We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whites Hotel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Good location and value or money and staff seem pleasant. Rooms were good and amenities were pretty good. Good bars and shops nearby and the city centre is a ten min walk from the Hotel. Stay was made more pleasant by a particular member of staff called Amica. He was a nice man.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retroraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    56
    44
    29
    75
See reviews for
19
55
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

If you are going on a stag/hen party, want something cheap and dont mind being kept awake all night because you are part of the problem then this is the place for you.
In the middle of the stag/hen run and easy access to the city centre.... otherwise its disorganised.
On a positve note the breakfast is quite good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robangsymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Don't be fooled by the shiny sparkly entrance, once you get past the reception and bar it's disgusting.....it stinks! The pictures must be of another hotel. We changed room three times, that was when the receptionist could find time to attend to us in between private calls. There was vomit on the valance. It was filthy.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I have pasted below what happened to us when we attempted to spend the night at this hotel. It was a disgusting place and the manager lied about the incident afterwards. DO NOT bother going there under any circumstances - it is a dump and you may have the ceiling fall on you!.

WHITES HOTEL INCIDENT – 21/6/12

• Scruffy rear of hotel
• Car park area dirty and windows in back of hotel rotting
• Reception area very pleasant
• Room key to room 107 missing
• Receptionist got master key – still could not open door
• Another member of staff came – managed to open door by pushing with full force against it
• Told to make sure we slammed door when we left
• Passageways uneven and difficult to walk on
• Hole in ceiling panel just outside room
• Room smelt damp and bathroom had strange odour

• Left to go to concert

• On return, key had been located and given to us.
• Given more coffee and sugar as room only had enough for one cup
• Entered room again by pushing full weight against door
• Husband noticed mess on bed
• On looking up discovered ceiling panel had fallen, and adjacent one was bowing. Panel had smashed on bed and floor next to bed.
• Electric cable had fallen through hole and was dripping water
• Bed, Bedding, Pillows and mattress all soaking wet.
• Informed staff – who disappeared and brought clean sheets!
• We pointed out that the mattress was wet and water was still dripping onto the bed – the room was clearly unfit for purpose
• Staff informed us they had no other rooms and there was nothing he could do
• Suggested we try hotels by the airport, but made no attempt to ring round anywhere, or try to give us any help in any way – it was almost 12.30am by this time
• We left hotel and tried 4 others, but all were full
• We were left with no alternative but to drive 250 miles back home, through the night
• I am in remission from breast cancer and my husband is a diabetic – neither of us need the stress of driving over 500miles in one day. We had deliberately booked a hotel as we were not physically up to making the journey back on the same day.
• Both now feeling very ill and tired
• Hotel refunded our money and offered a complimentary stay - would you drive 250miles for no particular reason to stay in a hotel that you had had major problems with?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

we stayed here for two nights, the staff were superb willing to help with any queries we had at all. The rooms were spacious and clean great value for money. The bar was fantastic and all the stuff were on hand to help us out.. Location was extremely handy for getting to and from the city centre with the metro, bus and taxi service all available.
We would recommend this hotel to friends. Had an excellent two days here.

Room Tip: rooms in first floor are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amilondon1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Dont know why such negative reviews i visited 2 times before and will visit again
The bar has a great atsmophere and everyone was really friendly.
Our room resonably priced and very clean.rooms great just maybe need to sort the windows otherwise perfect for us

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dowjow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel looks nice from the outside and that is it. Once inside the hotel does not look it has been decorated since the 70's. The roof in the hallway of the 1st floor has a big hole in it that looks like it has been there for a while. The corridor smells and the energy saving lights do not work along the corridor. Only 1 light worked in the bedroom. I do not understand how this hotel is still opened!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valwall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Whites Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
The day this guest checked in the main central heating pipe gave way with hot water pouring into the corridor plumbers and engineers where there until 5pm just controlling and water making the hotel safe hence the hole in the ceiing which was being worked on on the day . It was probably because of this the lights were not working in the corridor . Everything was up and running the next day . If the guest had complained to reception and given us the opportunity to explain and put things right we would happily have done so and changed the guests room . We were trying to work withought having to cancel guest reservations and disrupt peoples plans
We apologise if it in any way affected the stay of the guest but the circumstance were beyond our control
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#28 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#52 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whites Hotel

Property: Whites Hotel
Address: 38-42 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whites Hotel is a licensed 36 bedroom hotel, family run providing good facilities and service at budget prices. All rooms are en-suite with Flat screen colour television with up to 30 channels, radio, central heating, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and irons are situated in all rooms. Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer.The cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices from 12 noon till 2100hrs Monday through Thursday and 12 noon till 1900hrs Friday through Sunday. The hotel is situated in Jesmond, 1.5 miles from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne known for its vibrant night life and a short walk away from the beautiful picturesque Jesmond Dene. The breathtaking North East Coast is also only 20 minutes by Metro, with stops at Tynemouth, Cullercoats and Whitley Bay, who can resist a day trip to the sandy beaches of the North East.The hotel has a private car park situated to the rear of the building which is constantly monitored by CCTV.Outside area for smoking and dining available.Lively bar on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing