We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I booked checked and asked for a nice roon and I was given a Superior Room. The floor was so stained in the room that I complained. Why would you have light coloured carpet in a hotel? Also, the room was so dusty, even the remote cntrol was covered in dust. The room made me feel very uncomfortable. Anyway, I was upgraded to an Executive room which means you get the same type of room but a coffee maker and a robe to wear. Both features I am not bothered about. The BOSE stereo was good though. The carpet was a bit better but still not to the standard I would expect to see even in a standard room. Thanks but no thanks. I was so disappointed by the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Many thanks for posting your review and I am genuinely sorry that you found the standard unacceptable. This is not the normal feedback we receive. If you would like to contact me directly relating to your stay, I will be please to discuss this with yo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    531
    222
    90
    47
See reviews for
429
317
89
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Why charge customers for parking? Stayed for 2 nights and couldn't ever get an actual space. Questioned the £10 fee and was told it was to stop people dumping their cars and then taking the metro to work. Why punish people staying in the hotel? Would put me off staying again. Average room, breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slyman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Many thanks for the feedback following your recent stay at the hotel, and specifically you comments relating to car parking. The hotel does charge for parking and as yuo have observed during your stay, the car park becomes very busy, especially with guests parking and flying for holidays. Please also note that we do offer some parking inclusive offers which give discounted rates which you may useful. Thanks for the comments relating to breakfast. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

I've stayed a couple of times here as it is in a very convenient place and offers a really great breakfast buffet from 5:30am (really useful for me). The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, with a great bathroom/shower and nice to see some Eco-friendly bathroom products. All in all very nice. HOWEVER, when paying £90 for a room I do not expect to have to pay for parking in the hotels car park! I also think that these days you shouldn't really have to pay for wifi Internet, you can get it free in most pubs, bars, eateries and most b&b's and hotels, so to pay for it at a hotel like this is a bit old fashioned.

Staff were 'hit and miss' some were very helpful and friendly, one was not so much.

I would stay here again because the availability of the early breakfast and it's convenience, but there's room for improvement.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pterodroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thanks you for posting your review and I am pleased to receive your comments. Breakfast starts at 05.00 am specifically for Park and Fly guests - or anyone who needs to operate at such early hours. I note your comments on both internet and car parking and I am plesed to confirm that we are now offering free parking and internet offers on specific periods.
Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm on Tees UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Each time we stay here the Park & Fly arrangements seem to change. This time they were using taxis rather than their own transport and we found this to be excellent. Taxi waiting to take us to the airport at the time requested and on our return walked straight to the taxi rank and no waiting to get back to our car.
The room was excellent, staff friendly and helpful and a reasonably priced well chosen restaurant menu - fairly small choice but adequate and varied.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thanks for the review detailing your experience of Park and Fly. This is a great way to get your holiday started early. Look out for the special offers available direct on Novotel.com website. You will always get the best price here rather than spending time chasing around the net.

Pleased you enjoyed the new stavel arrangements, and as you said, this is pretty much a bespoke service.

Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We got moved here as something happened with our original Hotel

Room was huge and really clean
Great Bathroom very modern design
Opted for the Hot Breakfast at check in

Hot breakfast had a great tasty selection - loads of lovely fresh fruit inc melon and strawberries
A selection of Juices and cereal

Super friendly staff

About 8-9 pounds in a taxi to town

would stay again no doubt

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brokenlizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thanks for placing your review on the site. I am delighted you had the opportunity to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back for the next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I would not normally choose to stay so far away from a city but another hotel in the city centre cancelled on me at the day before. However, I enjoyed my one-night stay, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and large and the pre-paid buffet breakfast was tasty and very good value for money.

Note. The hotel is actually not located at the airport like some of the other airport hotels in Newcastle but it is only about a five minute taxi ride away.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mackyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Many thanks for pleacing your review. We are located a few minutes by taxi transfer from the airport which is normally included in our rates with the airport packages. I am very pleased that you liked the facilities and services.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We've just returned from a weekend away at this hotel. It's a great place to stay. There's a lot to say about the Hotel, so bear with us.
My Wife and I decided to stay at this branch of Novotel after noticing it on a trip back from Edinburgh as it's ideally located for anyone wanting to visit Newcastle, the Metrocentre & Ikea.
We booked 2 nights on fairly short notice without breakfast, however on arrival we were offered the chance to add breakfast for half price when booking in. We took advantage of this offer, had breakfast in our room and it was very good.
The Hotel was busy with a wedding reception but we were not kept waiting. Our room was on the top floor and was peaceful throughout our entire stay. We used the indoor pool twice and on both occasions we had it to ourselves; it's not very big but certainly a pleasant way to unwind. On our second night we ordered food in the bar. Although the bar area itself looks a little worn out and could do with a better layout (eg. another TV so the best seats don't have to sit with their backs to it) this did not spoil our meal which was excellent as was the service considering how late it was.
The room was excellent; large comfortable bed and plenty of space. The bed linens in particular were very crisp and clean (we have to replace ours at home now!). As always the layout was perfect; anyone familiar with a Novotel rooms will know they have one very good design so they stuck with it. There was one small concern with the tap water which smelt odd; something chemical, a bit like a photolab. Unfortunately I forgot to mention this during the checkout. Though the shower & bath water both smelt fine and we are both very much alive last time I checked.
Checkout was easy, parking was reasonable at £5 per night and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Would recommend this Hotel to anyone and will be staying there next time we visit Newcastle.

Room Tip: These tips are general to Novotel. Book at least 30 days in advance if you can to get a discount, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElCordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Property: Novotel Newcastle Airport
Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing