having stayed in some newer Premier Inns, this one is showing it's age.... And it was more than £80 plus breakfast, which doesn't feel very budget to me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MummyOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge. All comments are greatly appreciated to ensure that we are delivering a great service to our customers.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very friendly staff, and the room was up to the general standard of Premier Inns I've stayed in elsewhere. Some traffic noise in the room as it's quite a busy road outside and shutting the window didn't help as the air vent allowed noise in! However as it is centrally located we were prepared for this. Views across the Tyne made up for this though! I would definitely stay here again although I would like to know if you can pre book the 'rooms with a view'

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dronnylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You can contact the hotel prior to arrival and request a river view room and we do try to accommodate all requests. Our Air vents in the windows do close so if you come back we will ensure that they are to limit the road noise.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great Team, Fantstic staff...I would highly recommend this hotel for business travel.
I stayed at the Hotel for 5 nights in May and had a nightmare from day one with my bag being left in my office, printer breaking and feeling poorly- nothing was to much for the team at this hotel..........They were all very kind and helpful. Thank You

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the hotel.

I was pleased to hear that the team looked after you so well.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed overnight on a busy bank holiday weekend. This hotel offered excellent service, standard and quality and the location was great. Couldn't fault any part of our stay. Had a thoroughly great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge.

I was pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and that your needs were met.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Address: City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of Newcastle's city centre Premier Inn Millennium Bridge boasts comfortable rooms, an on-site bar and restaurant with friendly staff on duty 24 hours a day.Each room is well equipped with a Kingsize bed, a desk for work, Freeview TV and radio channels as well as tea and coffee facilities. Everything you need for a clean and comfortable stay in Newcastle. Our newly refurbished bar and restaurant offers a wide variety of drinks including Costa coffee, a range of seasonal drinks promotions and our great value evening menu. Why not try our all you can eat Premier Breakfast? Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast for just £8.25 Each. Plus for every adult that buys a Premier Breakfast 2 children 15 and under eat for free! The hotel is situated a 10 minute walk to the city centre and a 5 minute walk to the Quayside. It also sits within easy reach of the A1 and is close to many of the city's public transport hubs. Parking can be purchased at our hotel for just £4 for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Millennium Bridge Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing