We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

lovely hotel . clean .nice large room . superb customer service .relitivly quiet .excellent complimentery breakfast .10 min walk to metro centre .surrounded by great choise of resturants. excellent short break hotel

Room Tip: front towards road as railway line at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neil151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    266
    108
    33
    29
See reviews for
142
245
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed one night. on arrival to say the receptionist was surly would be an understatement the bar area was very full and rowdy but it was a Friday night
It's location is handy to the metro and easy to drive or under £5 in a taxi with plenty of parking
The room has no air con and neither my husband or I could sleep it was so uncomfortable a complaint I heard a few times at breakfast otherwise it was fine a bit of noise overnight with the drinkers returning too
Breakfast was edible help yourself continental and hot buffet with a distinct lack of bacon???!
We ate out at the skiff inn next door which we found to be nice
I would probably look elsewhere next time

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvrholsCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Metrocentre.
The hotel does not offer comfort cooling, which is something that we are aware that our guests would appreciate and as such is something we are looking into with the Summer months approaching.
The Holiday Inn Express Breakfast offering is a free continental style breakfast with three hot items that we know our guests like most.
Thank you again for your feedback, we are always looking to improve our offering where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed briefly over a weekend to visit a friend in Newcastle.
The hotel standard is fine but the front line team is very rude.
i have been explicitly told off by the front line attendant for checking out an hour late despite that I offered to pay for the extra time.
When I asked for the duty Manager she said she's not available.
Also they have a guard standing in the reception area all night looking at people provocatively and making them very uncomfortable.
I e-mailed priority club rewards to complain and their reply was a copy-paste template saying sorry to hear that!
I have cancelled my priority club rewards membership with holiday inn and will never again stay at any of their hotels. This was enough to put the whole chain to shame. Management doesn't seem concerned with customer satisfaction.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Newcastle Metrocentre, I am disappointed to learn that you did not receive the level of service that I expect.
Guest Satisfaction is at the heart of everything that we do and as such please contact me directly at the hotel to discuss the issues you have raised in relation to the interactions you had with staff at the hotel. It is only with feedback that we are able to properly assess how effective the service we provide is.
Thank you once again for taking time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

i know for a fact that they do not show really bad comments i have stayed in hotels all over europe and USA but this manager decides to miss out on bad comments about his hotel freight trains run some nights between 0100 and 0500 hours which are quite close food some times unavailable rooms dirty ant infestations smoking in rooms that are smoke free he has a lot to learn

Room Tip: go across road to premier inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthur g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay. We take guest satisfaction extremely seriously and I encourage all Guests to communicate with us when something is not to their liking.
The issue you have raised regarding the train track and guests smoking in non-smoking rooms are out of our control somewhat, however we have done, and will continue to do, the upmost we can to minimise disruption to guests.
I encourage you to contact me at the Hotel to discuss your stay, I'd like to hear your feedback in more detail if possible.
Thank you once again for completing a review, it is only with feedback that we can properly ascertain the level of service we provide to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Travelled to Newcastle with a group of friends for a night out and decided to choose this hotel for it's central location & cheap rates. This hotel is £6 from the City Centre in a taxi and about £3 to the Metro Centre. Hotel was clean and staff were very pleasant and keen to help. Had to pay a deposit when we arrived but we recieved it back when we left, think thats might of been due to the fact we were young party goers!!! Rooms spacious and clean - usual Holiday Inn set up. Didn't realise until the next morning that a buffet breakfast was included in the price of our stay and it was DELICIOUS - hangover curer. Can't think of any way to fault this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BM1989x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you as a guest of the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Modern hotel with very helpful staff. Our room was on the ground floor facing the car park and a railway line, so no view. The bathroom was spotless with a very good shower and a separate toilet. The carpet in the bedroom was very stained next to the bed. The bed itself was not a kingsize but a double and was too soft for us. We had to put a pillow between us to stop roll together!! The breakfast was basic but ok. Right opposite the hotel is a TGIF Fridays where we had an excellent evening meal..( see separate review). The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the Metro Centre which is huge. We decided to drive there so we could drop off our shopping during the day. We got there at 9a.m. So the car park was virtually empty. No parking charges either. On the second night we were woken up at 2 a.m by a load of screaming, shouting women. Eventually a member of staff came to try to quieten them down. After a lot of swearing and shouting they must have gone to their beds. There seemed to be a lot of hen and stag parties staying. Would we go back. Probably not to that hotel but we loved Newcastle and the friendly people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamar49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I am pleased to know that you found the staff helpful.

We are aware of some of the issues you have described and have undertaken steps to have these resolved, including new breakfast standards and an on-going room maintenance programme.

Thank you once again for the review, we hope that should you visit the area again you will consider returning to the Holiday Inn Express Metrocentre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The staff here were really helpful with my stay. Had a good sleep, and the breakfast was great. Conveniently close to TGI Friday, which is a great restaurant. Bus services to the city is just outside, and usually taxis close by too. Walking distance to the metro centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMorgan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We put the experience of our Guests at the heart of everything that we do and we're always pleased to receive feedback on the service we provide.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millenium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing