We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Euro Hostel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$112
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$251
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Northumbria Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jesmond Dene House(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$124
US$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Newcastle Central(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
310
310
118
38
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
310
118
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstgi fridaysfrankie and benniesbeanshi expresssofa bedthe breakfast areashopping triphot itemsfree breakfastminute drivebus stopcar parkbudget hotelself serviceyogurtreception staffcomfortable room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 805 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Usual HIE standard accomodation - which is very good for a solo traveller. Standard sized double bed may not suit all though. Rooms could do with a good dust but otherwise fine. The problem is the location, its not in the metro centre proper and the only way to get to it is by taxi or car. But once there its good value and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2010

The Hotel is located 0.5miles from the Metrocentre shopping mall. This can be reached on foot via the riverside route in approx 5-10 minutes. Alternatively there is a bus stop on the main road outside of the hotel - all buses go to the centre and the journey takes approx 3 minutes. From the Metrocentre bus/train stations there are connections to the City Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Because we had booked for a stag weekend the hotel decided they could demand a £50 deposit per room from us before letting us check in. The receptionist tried to explain why but didn't really succeed as she hardly spoke any English. We were all put into smoking rooms even though none of us smoke (or were even asked), and the rooms all absolutely stank. Our room was supposed to be a twin but actually had one double bed (which was OK) with a temporary bed underneath, which was very uncomfortable.

Breakfast was a disappointment. The cooked option consisted of scrambled egg, sausages and toast. That was it. They even ran out of plates and nobody brought any more. There was fruit juice but it was the worst I've ever tasted.

The location isn't exactly at the Metro Centre; it's about three quarters of a mile walk, although there is a regular bus service. Top tip - if you walk follow the footpath along the railway line from the hotel as it avoids walking across the dual-carriageways. The centre of Newcastle is about 5 miles away and we were quoted anywhere between £10 and £20 for a taxi each way.

On returning to the hotel at night we had to tell the bouncer (yes, really!) our room numbers before he would allow us back in.

This awful stay was topped off by the fire alarm going off and the hotel having to be evacuated at 4am. This turned out to be a false alarm so, unfortunately, this dreadful hotel wasn't destroyed.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2010

Guests are charged a refundable deposit of £50 to cover any damages/ room charges/ telephone calls etc. This is applicable to all guests and is detailed on the registration card which is signed upon check in. Whilst English is not the first language of all team members, all staff at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre speak English fluently.
Rooms types are allocated according to what has been booked. Agent bookings are frequently booked simply as a 'Standard' room and the actual room type (twin/double/smoking or non smoking) is allocated upon arrival at the hotel - according to availability. Smoking rooms are cleaned thoroughly and are fully aired between guests.
The double rooms are furnished with 1 x double bed and 1 x double sofa bed which are most suited to families travelling with children. They are however equally suitable for 2 or 3 adults sharing.
Hot Breakfast items are Sausage, Scrambled egg and toast. These are in addition to the croissants, pain au chocolat, yoghurt, cereals,fruit, tea, coffe and juices and are all offered complimentary.
The hotel has an affiliation with a local taxi company and a typical journey from the hotel to the city centre would cost in the region of £12
The hotel employs night security staff to ensure the safety and comfort of all guests at weekends.
On this particular occasion the fire alarm had been set off and the cause of which was unknown. In accordance with our Health and Safety Practices the staff therefore carried out a full evacuation. Fortunately it was a false alarm and guest safety had not been compromised. The hotel apologised to all guests that were affected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Usual good standard of express. Staff extremely friendly. Location good 5 minutes drive from metro centre or a 15 minute walk including dicing with death across the dual carriage way!
Only drwaback is food nearby - horrible meal in TGI Fridays so best to eat in Metro centre where there's a huge choice. Stayed here lots of times and never disappoints. Took business package this time includiing wi fi , very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Stayed here overnight when we attended a concert in Newcastle. Amazing location right next to the Metro Shopping Centre and also close to the Newcastle NEC Arena.

Check in was quick and easy, staff friendly and rooms clean. Bar in hotel good. Staff cannot do anought to help you, ordered us a taxi to the Arena when we were running late. taxi appeared promtly.

Beds comfortable, bathrooms clean.

Fab staff, Fab hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ice-lemon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Stayed one night whilst visiting family. Great value at only £55.00 including breakfast for 4 people which was very good. Room was cleaned to an excellent standard - all bathroom fittings had been polished and everything gleamed. Would highly recommend and will certainly be back again. TGI nFridays is just over the road and great choice for families.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews