We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Last year in October we stayed in the Novotel before travelling to Amsterdam on the Ferry. Travelling down to Yorkshire it gave us a stopover and a chance to visit the metro centre. The Hotel is close to the airport so can have a busy turn over. We arrived at 12pm and were promptly checked into our room by a very nice receptionist who recognised our postcode as being close to a hotel he had previously worked in of the same company. He also opened a drawer and allowed both children to choose a small toy each.

The room was bright and airy and had a double bed and the sofa bed had 2 single beds which were ideal for our gruesome twosome children. The bathroom and toilet were separate. A hand basin would be a handy addition in the toilet part.

A large wardrobe is available just inside the door to the room and there is a door which closes the room off to the noise. A kettle and mugs were provided as were shower gel etc. A large flat screen TV which you could order a broadband and film package for £10.50 for 24 hours was available and was a welcome settle downer as the kids watched Gullivers Travels and Despicable Me before bed and settled easily.

My husband heard a hen party return at 2.30am but they did settle down quickly but otherwise I heard no noise and found it quite peaceful.

Breakfast is served in the Elements dining room and was a good selection of cereals, yoghurts, meats, cheese, cooked breakfast and pastries and bread as well as a non timed toaster which nearly had burnt toast. Coffee and tea were plentiful along with milk or fruit juices and water. We had lunch in the bar which was nice and when they brought the wrong sandwich for our daughter they changed it immediately. Drinks were expensive compared to your usual places.

An XBox 360 was provided for free use along with a mac computer. Flight times are also offered in reception and staff can arrange the bus to the airport and a wake up call. Breakfast is served 5-11am.

It's ideally placed for the airport or for a shopping trip to the Metro Centre as it's only 3 miles. My only gripe is £5 for parking when you sometimes pay over £100 for a room.

Room Tip: book 21 days in advance for good prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groovee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thanks for the very comprehensive positive report following your recent stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    540
    225
    92
    48
See reviews for
439
324
90
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

For me this is one of the better hotels serving UK a airport. Located a short walk from a major supermarket, restaurants, fast food outlets and only a short walk to the metro station, this hotel is perfect for layovers. The hotel itself has warm and modern public areas while the rooms have more of a "continental" feel to them. Friendly staff, comfortable beds/rooms, good airport courtesy service and excellent breakfast spread. Good experience and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thanks for the very positive comments reviewing your recent stay with us. Good to receive great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

what a rubbish place to stay, me and my husband stayed here the night before we flew on our honeymoon, we were greeted by a miserable man on reception, that didnt care about his job, we then went the exclusive suite?????? yeah right! the hotel itself is very expensive however we just walked 5 mins up the road and went to the toby carvery, we had to get up at 3am for our flights, we found that the lifts didnt work, im pregnant so i ended up having to carry my suitcase down 4 flights of stairs, we told the man on reception who didnt care less he then went in the back room and the lifts were on again?? im guessing he had turned them off, the hotel knew how early we were leaving as we had booked the shuttle bus would never stay again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

i booked this hotel for a weekend away for my boyfriend as we were going to the take that concert as we arrived we checked in at 3.30 1 hour after check in allows and as we got to our room the cleaners were still in our room so we had to sit and wait while they finished cleaning so not a great start ! we went to the concert and when we retured we were greated by a room full of toilet water everywhere this was at 1.30 am we called reception 15 mins later they turned up and said they would see what they could do as no one could fix it 30 mins later we get a call to say sorry no more rooms you have to sleep in this room i was fuming. reception finally came upstairs and gave us some towels which didnt really make much diffrence i was so tired and fed up i just wanted to try and get to sleep then our room phone rang at 5.30 am to say someone has not checked in would we like to change rooms i could have cried i was so tired and then woke up just as i got to sleep! by the morning i just wanted to get out of there as managment came to see us at reception they said really sorry we will take breakfast off your bill even though we never had breakfast i argued the matter and all she could do is take 20 % of our bill so we paid £70 to sleep in toilet water ! 4 days later i had a missed call off the head managment i had asked to call me and have tried calling back and leaving messages to contact me since but not even bothered to call me back i would highly recommend not staying here unless you want to sleep in wee but get a free breakfast !!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzie2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here on our way from London to Scotland and it was conveniently located outside the main city streets near the airport. Hotel and restaurant were both very full because of volcanic ash cloud preventing flights taking off, but staff handled situation very well, putting a buffet meal on in the restaurant so that everyone was catered for in an efficient manner.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

i stayed in this hotel for one night prior to flying on holiday, The hotel was perfect clean, modern and fairly priced. i got a good deal Hotel and Parking for £100 which i thought to be good. the rooms are a good size with plenty of gadgets. i like the Bathroom it had speakers that linked from the TV ideal for listening to music while getting ready. cant fault this hotel at all!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandydons1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
2.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
840 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#33 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Property: Novotel Newcastle Airport
Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing