We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for last minute night out!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whites Hotel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect for last minute night out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on a Saturday night in a twin room. Location was perfect and a taxi into the centre of newcastle was only £5.50! Staff at reception were very helpful and we got vouchers off drinks in the bar. Room was spot on for £39! Clean and plenty of space. Only slight problem was the pillows they were lumpy like they'd been in the washing machine but everything else was fine. Will definitely be stopping here again and next time we'll stop for breakfast :) thanks for having us x

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dellykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    55
    44
    29
    75
See reviews for
19
54
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed in the whites hotel with family visiting from london. Initially i was a bit unsure what to expect as it was soo cheap. However i was pleasantly suprised. I was greated by a friendly receptionist, it was a large double bedroom i was presented with which had all amneties needed.
We also were given 10% discount cards for bar blanc. Which was fab.
Handy location as only 5 mins drive to get to the city centre.
We had a fantastic stay and would like to thank all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

stayed there last night in 117 (21.12.13). Wasn't expecting much due to the fact that it says its only 2 stars though. If you come in the front main entrance with its reception area right next to the bar you sill see they have invested a lot of money to make sure their bar areas are in keeping with jesmonds trendy name but if you go past that into the rooms then you will find that they don't match with the public areas... first of all when you go through the door past reception, you catch an overwhelming smell of men's toilet because unfortunately they are located here and I think they must use channel blocks/urinal cubes etc because the smell is really off putting, up the creaky stairs with the old fashioned and tired carpet which reminded me of the cheap black pool b&b's I used to stay at when I was a kid and then into your room. Our room was quite small but for one night it was adequate. The décor needs updating and the red fluffy bed runner needs to be binned although the bed its self was good and firm and the pillows seemed good quality too. The bathroom, again, was small and built into the bedroom with the plaster board walls, if the bathroom has been a separate room instead of using bedroom space to make it en-suite it would have been a nice size room! I don't know what price we paid as this was already taken care of for me but I probably would stay here again for a one night stay as it served a purpose and I will definitely be there again to try the bar out as we didn't get a chance to do it this time because we had plans.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Frecklybear1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORKS , UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Recently spent 2 nights here as part of a Groupon. Adequate parking arrived a bit early to be sure. Hotel is rather tired but remarkably good value. Reception staff were brilliant. Allowed to go to room early parking permit, Wi-Fi login details were readi;ly avaliable. The free nmeals and wine were good. It is worth noting that the bar is very popular with students during Happy Hour however the rowdy atmosphere keeps you young. The room was relatively clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom had recently been refurbished and there was plent of hot water. Our room was at the back and was quiet the front rooms other guests report traffic noise was intrusive. The moral is get there early. Will use the hotel again. The 33 bus stops outside and this is perfect for town half hour service. Bar staff very obliging.

Room Tip: get there eary ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matabeleDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on a Groupon deal and after reading the reviews we weren't expecting much. But we had a very pleasant surprise. Lovely big, very clean room on the front, great location and very good two course lunch on our first day with a huge glass of wine! Very friendly staff too. Can't understand what some people want for such a price and what their problems is . Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanandphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Went to the Whites hotel on a Groupon deal and had great weekend.
Hotel clean and tidy although needed a wee coat of paint and room small and tidy but thats only downsides.
Positives staff really friendly and informative.
Food in Bar Blanc good and vale for money
Happy hour(or 2 hours) is novel.you order and hit a red button which determines your discount which was either 15%,25% off, free half pricr or 2 for 1
Would I go back
yes yes yes
Specail thanks to mEGAN IN bAR bLANC WHO WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND APPEARED TO BE ONLY ONE WORKING...

Room Tip: Rear of property may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2Dec for two nights as part of groupon deal.
Two course dinner and wine was included. Massive portions but well overcooked. Chicken edges were hard.
Stairs and corridors are like out a funhouse at all different angles. Nearly broke my ankle a few times didnt help that I had heels on mind you.
Room was small but cosy.
Ripped carpet. Dodgy sockets with flashing lights for power.
Shower leaked everywhere. Toilet made an almighty noise that would wake everyone up in the vicinity when you flushed it. Clean sheets and bed was comfy :)
Reception not manned so finding staff was an issue to check in and out.
Alot of workmen staying here and young students.
If it wasnt for being paid upfront and it being too late to change we would have checked back out.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty-Deee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#44 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#10 of 24 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whites Hotel

Property: Whites Hotel
Address: 38-42 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whites Hotel is a licensed 36 bedroom hotel, family run providing good facilities and service at budget prices. All rooms are en-suite with Flat screen colour television with up to 30 channels, radio, central heating, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and irons are situated in all rooms. Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer.The cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices from 12 noon till 2100hrs Monday through Thursday and 12 noon till 1900hrs Friday through Sunday. The hotel is situated in Jesmond, 1.5 miles from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne known for its vibrant night life and a short walk away from the beautiful picturesque Jesmond Dene. The breathtaking North East Coast is also only 20 minutes by Metro, with stops at Tynemouth, Cullercoats and Whitley Bay, who can resist a day trip to the sandy beaches of the North East.The hotel has a private car park situated to the rear of the building which is constantly monitored by CCTV.Outside area for smoking and dining available.Lively bar on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing