We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed already and I just checked in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just checked in, one if those 'paid for an executive rooms but I know that despite what they tell me, it's not one!' moments.

I know what I am saying, I stay in hotels 4 nights a week and sell hotels like this for a career!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulm7067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thanks you for placing your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry the experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion. During your visit, my team do not appear to have been made aware of the issues - they would have possibly had the opportunity to change bedroom for you. Should you wish to discuss the experience any further, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed one night after a flight in at 2 am.
Staff were all excellent however hacing picked this hotel due to the modern and contemporary decor of the room I am astounded when we went to our room.
Carpets on the 3rd floor hallway are very tatty and dirty looking. Doors are old wood 70's style and with an actual old style metal KEY entry- never a good sign. The room layout was bizarre- a separate toilet which you had to come out of and then enter the bathroom to get to a sink to wash your hands- how unhygienic is it to go through 2 doors to get to wash your hands?
Room has cracks in the ceiling. Walls were papered in the old thick style used to cover rough walls in old flats etc. Overall the room was very dated and the toilet set up defied belief.
The bathroom (with no toilet in it) was clearly modern and a recent addition but it just seemed totally out of place in such a dated room and a cheap attempt at making the room acceptable.
I have looked again at the photos on the webpage because I thought I had booked the wrong hotel after seeing the room. The ones in the photos look modern with Japanese style doors to the bathroom which I can see has the same tiling/ update ours had.
I can't understand why they did not knock a wall down between the WC and bathroom to make it one normal bathroom!
The plus points- all hotel staff we met were very friendly and helpful, from reception to the breakfast waiting staff. One member of breakfast staff was particularly helpful an not fazed by the mess my baby made. Te breakfast was also excellent plenty of choice, great food and all hot.
It is disappointing because despite these 2 aspects being great, overall I would not use this hotel again simply because of the room as this is what I pay my money for. I have not stayed in a hotel chain with a room this dated in my whole life. It is of the quality a very dated £25 a night B and B would offer. It may be that they are refurbishing rooms- I don't know??? But if you take a ride to the 3rd floor and just even look along the corridor at the room DOORS you will know what I mean. A shame because if the room has been good the stay would have been great when combined with the staff, breakfast area and food itself.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room was awful. Can't speak for the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliebond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night and got a fantastic room. King size bed, double frosted glass doors to a fab bathroom with bath and separate shower and dressing table with mirror over. Could watch TV from the bath if you wanted. Completely separate loo which is a great idea. Fantastic Buffett breakfast with the best hash browns!
The only niggle we had was the bed linen was like sleeping in a paper bag. Hard as nails and crinkly a bit like a crisp packet. The pillows were naff too. It wasn't just my thoughts, my sister and brother-in-law in another room thought the same.
Staff brilliant especially on reception.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillybobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thanks you for the review on the site following your recent stay. I am very pleased you liked the facilities and the team on duty. I note the comments relating to the linen. Just a point for your next visit - there are options tochange to firmer or softer pillows - we store the alternatives in the bedroom. Thanks again and hope you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Me and my partner are on our first holiday and we came here. The hotel is situated near to the A1 and not far on a bus from the Meteocente (get bus 6) and roughly a 15 minute drive from the town centre. The hotel is hard to get to oddly so I recommend you get the bus 100 to meteocentre and then get bus 6 back as there's a bus stop near the hotel.

Just down the road is a 24hr Tesco, McDonalds and a few other shops. The staff in the hotel are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The swimming pool and gym are open from 6am - 10pm and food served until 11. But I found the food expensive for what it is as I work in a 5 star AA pub/restraunt. They have a good choice of alcohol too. A 2 minute walk around the corner is Toby's carvery which do all you can eat breakfast from 8 - 11 and costs just under £12 per person! Very highly recommended! Wifi and film package is €9.99 yes euros but hey, but that is for 24hrs only and you pay to stay in car park.

Apart from those few little niggles its a fantastic hotel, I recommend it and we will be staying there again, overall it's 4/5 from me.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff22B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for placing your review on the site. I am plesed that you enjoyed the facilities and services. Do try the food in Elements next time you stay, as we offer great menus and regular specials at attractive prices. The experience is far better when you can sit and enjoy your food in very comfortable surroundings.
Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We spent a night here before flying home. It's a very clean and comfortable hotel. The staff were great , very friendly.
We had dinner in the hotel and the meal was very nice. They also provided prompt taxi service to the airport. We will stay here on our next trip to England. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markocaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for placing your review following your recent Park and Fly stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities. We offer great advance purchase rates on Pand F - book as early as possible for the best pre-paid deals. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here while doing the great north run the room was comfortable and the Hotel was smart and modern the staff where helpful and pleasent to deal with. My only small gripe was that the breakfast staff seemed a bit unattentive and the buffet style hot food was a bit dry and had been there a while.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrizz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Many thanks for the comments following your recent stay at Novotel. I note the points re the breakfast and will check this out thoroughly. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel for work reasons so was chosen as local to the office. I stay in a hotel for work about once a week so a regular traveler.
The room was basic, separate toilet room which was very small and cramped and then a separate shower. The kettle lid was broken, which meant as i poured hot water the lid fell off, very dangerous. My room was also really cold, i tried the thermostat on the wall but made no difference - phoned reception and apparently the hotel doesn't have heating so they delivered a little blow heater to my room. this made no difference and i was not offered an extra duvet or anything.I think heating in a hotel is a basic requirement plus my written confirmation for the booking confirmed heating.
Dinner was shocking - i went down to the restaurant and chose the Lamb. This was Lamb with Asparagus and Cabbage Mash (£15.95) and i choose a side order of Broccoli (£3) as i knew i would not eat the mashed potato. It has 3 sprigs of Asparagus and the mashed potato was not fresh. The broccoli was mainly stem (see the picture) and the stems were raw so not eaten and had maybe 5 heads which were edible. So it cost £19 for some pre-heated Microwaved mash potato, 3 small sections of lamb, 3 asparagus sprigs and stemmed raw broccoli - glad i wasn't paying for my food. I ordered a cup of tea but they only had Full Fat milk - i cant drink this but had no skimmed or even semi skimmed milk so opted for tap water. I am not a fussy eater at all but like to follow a healthy diet and therefore felt that offering milk was a basic standard of a hotel. I therefore left the restaurant hungry.
Breakfast was £13.95 for a full buffet - this was fine but massively overpriced in my opinion. I asked reception the night before to order me some skimmed milk so had that for breakfast and it was there so cheered me up slightly.

I put a complaint in with the hotel and have given the General manager by opinion but overall i think the visit including food was massively over priced, poor room standards and poor food.... defiantly be sticking with a Premier Inn going forward.

Room Tip: Dont stay at all !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millz090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for placing your review on the site and I am genuinely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Following our discussion in following up the complaint last week, and the direct compensation which was forwarded to you personally, please call me if you wish to discuss the complaint further.Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
779 reviews
6.3 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £33 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing