We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Whites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whites Hotel
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Found us a room when hotel next door claimed we hadn't booked! Paris on reception was lovely and very helpful. Was quiet when we stayed but has great bar so I'm guessing could be noisy! We're given choice of 3 rooms. Chosen room was bright clean and adequate. Breakfast fine.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GillianPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    59
    44
    29
    78
See reviews for
20
56
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I have to say we had a fantastic time at this hotel. We were a group of lads on a weekend away, rugby and football were on the tv and it was sunny. What more could you want.
I found the staff excellent, very friendly, happy to join in with a bit of banter.
Now, this is not the usual type of hotel I stay in. My room was fine but bathroom could do with a serious renovation (but it all worked), my bed was actually very comfy, they'd obviously bought some nice new pillows.
It is a bit noisy up and down the stairs but I guess it's an old houser originally so what do you expect.
Back to the staff, can't praise them enough, well done ladies!
Stay here for parties. Stag or hen do's, fun weekends away.
Whites Hotel is a fun place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpook
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff are spot on (hotel and bar blanc), accommodation spotless, unbelievable pizzas and get onto the happy hour button! I stay in Newcastle with work every week and would not start anywhere else now. Definitely recommend the whites hotel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bargie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

toilet seat broken in room, unfriendly staff, whole place smells of disinfectant (i assume was used to mask the smell of urine).
comfy beds, however walls very thin/hallways used as communal chatting areas (right outside our door) both early morning and late evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My friend and I planned a last minute visit to Newcastle on Friday and decided to stay at this hotel as the room rates were cheap, the hotel is very close to the city centre and the rooms aren't too bad for the rates they charge ,thanks to the lovely receptionist for giving us a nice room when we asked for a spacious room and for providing us with information about the decent bars in the city. we had a drink in the hotel bar before heading out which was also reasonably priced. overall we had a lovely time in Newcastle and at whites hotel. thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Me and my friends (22 of us) stayed at the Whites Hotel for a Hen Do at the Easter weekend (19th April 2014) the room I stayed in was nice and clean and couldn't really fault it.
The day we was going home we ran into abit of trouble as one of our friends went missing :-( Natasha, the receptionist working that day was extremely helpful and did everything she could to help.
Me and my friends cant thank Natasha enough, she was absolutely lovely and we would have completely missed our coach if it wasn't for her help. Thank you very much, we would definitely stay here again :-)

Room Tip: I had a triple room which seemed to be nicer than the double rooms my friends were in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferBuckley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here with 12 friends for a hen night and it was fantastic the staff are so friendly and could not do enough for us especially natasha she was fantastic and so nice the food was brilliant and the the food and drinks were cheap and had some great offers on we are planning on staying here again brill hotel with brill staff

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#44 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
537 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whites Hotel

Property: Whites Hotel
Address: 38-42 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whites Hotel is a licensed 36 bedroom hotel, family run providing good facilities and service at budget prices. All rooms are en-suite with Flat screen colour television with up to 30 channels, radio, central heating, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and irons are situated in all rooms. Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer.The cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices from 12 noon till 2100hrs Monday through Thursday and 12 noon till 1900hrs Friday through Sunday. The hotel is situated in Jesmond, 1.5 miles from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne known for its vibrant night life and a short walk away from the beautiful picturesque Jesmond Dene. The breathtaking North East Coast is also only 20 minutes by Metro, with stops at Tynemouth, Cullercoats and Whitley Bay, who can resist a day trip to the sandy beaches of the North East.The hotel has a private car park situated to the rear of the building which is constantly monitored by CCTV.Outside area for smoking and dining available.Lively bar on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing