We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nights Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is the second time stayed in the Holiday Inn Express near the Metro Centre at newcastle because it's clean and near the all the shops the saff are friendly and help you in any way they, the bar is small but it's well stocked with a good selection of drinks, there is plenty of parking on arrvial, the rooms are basic but they are very comfortable and very clean with plenty of towels there is plenty of tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for your kind comments it is really nice to hear that you are returning guests and we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

Booked a room here as I was going for laser eye surgery and needed to come back the next day so a stop over was in order.....my mum and daughter come with me and we paid £51 for the room incl breakfast! Fab rate! The eye surgery didn't happen and I was pretty down in the dumps but on check in the staff behind the desk were really interested in my tales of woe and very sympathetic! The room was clean the beds comfy.....asked for extra pillows and they were brought up within minutes....breakfast was basic but tasty and the receptionist on check out was lovely....TGI Fridays a 30 second walk away and it was fantastic......woul definitely stay again.....fantastic value and service....thank you x

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoowooNaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. Sorry to hear that the eye surgery didn’t go as planned but on the plus side maybe it will give us a chance to see you again (pardon the pun).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Newcastle where we could bring our dog, and this hotel fit the bill. While surrounded by petrol stations and Asdas, the room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was completely adequate (even for someone with celiac disease). Staff were very accommodating with our Pekingese. Recommended as a good stop-over for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurstin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Located in the middle of nowhere, not even walkable from the nearest tube/metro stop due to all the duel carrigageways means any money you save going cheap here will be spent on taxis everywhere = don't bother.

Rooms were just about adequate, though we booked a twin and were given one bed plus one camp/put-up bed which was pretty poor. Expect the place to be packed to the rafters with stag and hen does also.

Finally, they demanded a £50 deposit per room which we weren't informed of when booking and I have no record of it being refunded despite our room being returned in perfect order.

Room Tip: Try another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidE171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. The hotel is located a short distance from the local Metrocentre which has a regular bus and rail service to any part of the city. There is a public footpath which runs alongside the hotel which takes you directly to the Metrocentre.
I apologise if you were given a double room with sofa bed during your stay however I have no way of checking what your booking stated so cannot comment any further.
The hotel always refunds any deposit taken on departure if there are no issues during your stay. I am at a loss as to why you have not been refunded however if you contact the hotel we will be happy to look into this and fix the issue for you immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our coach party was booked into Holiday inn for evening meal and B&B.On the coach, hours prior to our arrival.a choice of 2 meal orders were taken.either shepherds pie or chicken in sauce all with roast potatoes and 2 other veg.Our meal was booked for 7 and we arrived at 6 plenty of time we thought to have been given a fair meal. It was so bad,veg soup watered down, all frozen veg, potatoes so hard , been cooked ages. Cake was very dry. One mouthful was enough, we complained but no response.so had a nice meal T J Fridays nearby.didnt eat cooked breakfast as saw lots thrown away i.e eggs ,sausages. Staff not very helpful. However rooms comfortable and clean.even if it was noisy being next to railway line.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for your review. I would like to point out that we do not water down any of the food prepared on our premises. You state you complained regarding the meal you received but that there was no response I would like to apologise for this and would like to reply that as you can see from the fact that we have always responded to guest feedback that it is very unusual for a complaint to be simply met with “no response”. I have no further information on who you complained too or in what manner you placed your complaint so unfortunately once again I can only apologise. Your comments are extremely valuable to us and we do genuinely take them on board and use them to improve our service so once again thank you for taking the time to place a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Although the hotel is clean and the rooms are fine the food is disgusting.We booked through our courier from 2 choices of meals at least 4 hours before we arrived so they had plenty of notice of what we wanted.I had the pate which was fine although the lettuce with it had curled up and died and my friend had the soup which came out of a tin watered down.We then followed with cottage pie which contained a teaspoonful of meat (???) covered with instant mash this was with frozen roast potatoes and frozen veg (carrots and brocolli)that had been boiled for at least half an hour.After this we had dried out fudge cake not bothering to stop for the tea or coffee after.Please note there are tgi fridays and frankie and bennys also a pub so please eat elsewhere.It just annoyed me that with so much notice they couldnt be bothered to peel a few veg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. We are continuously looking to improve our service and your points have been taken on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This hotel has all the makings to be a GREAT place to stop however there are a few points that should be looked at. I traveled here with 12 fiends as part of an organised coach trip. The rooms were fine my only comment on them would be that they are very warm and fan's would be nice (when we asked for one we were provided with one). Food can be summed up quiet easily as POOR!!!!!! I thankfully didn't book an evening meal but those that did were not impressed. Breakfast was buffet style a nice choice just a shame the quality didn't match the choice, we like others were surprised by the lack of bacon and when we asked the staff we were told it was to expensive! All this said I would return as the hotel itself and the staff made up for the lack of quality food....... COME ON HOLIDAY INN I AM SURE YOU COULD TRY A BIT HARDER!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godfrey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Many thanks for your review. As a Holiday Inn Express standard our breakfast consists of full continental breakfast plus three hot items. Currently our standard three items are sausage, scrambled egg and beans. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,446 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
903 reviews
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £36 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millennium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing