We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Reviewed 31 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JonnyredLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

A great room at a great price! All of the staff were friendly and delivered a great experience. The room service was prompt and efficient at only £3 extra to the menu prices! The chicken masala was tremendous and I will be here again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BobPallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

"Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Not so much a criticism of the hotel but of Late Rooms. Was going to book on line but decided to ring Late Rooms because although the value of the from was good but it did say there was a parking charge. When I got through to Late Rooms & asked how much the parking was he told me it was included. It sounded to me that the call centre was not in the UK & that the call handler was just keen on making the sale. When I checked out of the hotel I was told that there was a £5 overnight parking fee for the use of their car park which I had to pay to get a receipt to scan at the barrier to exit car park. Although £5 is not much I think it is wrong that they charge any parking fee.
Also the price didn't include breakfast. I was fortunate that I asked when I arrived & was told that if I paid the night before it would be £8.95 but if I just went down for breakfast & wanted the Full English it would be £13.95.There was a good selection of cereals, fruit juice & other items for the continental breakfast.as well as the Full English, It was ok but over-priced (especially if you pay the higher price). The only other criticism of the breakfast is that due to it being self service & the Full English items being on a hot plate the fried eggs yoke were not runny & the tomatoes were shrivalled (although, thank goodness, they weren't tinned tomatoes).One good thing was that they did serve breakfast until 10am so if you wanted a lie in you could do (the check out time was also good for this - see later)

The bed was very comfortable & I did sleep well. The hotel room & hotel in general was good although the carpets are looking a little tired.

The check in & check out times were also very gererous.(check in after 2pm & check out up to noon)

Room Tip: Make sure that there are no hidden extras when booking through a company that offers great deals as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jckgeof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

"Many thanks for your review. I note with interest your comments. Firstly I can guarentee that if you book directly on our website at Novotel.com, you will never get a better price and this is a guarentee. This will give you accuracy of information and save you time in trawling through a lot of sites. Being an airport hotel - we do not include brealfast in our rates - but again you can pre-book and prepay receiving a generous discount. Breakfast as well as going on till 10am (and later on Sundays) is also served from 5.00am. Thank you for your feedback . [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank mikethompson40
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have stayed here 3 times and will return for the odd night stay. Large family room, clean and very comfortable beds including the sofa beds. Cost per night ranged from £34 -£59 room only for family of four so really good value for money. The breakfast cost £13.99 per person so breakfast can be purchased else where at a more reasonable price. Car parking is £5 per 24 hrs which should also be free as there is no demand for spaces . It takes 5-10 mins to drive into the centre of Newcastle and not too far away from the Metro if driving. An all round good choice of Hotel in Newcastle .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

"Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. Just to clairfy - you can buy breakfast at a promotional price of £8.95 if you reserved with your booking on Novotel.com. Secondly, our car parking is chargeable as a separate charge from the very realistic rooms rates to show very good value. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here for one night on business. I booked this hotel because its advertised as having a) a fitness centre b) is at the airport c) has wifi.

A). The 'fitness centre' is a windowless room, smaller than a bedroom with 3 cardio machines! That's it! It's not a fitness centre and I was misled by the advertising. B) This hotel isn't at the airport. It's £8-10 away by taxi. I should have done my research but, dear reader, there is a lovely new Hilton by Doubletree actually at the airport right opposite the arrivals hall. Again, I was misled but that's hardly a surprise given that the hotel is called 'Novotel Newcastle Airport'! C) The Swisscom wifi used by lots of Accor hotels is a nightmare - the code I was given with my executive room didn't work. The free access wifi said my email address was invalid. I simply don't understand why Novotel don't provide open access free wifi like so many other places - so old fashioned and so out of touch with the needs or business and leisure travellers alike.

My room was fine and just like all standard Novotel rooms. The staff were unremarkable, apart from Lauren behind the bar, who was super. Breakfast was standard.

If you don't want an airport hotel, a fitness centre or wifi then you'd probably be satisfied with this hotel. For the rest of us, I'd suggest that a) the hotel doesn't mislead by advertising a fitness centre b) changes it name to Novotel Newcastle (and drops 'airport') and c) installs up to date, accessible wifi.

I wouldn't stay here again and can't recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your comments following your stay, we appreciate your feedback, Sheena Hodgson General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Room was big and comfortable and best of all very clean! Bed was amazingly comfortably and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was usual help yourself buffet but it was very nice and we went up for seconds!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maiher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

"Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
779 reviews
6.3 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £33 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing