We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whites Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Sandman Newcastle
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    US$90
    Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
    US$86
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
    US$69
    Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
    US$61
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (316)
    Filter reviews
    316 results
    Traveller rating
    93
    60
    45
    31
    87
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    93
    60
    45
    31
    87
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbar blanccity centreosbourne roadfriendly receptionisttea and coffeenewcastle
    Filter
    Updating list...
    251 - 256 of 316 reviews
    Reviewed 22 August 2011

    iv stayed here twice now and both times have been exactly the same, as i was in the same room on both visits. The hotel is ok, the room was clean enough however there were some holes in the wall, but they werent too off putting really. The bathroom was tiny but looked nice enough. the shower head was broken so having a shower was like standing under a tree, but again it wasnt so bad. The staff were friendly enough as were the other guests. I think there is free WiFi and the carpark is covered with CCTV as far as i am aware. To be honest it is not the best however it does the job if your passing through and i will stay again if i am down that way with work, also the girl at the desk advised me about offers they do for those staying via work etc, worth looking into :-)

    • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Gordie1876
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 July 2011

    We only stayed for one night in this hotel as we went to Newcastle for a trip to the horse races, and whilst we didn't want the Ritz this hotel had a rather run down feel to it behind the rather nice exterior and reception.
    Upon arrival we were immediately told that on top of the deposit which had been paid and the rest of the room fee a further £30 per person would be required for a security bond. I understand that some hotels use a bond as a deterrant for rougues who might like to damage the room. In my humble opinion the entire contents of the room weren't worth £30 anyway and as I was sharing a room this meant there was a £60 bond!!
    I perhaps wouldn't have minded paying this if we had been told about in advance instead of having it sprung upon us at the desk and causing a kerfuffle as the bond needed to cash and some of our party only carry cards. I found the receptionist to be rather rude and surly when I told her that she perhaps should have told me about this before.
    The room itself as I have already mentioned was somewhat of a disappointment. The TV didn't work properly, there was no tea or coffee making facilities and our room had a rarher peculiar odour to it. I can't say however if the rest of the rooms were the same. Needless to say we spent as little time as possible in them.
    In the morning we went for breakfast which was rather like the room, a disappointment. Although the hash browns were nice, the sausages were like rubber and the bacon was cooked as though it had been done with a flame-thrower. There were some beans and bread for toast but none of the other things you may expect from a breakfast. No eggs, tomato, mushrooms...etc.
    To round this off, when we went to get our bonds back we were told that we couldn't have it back until everybody had checked out. Which meant that if one person had damaged something (Even though there was barely anything to damage), we would all lose our bond. I found this to be competely unacceptable and once again the frumpy receptionist was rather rude and very defensive about the whole situation. I know that there may be some idiots who frequent these hotels but the hotel shouldn't assume that everybody is one of them. This is how we were made to feel even though we'd done nothing wrong.

    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Travelling_Chris85
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 July 2011

    Booked in,paid, corridors smelly and dirty, i thought Oh well the room will be ok, but it wasn,t. Dusty,dreary,grubby,was not sure the towels and bedding were fresh,cobwbebs,horrible marked dingy yellow wallpaper. Could not face spending one hour there. Booked out went to Holiday Inn

    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank LULU605
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 July 2011

    Me and 12 friends stayed at the whites hotel for a friends hen party. The communal areas were lovely, nicely decorated and clean. Parking permits were provided for parking at the rear of the hotel which was handy. The young receptionist that checked us in was lovely, she answered any questions we had regarding the rooms and was very accomidating. We all had to pay £30 per person deposit which meant should one of the rooms be damaged they would use this in order to repair the damages, but if all was ok we would be returned this money upon checking out. The room in all honesty wasn't the greatest, the decor was slightly dated but it had all the utilitys you would need for the reasons we booked it. We did have a slight crack in the plaster next to the door which we reported to reception so we were not blamed for the damage. The beds were comfortable too. The worst bit about the room was that the shower head was designed for someone either 4'11 or smaller, which when i am 5'7 was rather awkward to use. Also the temperature fluctuated constantly. Due to the shower glass being only half way across the side of the bath, the bathroom was vertually flooded by the time we had finished in the shower. Other than that there were no other issues with the rooms or the hotel as a whole. We had the breakfast in the hotel which had plenty of choice and was a good standard too. Upon checking out however the whole party were told (by a very rude receptionist) that all of our rooms would need to be inspected and not just the individual ones upon checking out, so this meant should there have been any damage to any of the rooms all of our £30 deposits would have been kept not just the offending rooms deposits which I felt would have been unfair, however nobody had damaged any of the rooms so we were returned our deposits as promised.

    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank sarahlou251187
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 June 2011

    we had a nice stay the people were friendly and very warm to us, the room was clean and we had a nice time

    • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank foxyredflex
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews