We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here for one night to visit the races. Nice clean and comfy room was just what we wanted. Friendly staff on reception and at the bar. Enjoyed a good choice of breakfast too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl_poplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thanks for placing your review. It is very encouraging to receive positive comments. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

Kenneth and I arrived at this fine establishment to be greeted by the wonderful staff of many nationalities, which was nice to see this hotel catering for the many guests who spoke languages other than English. When entering the room, we were greeted by the beautiful art work from a contemporary artist, a really nice touch. The bed was exquisite and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful and the stay was lovely. The pool was a nice touch, as was the sauna. Such a divine place with a brilliant location. Also, the buffet breakfast was very charming on the pallet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Many thanks for the great response - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we offer. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Well we booked this hotel for our trip to watch newcatle play as it is very near the local metro and transport links are very good, we arrived to be told car parking was extra which we had not been informed off before.
The hotel was very clean and welcoming and staff well presented and meniable. The rooms were very nice, however, we had paid extra for a better room and our family members had paid less and had the exact same rooms. When we asked about it we found they had been upgraded which we found a bit tasteless as we were there for a birthday and that felt wrong. Complimentary drinks were given to us, so all in all quite a good experience. Rooms were fresh clean and spacious

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Male2069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that in general you enjoyed the stay. I do apologise that you experienced what is in hidsight, the inappropriate upgrade for other family members who had paid less than yourselves. This of course would in no way be intentional, but is more than likley to have been caused by an excess of demand for standard rooms, and as a result, the team have chosent o upgrade the birthday party guests as a way of accommodating what otherwise may have been an issue. I hope this explains anddoes not stop you returning to the hotel. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moggyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Me and my partner spent a night at the Novotel for a friends wedding in the city.

Booking our room was incredibly easy and at £75 it was good value for a double rain with en-suite. The day before arriving I found that the wedding was before check in time so we needed to get at the Hotel a good few hours before check in time. I called the hotel who rapidly found us a spare room in which they could get us in early.

The hotel it's self is easy to find and the cprepare had plenty of spaces. The car parking cost us £5 to spend the night there. (it's £5 every 24 hours). Checking in was rapid and took a matter of 60 seconds with a warm welcome from the staff. The room was very nice, bed was huge, a sofa, desk, large wardrobe and digital TV. There is Internet available in the rooms but it isn't cheap (they have an Internet terminal in the lobby which I would imagine would be cheaper for a short time). The en suite bathroom and separate toilet were spotless. My only slight criticism of the room was the expensive mini bar (a mars bar was £1.30).

There is a Gym on the second floor that is on the small side (a few bits of cardio kit and some dumb bells) but if you use your imagination you can still get a decent session out of it. Moder, clean equipment and complimentary towels. We didn't use or see the Spa.

Breakfast at the hotel is £7 if you Pre book or £13 if you just turn up. Or you can walk the 2 minutes to the Toby carvery next door and get a crackin fry up for 3 quid so we didn't use the restaurant but it looked lovely. The bar feels a little cold and the draught drinks a bit limited. Loads of spirits, wines and shorts though. Again, service was brilliant and about average prices.

Overall a very pleasant expereince and would definatley stop there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Many thanks for thevery comprehensive report following your recent stay, and again, than you for the possitive comments. To clarify one point, we do offer interenet access with printing free of charge in the lobby area, and we have started including offers on the internet in the bedroom periodically, on a free of charge basis. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed two nights on different ocassions. Both nights we got spacious and clean rooms with airconditioned air. If you don't like it, ask for a room, where you can open up the locked windows. disappointingly there's no complimentary wifi at all, but a mac in the lobby, which one can use free (including printer) for 20 minutes plus (if you know how). Extra charge of 5 £ for the car parking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for the comments following your recent stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back. in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Went to Newcastle for Hen weekend with 13 others. They had messed up with the rooms. We had originally booked and paid for 7 doubles but they had overbooked so put us in rooms of three. We complained as they wouldn't have done this if it was a group of married couples! The manager didn't apologise and gave us nothing in return.
Rooms were standard but the bathroom was nice.
Overall, wouldn't return because of the service we received when we arrived.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmEEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Many thanks for placing your review and comments on the site. As you are aware, we have been in communication relating to various issues, and they have as far as we are concerned, been resolved. Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to call me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#30 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
781 reviews
6.3 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £32 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing