We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
jojo1062
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Nice hotel, nice location. Paid extra
For an upgraded room, there wasnt much difference apart from a coffee machine and dressing gown and slippers and a free movie (the best bit of the room upgrade). The bathroom had a separate shower and bath, the toilet was in a different room so you had to do your business then go thru the the bathroom
To wash your hands. Breakfast was ok, beans were a bit watery. Breakfast on the last day was taken away and we were not asked of we wanted any more before they cleared it, but annoying as I was still planning to have fruit. Overall nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thanks for placing your review and the comments within. I have noted your point regarding the breakfast being removed - apologies that the waitress did not speak to you. I do hope this would not stop you returning. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    531
    220
    90
    47
See reviews for
428
315
89
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

On Wednesday night I stayed at the Novotel in Newcastle upon Tyne. This hotel has some good features, as you enter your room you have an internal door separating the toilet area from the rest of the room, this also helped cut out the noise of other residents, walking up and down the corridor outside. My door did not actually fit in the frame so it did not quite work for me, but the hotel was not busy and therefore quiet. The bed was fairly new and very comfortable and the room had good quality blackout curtains. There were some shortcomings one was the lack of a good reading lamp, I like to read and catch up on paperwork when staying away. Another was the rather bad smell from the basin (could do with some bleach) and the bath mats were available on request from reception, given that the bath was slippery when wet I think they should have been available in the bathroom. The last point was the lack of a deadbolt on the door; I had to use the chain.
Unfortunately, I did not get time to use the spa area with fitness suite and small heated pool which looked very inviting and was open from 6am until 10pm.
There is a £5 per night charge for car parking, which was quite surprising for hotel well outside the town centre, but the car parking spapces were good.
Despite a few problems my overall stay was good due to the comfortable bed, blackout curtains and the good buffet breakfast in the morning, and I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Bring your gym kit and swimming costume
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thanks for placing your review on the site. I appreciate your comments and feedback and hope you return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

the hotel is nice, rooms are clean, however the toilet is separate from the shower!
breakfast is very good.

the staff are very helpful and friendly. we stayed for three nights, found that the hotel was close to metro centre, airport and cite centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry_Natt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thanks for the review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the stay. Look out for the great offers which we promote directly on our website for advance purchases at very good rates for your future bookings. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Check in was a breeze and the man at the front desk was so thoughtful. He upgrade our room. supper was delicious. I have never heard of paying for parking before but 5£ was acceptable, as space is at a premium in the UK.
Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly. I would stay there again. I felt that £13.95 for breakfast was a bit over the top, in CDN funds for what you got. Should have a Seniors rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelseadoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thanks for placing your review and I am genuinely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay.
Note your comments regarding breakfast, look out for offers on the website from time to time, pre-booking and paying for breakfast which is at a promotional rate. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

A business trip took me to this hotel. It was a great stay, room was clean and up to date. Paid wifi but very good reception
Breakfast was very good and staff were excellent. Gym and pool were clean and nice to use. The bar was slow but choice was very good.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lower232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Delighted you enjoyed the stay and the great comments. Please look out for the regular promotions which we offer on Novotel.com - they include breakfast when pre-booked and paid for in advance at half price.
Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
159 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here with a group of runners for the Great North Run. Location was good - only a ten min walk to the metro, with a 24 hour tesco and small shopping precinct within walking distance too. A Toby Carvery is on the same site as the hotel for those not wanting to pay hotel food prices, didn't use it but it looked well kept.

Service from the Hotel team was great from the day we booked the rooms through to the day we checked out. The preparations the hotel had made for the runners was unexpected but a really great idea (they gave us all little packs and information on the event was posted up in reception).

Food was good. Service in the restaurant on Sat night was a little slow - but having said that, we were in no rush so it really wasn't too much of an issue.

Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious, great connectivity on wifi, can't fault the rooms at all. Noise from the A1 is quite noisy first thing in the monring when all else is so very quiet, so perhaps as others mention if you ask for a room overlooking the car park, it wouldn't be an issue. It certainly didn't stop me from having a good night's sleep!

Overall I'd recommend this hotel, but the credit really must go to the exceptionally friendly team there.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissV-MiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. Delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Property: Novotel Newcastle Airport
Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing