We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night, and having booked in advance, got an excellent rate, which now seems to include breakfast at all Expresses
Extremely easy to find, just off AI, and extremely close to Metro Centre
Hotel is split into two wings, each having it's own lifts, which means that there is virtually no delays waiting for a lift to arrive, even although i was on the 5th floor
Only disappointment was lack of a full evening dinner menu, but there are several restaurants within easy walking distance

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibfmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Ibfmacdonald

Thank you for posting a review of your most recent stay with us. We have only recently introduced an Express Menu food offering. We do listen to the feedback from our guests, and I am certain that this menu will evolve over time.
Thanks again. We look forward to welcoming you back to Newcastle in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before and it is much the same as every other HIE. The staff were friendly and helpful. Where it did differ from other HIE stays was that breakfast was poor. No cutlery, no hot food left, the DIY toast cremated itself, so very disappointing. I ate cereal with a tablespoon which I had to share with my husband. If breakfast is advertised as being served at a certain time the first and last customers should surely all expect the same.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dratsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Dratsi

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that there were some issues with the breakfast offering and service. We are currently reviewing our staffing structure to ensure that our breakfast service is better managed, and that all guests are better served. Please accept our apologies on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The manager informed us he had put us in a quieter part of the hotel. Well if our room was quiet I'd hate to know how noisy the others are! The Metro trains run by and create quite a lot if noise. Plus the beds and the pillows were really the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on, in fact I was in discomfort most if the night, it was like lying on sand bags. We will be very reluctant to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelscrutineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for posting your comments. We have a programme of replacement underway on our bed stock and are confident that any issues you may have encountered have been eradicated. With regards to the issues you had with noise from the railway line, this is genuinely not something we normally hear however clearly it did disturb you during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

One night stay on a Saturday for a local family do. Three slept in a good sized family room. Easy to find. Good parking. Quick, courteous check in. Room clean and in good order. No frills, but no frills expected. Concierge arranged taxis very efficiently as many of those staying in the hotel were clearly also there for a local night out. No problems experienced with late night revellers. Breakfast included. Breakfast area spotless with plenty of fresh food and hot and cold drinks.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STGLNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your comments we are most please to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I chose this location after cycling from Bowness on Solway over a couple of days due to its proximity to Route 72, allowing me a quick spin to Wallsend and to the train station to return to Manchester. After a slow check in I reviewed the room. Standard HIE affair and reception gave the room I asked for i.e. very quiet and they recognised my PC status even though not a full service hotel.
Bed was adequate, room clean, shower had good pressure and reception gave me a few bits of toiletries that I needed without question. TV worked and I could make a brew. Wireless access was fine for checking mail and I could still use it at the TGI's across the car park. Outstanding.
Breakfast had enough to get me started for the day and check out a breeze. OK if you need the Metro centre and willing to Metro into town to see the city, a bit far if you want to walk back after a night on the toon.
No major issues and 45 quid, plenty of places nearby to get an evening meal.

Room Tip: Ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiderpig41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for posting a review. Your comments are very important to us and we are very pleased to hear that you had a good stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

During a recent business trip, working near the metro centre, I unfortunately chose this hotel as it was both near work and near the bright lights of the metro centre.
What a disappointment, the room was grubby with some dodgy marks on the carpet and noisy from the traffic and a nearby railway line. The staff were next to useless, spending most if their time in the back office, showing very little interest in myself or other guests!
Breakfast was the usual lack lustre buffet spread from H I Express, once I'd selected my stale croissant and bruised fruit there was nowhere to sit as hardly any of the tables had been cleared!
Thank you holiday inn express, you've taught me a valuable lesson.... Don't stay here again! I mean really, how hard can it be!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank donkey_on_edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear donkey_on_edge,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room condition, customer service by our front desk and the food selection. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night as we were going shopping at the metro centre very good location 2.5 miles away. The room was a good size breakfast good although they do not serve bacon so my husband was a bit upset, the only downside side the mattress was a bit springy so every time my husband turned over I was bounced about and they could do with a bigger duvet not enough overhang. All in all very good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks for posting your comments. We were so pleased to hear you had a good stay. Please apologise to your husband for the lack of bacon on breakfast but unfortunately bacon is not one of our standard breakfast items at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,215 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,409 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
848 reviews
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.8 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £36 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millennium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing